Z

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Oct 4, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 236

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AaronA
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    This is their best record yet. A little discipline goes a long way.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favorite albums. It's simply amazing. Jim Jame's vocals are simply astounding. His voice is beautiful. This is in my top ten greatest rock albums I've ever heard. "Wordless Chorus" is just an amazing starter. You can really hear Jim's voice the best in that song. And "Lay Low", my favorite song on the album and one of my favorite rock songs I've ever heard, has THEThis is one of my favorite albums. It's simply amazing. Jim Jame's vocals are simply astounding. His voice is beautiful. This is in my top ten greatest rock albums I've ever heard. "Wordless Chorus" is just an amazing starter. You can really hear Jim's voice the best in that song. And "Lay Low", my favorite song on the album and one of my favorite rock songs I've ever heard, has THE greatest guitar solo I've ever heard. It's just awesome. All In All, This is one of my favorite albums to date and it never gets old. A Expand
  3. CosmoP
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Now this is truly great stuff.
  4. mr.hankey
    Jun 3, 2006
    7
    It's a good album but in the end you feel that some of the songs are either trying to make you like them or are just too similiar. Don't get me wrong MMJ as a band is brilliant but this album doesn't feel as good as some of their older stuff. But still it is an intelligent mix of pop, alt- country, southern rock and ambience that make this album one of the best of 2005.
  5. HannaW
    Sep 27, 2006
    9
    This is the album that they were meant to create. The album's leading up to this were training wheels for what is to come from this band after Z. They capture the very essence of Z in their live shows. I would recommend everyone that is a MMJ fan to please see them live. They get it and you will too.
  6. TomE
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    It's good to see the guys run in a different direction on Z. While it is a true departure from previous work, so was It Still Moves from At Dawn, and the latter from the Tennessee Fire. If anything, My Morning Jacket shows that they are a band that is growing. Especially with the addition of Carl and Bo, the Jacket is reaching into new ground. They have a truly Zeppelin-esque It's good to see the guys run in a different direction on Z. While it is a true departure from previous work, so was It Still Moves from At Dawn, and the latter from the Tennessee Fire. If anything, My Morning Jacket shows that they are a band that is growing. Especially with the addition of Carl and Bo, the Jacket is reaching into new ground. They have a truly Zeppelin-esque approach to the rock scene: take what you like, and make it your own, in a way that nobody's done it before. Who would've thought that "I Needed It Most" would have preceded "Phone Went West" on At Dawn, and now the tracklisting has "Off the Record" followed by "Into the Woods." A rock-reggae trippy jam session followed by a beautiful demented circus waltz. And the thing is, it works. The album is encapsulating, and it ends as beautifully as it starts. Where we find outrselves thrown in with a mysteriously simple dance groove, we find the album closed with truly "sad, mysterious dance music." Amidst the drum and bass groove, Jim sings in a gentle, subdued manner on "Dondante," but builds and builds until you find that you're singing along with the guitar solo and get torn in two by the chorus. "You had me worried..." Simply reading the words cannot in any way, shape, or form express the sheer distress and frustration of this song. There is a power in this music, and it's one that you will rarely find in the music scene today. I challenge to put on headphones and close your eyes and listen to "Dandante" and not feel moved. I don't care if you hate Jim's voice, or listen to nothing but Slayer - this song will move with an emotional force that few bands today even come close to comprehending. And Jim, through "Dondante" and previous releases like "Steam Engine" and "The Bear," has found a language that transcens mere vowels and consonants, but on a level of pure emotion. Expand
  7. JimB
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    this is an outstanding display of musical talent, and really shows how versatile the band has become.....
  8. SamL
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    The best Album I've boughten this year. I only wish it were longer. MMJ has been one of my favorite artists for quite a while and they continue to improve with each release.
  9. EefV
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    It is among the best cd's of the year. great songs. great music. high class
  10. BrianB
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    A complete surprise. While some of Z sounds like their last and previous albums other songs find Jim James and the boys in new areas all together. It is kind of a weird little CD. "It Still Moves" part 2 would have been great, but I'm glad they're evolving.
  11. erdemc
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    best album of 2005. absolutely wonderful... no words to say more...:)
  12. NickT
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    One word to describe this album: concise. MMJ took the overly long songs from their previous albums and cut them down to little bits of perfection.
  13. KyleL
    Feb 14, 2006
    8
    Very good album...gives you the same great style, but with a faster beat. My Morning Jacket rose from the 'unknowns' with "Still Moves", but "Z" flowed much better. Good album...
  14. willd
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Great album.
  15. SheilaM
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    What more can we ask? It's brilliant...good musicanship along with creative song lines.
  16. Borat
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Is nice. I like.
