Zonoscope - Cut Copy
Zonoscope Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Ben Browning, Dan Whitford
  • Summary: The third full-length release is dance pop combined with down-tempo transitions using various instrumentation and heavy, pulsating rhythms.
  • Record Label: Das Modular / Modular Records
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Club/Dance, Indie Electronic, Alternative Dance
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 90
    In fact, it's very hard to determine what the actual standout from this album will be, because literally every track is full to the absolute brim with the genius of seasoned veterans
  2. Feb 7, 2011
    I'm elated to report that Zonoscope is a more than worthy successor to Colours, adhering to the tried and true follow-up formula of introducing just enough new wrinkles to their method to keep the proceedings from being a rehash, but containing plenty of the rapturous pop hooks that drew us to them in the first place.
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    Thanks to its beauty, warmth, and top-rate songwriting, Cut Copy remain atop the pile of dance-rock groups in 2011, right next to LCD Soundsystem. Thanks to its beauty, warmth, and top-rate songwriting, Cut Copy remain atop the pile of dance-rock groups in 2011, right next to LCD Soundsystem.
  4. Feb 7, 2011
    Zonoscope's extensive flirtation with last year's vogue is the most obvious sense in which Cut Copy fails to establish a sonic identity of their own.
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    Zonoscope is a deviation with mostly good ideas, some great ones, and enough sparkling synth ambrosia and sing-along chorus hooks to get you through.
  6. Feb 8, 2011
    When Zonoscope sticks to concise songcraft, it's a satisfying, if sometimes trifling, pleasure.
  7. Apr 13, 2011
    This is departure lounge pop--antiseptic, pleasant, with Photoshopped pics of exotic locales scattered around, but none of the hedonism of actually being there. [May 2011, p.82]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    More dance and less rock than previous albums, but I think this is the best cut copy album yet, and well worth a listen. They won't lose any old fans with this album, and I think they will gain new fans as well. Only complaint is some songs go very long with little change in the repetition, but all the better to dance to at your end of the world party right? Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    Consistency/innovative/dance-rock inspiring electro pop. Cut Copy is 3 for 3 on career albums and Zonoscope adds a great topping to the trilogy of musical euphoria. If you were expecting In Ghost Colours part 2 with hit after hit, CC responded with this new record full of organic new sounds and they passed with flying colours. Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    You'll be mindblowed since the first note of "Need You Now" and the effects' fade-out on the epic "Sun God". These songs are more drawn to the experimentalism from Animal Collective, but it still got some great dance songs, such as "Blink And You'll Miss The Revolution" and "Corner Of The Sky". But the pop songs are worth mentioning too, like "Alisa" and "Where I'm Going". Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    Each song on its own is great but together i think there's a bit too much variation, jumping from one style and influence to another in quick succession. Sure, some of the great records are incredibly variable, but they don't change so abruptly and fuse their influences better than Cut Copy have done. Some superb songs though such as Take Me Over, Where I'm Going, Need You Now and Blink And You'll Miss A Revolution. Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2011
    This album was Cut copy's next step out of their lets-bring-disco-back phase. Let's just say nostalgia doesn't necessarily mean good. I've always enjoyed Dan Whitford's vocals which persuaded me to purchase this album. I'm not going to say it was great because I only enjoyed the unique synthetic noises used throughout these tracks. I think it's safe to say Cut-Copy was a lot more experimental with this album in comparison to "In Ghost Colours". Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2011
    The album feels forced in a number of areas. One example of this is the presence of tropical percussion instruments in several songs; these instruments end up sounding like clutter in most of the songs they appear in, with one notable exception being "Corner of the Sky." The strongest parts of the album make extensive use of electronic/synth sounds and instruments, while the weakest parts make use of sounds and instruments that are more "organic" (e.g. guitar, tropical percussion instruments, etc.). The best song on the album is "Pharaohs and Pyramids," but "Where I'm Going," "Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat," "Corner of the Sky," and "Sun God" are all relatively strong compared to the other songs on the album. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2011
    After the stellar dance-rock album "In Ghost Colours", I guess they decided to phone this one in. It is so soaked in all the left over, 80's synth garbage (OMD, New Order and Depeche Mode) that no one has bothered to meddle in to this point, leaving the entire venture pretty stale. Certainly there are a few dance-able tracks here and there, yet there is minimal to no rock influences this time around and most of all, the tone and tempo of leader singer Whitford's vocals are beyond boring. I've always felt their previous work sounded extremely spontaneous, fun and still provided uniquely interesting structures like no one else; "Zonoscope" shows another side of Cut Copy: unimaginative, non-unique and flat. Better luck next time... Expand

See all 10 User Reviews