Yuck - Yuck
Yuck Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The London-based band’s debut is full of fuzzy noise rock and guitar-heavy anthems, seemingly influenced by the ‘90s grunge era.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. This array of whomping exotica reflects its creator's appetite for any Third World dance movement he can get his ears on, including such new ones on me as kuduro, barefoot, and -- from the mysterious depths of the District of Columbia -- Moombahton​!
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    89
    It's the seamless simplicity in which the record flows that defines this masterful debut.
  3. Feb 11, 2011
    80
    Theirs is an easily digestible, less angst-ridden take on grunge, with a fizzing, infectious youthfulness to it. Definitely one to keep a close eye on this year.
  4. Feb 17, 2011
    80
    The lyrics sound like the work of very young people striving for depth--Suck rhymes crucifixion, benediction, addiction and affliction in a kind of religion-and-drugs bingo--but given that they are very young, that can be forgiven.
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    The songcraft on display here indicates that a similar crossover future is not outside the realm of possibility for these young Brits.
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    70
    They're not really revolutionary because there's nothing that ambitious in them. Rather they're content being a light Dinosaur Jr., making pleasant, noisy indie rock with tambourines and static that's more an aural treat than a mental stimulant.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    30
    I hated this kind of Lemonheads-lite, floral-dressed, clompety-booted, neurotic ninny inanity the first time round, I have absolutely no idea how anyone could be arsed to expend the (admittedly small) effort it takes to produce such a pointless photocopy ... [but] not even I can find it in my bitter heart to hate the Nickelodeon-Dinosaur Jr bounce of "Georgia" or the honey-toned amble of "Suicide Policeman".

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    If you were 80s / 90s freak or at least you're crazy about 80s / 90s music & culture while living today this album will deliver you full indie-package of those years. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    extremely impressive and beautiful sound. easily my favorite debut (and possibly album) of the year. yes, the influences are obvious, but there is still a remarkable sense of originality and each song has incredible focus and inspiration. GIVE THIS ONE A LISTEN, you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    There is not a flaw to be seen on this album. "Suicide Policeman" shambles along like a brokenhearted kid walking down the sidewalk, "Get Away" roars and crackles with Pavement's best, and "Rubber" thuds and groans like the monster under your bed. A perfect album for 90's nostalgia freaks. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    The debut and self-titled album from Yuck reveals itself immediately as fuzzy, distorted noise rock. And it's beautiful. There's something else you'll notice right away as well...there is a whole lot of '90s grunge going on. But do these 20-somethings even remember the era of Nirvana and Dinosaur Jr.? Does it matter? Not really, because Yuck's music runs much deeper than simple nostalgic distorted guitar rock. In my opinion, they take this sound and add depth and beauty that wasn't always present in the bands of that era. For my full review see: http://www.altinterstate.com/2011/02/album-review-yuck-yuck.html Expand
  5. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    8
    Surprising debut that sticks with you well after the record has ended. I've always been a fan of late 80's and early 90's grunge music, it brought Sonic Youth and the Pixies to mind. After hearing a couple of singles, before buying the album, I really wasn't sure what I was getting into. Luckily it has paid off and is on a constant rotation in my car's CD changer. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    1
    I found this record boring and extremely derivative. I don't get the excitement around this band! There's a couple of good catchy indie pop songs but at times they really sound like a Dinosaur Jr / Pavement cover band. We might probably have something here but they need to find their own style. Drummer looks cool though! Expand

See all 14 User Reviews