  17. KellyH
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    What a fabulous album!! They have really refined their style since 'It Still Moves'. The same great melodies and choruses are there, but the songs no longer degenerate into 8-minute jam sessions. In fact, I think the average track length has come down by 3 minutes....
  18. JH
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    Wow ... even if some tracks don't quite work, you can hear the urgency in the lead singer's voice - these guys are for real, or at the very least, they play a good game for 40 minutes. This is my first MMJ album, and I am more than impressed.
  19. Primushead
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Great album from one of the greatest live bands EVER.
  20. bobsyouruncle
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    Great CD, I can listen to it over & over. I find the songs progress nicely from begining to end with great tempo, but i especially love the guitar solos in Laylow & Dondante. Jim James voice is piercing and brilliant the whole cd flows beautifully, the reason I'm not giving it a 10 is at 47 minutes it is a bit short, but it is worth it. This, just like any other cd, is one that you Great CD, I can listen to it over & over. I find the songs progress nicely from begining to end with great tempo, but i especially love the guitar solos in Laylow & Dondante. Jim James voice is piercing and brilliant the whole cd flows beautifully, the reason I'm not giving it a 10 is at 47 minutes it is a bit short, but it is worth it. This, just like any other cd, is one that you either love or hate, and I love it. Expand
  21. ChrisH
    Dec 2, 2005
    8
    Z is definitely a tighter and more sonically pleasing album compared to the last one, It Still Moves. I love Jim James' voice and the reverb works more to the albums favour here than it did before. Drums have some great rythms, addition of keys is a big plus! Gets an 8 because one song (Track 6) is not so great; doesn't hurt the flow of the album though. Go buy it and see them Z is definitely a tighter and more sonically pleasing album compared to the last one, It Still Moves. I love Jim James' voice and the reverb works more to the albums favour here than it did before. Drums have some great rythms, addition of keys is a big plus! Gets an 8 because one song (Track 6) is not so great; doesn't hurt the flow of the album though. Go buy it and see them rock live! Bring back the 70s hair! Expand
  22. C.B.
    Oct 24, 2005
    8
    Looking forward to many more amazing releases
  23. DrGoob
    Oct 20, 2005
    7
    I was amazed to see this album rush straight to top of 2005 (and indeed into the all time top 10). Given that this album has scored higher than the likes of Illinios, CYHSY or The Woods means it must be pretty special. Right? Right? But now that I've listened to Z, I'm sorely disappointed. This is not even close to the best of 2005. I'll admit that Z has a strong start, but I was amazed to see this album rush straight to top of 2005 (and indeed into the all time top 10). Given that this album has scored higher than the likes of Illinios, CYHSY or The Woods means it must be pretty special. Right? Right? But now that I've listened to Z, I'm sorely disappointed. This is not even close to the best of 2005. I'll admit that Z has a strong start, but 'Into The Woods' is a such a weak song (with obnoxious sound effect samples to boot) that it spoils the momentum of the first 5 songs, and the last half can only make a half-hearted attempt to recover. After about 5 or 6 listens to Z, I have no inclination to listen to it again past the catchy 'Wordless Chorus'. The reverb over the nasal vocals becomes irritating on many tracks, and in many places the tunes are gratingly immature (for example, the start of 'What A Wonderful Man' or "Into The Woods'). Calling things you don't like overrated is a bit of a cliche around here (almost as much as giving something 10 and calling it album of the year), but the fact is that Z really is overrated, dammit. Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Oct 4, 2005
    7
    this is pretty good. it's not the direction i was expecting or hoping they would take. but that's not necessarily a bad thing. the songs and sounds just don't quite grab you and immerse you like those on it still moves or at dawn did. it just doesn't sound as 'big.'
  25. MatthewB
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Different, Excellent!!
  26. john
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    Simply amazing album, ...even though the U2ishness of Gideon and Anytime seems a bit out of place.
  27. sean
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    One of the Best Bands on the planet.
  28. AliM
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    A darker, more electronic feel than their previous albums, but all the better for the sharp production values. Still with plenty to please the old fans, though, and some great air guitar moments. Their best album yet, and one of the best so far this year.
  29. ChrisS
    Oct 7, 2005
    8
    "The Coolest Album of the Year" includes the best track of the year "Off the Record". If you like this also indulge in this year's most left field release The Free EP from The New Lows.
  30. ModMouse
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    Amazing, gets better and better with each listen. Captures the feel of their live performance better then any of their previous efforts.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A modern day classic.
  2. What you can expect is what makes My Morning Jacket tried and true: bigger-than-life lyrics, classic rock swagger, and the need to move forward.
  3. Mojo
    100
    With Z, My Morning Jacket have left their comfort zone, assumed the mantle of firebrands, and delivered a truly momentous work. [Oct 2005, p.96]