Z

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Oct 4, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 231

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatrickM
    Apr 10, 2006
    0
    This is a terrible album by a terrible group!
  2. GonzoTime
    Dec 5, 2005
    2
    I bought this CD. It's chock full of poor songwriting and unclever ideas. They should have just Auto-Tuned his voice, it's just too off-key, esspecially on the stand-out track "Gideon". What I hated most was the boring pointless backwards sounds, the annoying soul-brother vocal soloing, and most of all - the humiliating "nicknames" they have for each other (written in the liner I bought this CD. It's chock full of poor songwriting and unclever ideas. They should have just Auto-Tuned his voice, it's just too off-key, esspecially on the stand-out track "Gideon". What I hated most was the boring pointless backwards sounds, the annoying soul-brother vocal soloing, and most of all - the humiliating "nicknames" they have for each other (written in the liner notes). I sold this CD back and got The New Ponographers "Electric Version" Expand
  3. RichardE
    Jan 13, 2007
    2
    simply boring
  4. TBoneSteakhose
    Oct 19, 2006
    3
    One of the most overrated albums of the year. There is no continuity and there is no execution. If you like reverb, which by the way is not a means of expression but a nob you turn up after you record your track, then listen to this. The first two songs are fun, catchy and well written. After that, it's filler to the end. The band doesn't know what it wants to be, and therefore, One of the most overrated albums of the year. There is no continuity and there is no execution. If you like reverb, which by the way is not a means of expression but a nob you turn up after you record your track, then listen to this. The first two songs are fun, catchy and well written. After that, it's filler to the end. The band doesn't know what it wants to be, and therefore, the results are mud and grey. You assume, with as much reverb and inability, the singer has that the lyrics would be great, but in fact they're indi-rock stupid. There are 3-4 songs on this album in which the lead guitar , bass guitar and drummer play the same notes throughout the entire song. It's ok computer for all the things that made ok computer not as good as it could have been..and not for the reasons that made it great. Expand
  5. WHaas
    Dec 3, 2005
    1
    Is this case I am rating this album based on previous MMJ material. They focused on 3 great tracks and the rest of the album is just nothing.
  6. ArendvanE
    Nov 22, 2005
    2
    terrible sound
  7. JasonD
    Nov 25, 2005
    1
    Seems like this is the chic pick of the year. Seems like everyone is trying way too hard to be chic. This album plays like nails on a chalkboard.
  8. Aaron
    Oct 13, 2005
    1
    Most overrated album of 2005. I have all of the reverb used on this disc. And what's with the circus music on track six?! Blah.
  9. JosephM
    Oct 16, 2005
    1
    No thanks. Next...
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A modern day classic.
  2. What you can expect is what makes My Morning Jacket tried and true: bigger-than-life lyrics, classic rock swagger, and the need to move forward.
  3. Mojo
    100
    With Z, My Morning Jacket have left their comfort zone, assumed the mantle of firebrands, and delivered a truly momentous work. [Oct 2005, p.96]