Zig Zaj

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Zig Zaj Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The producer and Neon Neon cofounder's first solo credited album in six years features appearances from Cate Le Bon, Franz Ferdinand's Alex Kapranos, Red Hot Chili Peppers' Josh Klinghoffer, Money Mark, Mike Noyce, Empire of the Sun's Luke Steele, and Warpaint.

Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 75
    The 10-minute penultimate track "Tumtum," in particular, is a tiny masterpiece of mood, stamina, and insistent rhythm, built sparingly on overlapping percussion and waves of sound. More of this kind of thing is what will squeak Boom Bip farther from the then and the now, and closer to what comes afterward.
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    Zig Zaj is predictably unpredictable, something else again for the artist.
  3. The Wire
    Dec 6, 2011
    Abstract hiphop-heads might be turned off by the slick machismo, but others will have some good dirty fun. [Oct 2011, p.65]
  4. Uncut
    Oct 3, 2011
    [It is] an eclectic patchwork of cinematic techno-rock and beat-heavy vocal tunes featuring stray members of the Chili Peppers, Warpaint and more. [Oct 2011, p.81]
  5. Under The Radar
    Nov 9, 2011
    Although Zig Zaj has a couple of strong songs that will likely find good homes on public radio and progressive dance floors, it sounds more like a collection of individual tracks than an actual album. [Oct. 2011, p. 112]
  6. Q Magazine
    Nov 8, 2011
    This third full-length solo record is a rich blend of different genres that, despite its rampant eclecticism, never jars. [Nov. 2011, p. 128]
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    The end result lumps the worst banalities of "indie" music into electronic sounds that, if properly fleshed out, might have been interesting.

See all 10 Critic Reviews