Miriam Margolyes

Biography: Miriam Margolyes, English actress and voice artist, was born May 18, 1941, in Oxford, England. Her first major film role was Elephant Ethel in the 1977 film Stand Up, Virgin Soldiers. During the 80s, Margolyes starred in a series of Blackadder movies: The Black Adder, Blackadder II, and Blackadder's Christmas Carol. The film that helped launch her career is The Age of Innocence directed by Martin Scorsese. In it, Margoyles played Mrs. Mingott and earned a BAFTA Film Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role in 1993. In the 1990s and early 2000s, Margolyes played roles in films for children. She played Aunt Sponge in James and the Giant Peach, the voice of Fly the dog in Babe, and Professor Sprout in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. In 2010, Margolyes returned to the role of Professor Sprout in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2. She is an Officer of the Order of the British Empire for her service to drama.

Miriam Margolyes' Scores

  • Movies
Average career score: 57
Highest Metascore: 83 The Age of Innocence
Lowest Metascore: 25 Modigliani
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
22 movie reviews
Title: Year: Credit: User score:
49 Maya the Bee Movie May 1, 2015 The Queen / The Queen (English Version) 3.4
51 The Wedding Video May 9, 2014 Patricia 5.5
50 The Guilt Trip Dec 19, 2012 Anita 6.4
53 Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole Sep 24, 2010 Mrs. Plithiver 6.9
46 The Dukes Nov 14, 2008 Aunt Vee 4.0
tbd Undertaking Betty Nov 12, 2005 Thelma & Selma 7.5
47 Cats & Dogs Jul 4, 2001 Sophie The Castle Maid 6.1
51 Left Luggage Sep 22, 2000 Mrs. Goldman 6.6
55 Dreaming of Joseph Lees Oct 29, 1999 Signora Caldoni 4.0
60 Romeo + Juliet Nov 1, 1996 The Nurse 6.3
45 I Love You to Death Apr 6, 1990 Joey's Mother 5.0