• Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Oct 4, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 226

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardE
    Jan 13, 2007
    2
    simply boring
  2. TBoneSteakhose
    Oct 19, 2006
    3
    One of the most overrated albums of the year. There is no continuity and there is no execution. If you like reverb, which by the way is not a means of expression but a nob you turn up after you record your track, then listen to this. The first two songs are fun, catchy and well written. After that, it's filler to the end. The band doesn't know what it wants to be, and therefore, One of the most overrated albums of the year. There is no continuity and there is no execution. If you like reverb, which by the way is not a means of expression but a nob you turn up after you record your track, then listen to this. The first two songs are fun, catchy and well written. After that, it's filler to the end. The band doesn't know what it wants to be, and therefore, the results are mud and grey. You assume, with as much reverb and inability, the singer has that the lyrics would be great, but in fact they're indi-rock stupid. There are 3-4 songs on this album in which the lead guitar , bass guitar and drummer play the same notes throughout the entire song. It's ok computer for all the things that made ok computer not as good as it could have been..and not for the reasons that made it great. Expand
  3. PatrickM
    Apr 10, 2006
    0
    This is a terrible album by a terrible group!
  4. DavidM
    Mar 9, 2006
    4
    I bought this album based on this website and the reviews conained here. I am disappointed. It is not a stellar peice of work. Someone mentioned that the sound of the album is like from the bottom of a pool, and I agree. The mixing is way to heavy on reverb and echo, and the musicianship on the songs is lackluster at best. The riffs are ripped from other places, the hooks are muddy and I bought this album based on this website and the reviews conained here. I am disappointed. It is not a stellar peice of work. Someone mentioned that the sound of the album is like from the bottom of a pool, and I agree. The mixing is way to heavy on reverb and echo, and the musicianship on the songs is lackluster at best. The riffs are ripped from other places, the hooks are muddy and the singing is, well, not very good. James doesn't have good voice control, although he has a good range. I wanted this to be good, especially since I paid for it, instead of downloading it from Limewire. But, after the fourth listen, I don't think it will be in my computer or CD player any more. Disappointing. Expand
  5. romanm
    Dec 27, 2005
    4
    How is this such a leap forward from 'It Still Moves'? That album is infinitely better. #2 on 2005 Metacritic must mean that the crits all got together, listened to this misfire, and overrated it because of the formula. MMJ plays sensitive Americana rooted in the past (however the playing is nowhere near as good or inventive as Allman, Neil Young, etc), with a b.s. nod toward How is this such a leap forward from 'It Still Moves'? That album is infinitely better. #2 on 2005 Metacritic must mean that the crits all got together, listened to this misfire, and overrated it because of the formula. MMJ plays sensitive Americana rooted in the past (however the playing is nowhere near as good or inventive as Allman, Neil Young, etc), with a b.s. nod toward progress (do you really think the electronics are 'groundbreaking' here?), they are one of the most well known underground acts in the country (they are on a major label, in beer commercials and bad Cameron Crowe movies, but have no chance of radio, MTV, or even the O.C.), and they have the right politics (opening for John Kerry last year). This makes crusty, old, 50-something tastemakers wet their pants in the boardrooms of Rolling Stone, Spin and Billboard. Don't believe the hype. Expand
  6. GonzoTime
    Dec 5, 2005
    2
    I bought this CD. It's chock full of poor songwriting and unclever ideas. They should have just Auto-Tuned his voice, it's just too off-key, esspecially on the stand-out track "Gideon". What I hated most was the boring pointless backwards sounds, the annoying soul-brother vocal soloing, and most of all - the humiliating "nicknames" they have for each other (written in the liner I bought this CD. It's chock full of poor songwriting and unclever ideas. They should have just Auto-Tuned his voice, it's just too off-key, esspecially on the stand-out track "Gideon". What I hated most was the boring pointless backwards sounds, the annoying soul-brother vocal soloing, and most of all - the humiliating "nicknames" they have for each other (written in the liner notes). I sold this CD back and got The New Ponographers "Electric Version" Expand
  7. WHaas
    Dec 3, 2005
    1
    Is this case I am rating this album based on previous MMJ material. They focused on 3 great tracks and the rest of the album is just nothing.
  8. JasonD
    Nov 25, 2005
    1
    Seems like this is the chic pick of the year. Seems like everyone is trying way too hard to be chic. This album plays like nails on a chalkboard.
  9. ArendvanE
    Nov 22, 2005
    2
    terrible sound
  10. Simon
    Nov 1, 2005
    4
    The first 20 seconds had my attention, after that i stopped caring. It isnt terrible, but it is in no way memorable.
  11. JosephM
    Oct 16, 2005
    1
    No thanks. Next...
  12. Aaron
    Oct 13, 2005
    1
    Most overrated album of 2005. I have all of the reverb used on this disc. And what's with the circus music on track six?! Blah.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A modern day classic.
  2. What you can expect is what makes My Morning Jacket tried and true: bigger-than-life lyrics, classic rock swagger, and the need to move forward.
  3. 100
    With Z, My Morning Jacket have left their comfort zone, assumed the mantle of firebrands, and delivered a truly momentous work. [Oct 2005, p.96]