• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 17, 2012
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    1600 Penn's tone may be apolitical, but it is also very funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 13, 2012
    80
    By the second episode, 1600 Penn neatly has found its compass on how to be a show about the first family and how to define the ensemble.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Dec 13, 2012
    75
    1600 Penn may not be as sophisticated as the hysterical HBO series "Veep," but it's still pretty funny when all the cylinders are firing.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 17, 2012
    70
    Then the second episode, and then the third, come along, and 1600 Penn evolves into a surprisingly likable single-camera comedy.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Dec 17, 2012
    70
    1600 Penn has the unfortunate habit of milking every joke, even the most artificial and obvious ones. And its absurdist humor is hit-or-miss at best. And yet it has an undeniable charm, however superficial and ingratiating.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 17, 2012
    67
    Like many a new comedy--and new presidential administration--it needs a little time to get settled in before we can expect it to really make its mark.
  7. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Dec 14, 2012
    67
    The series starts wobbly but improves with each of the episodes [seen so far]. [21 Dec 2012, p.62]
  8. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 10, 2013
    63
    It's not ground-breaking or cutting-edge, and it's by no means the funniest show on TV. But it has the potential to get more lovable with time if viewers vote to give it a chance.
  9. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Dec 17, 2012
    63
    Loud and silly as it is, the show also manages to create and define its characters skillfully.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    4
    This show seemed to be a slam dunk - original director of Modern Family, a great premise, funny stars. The pilot was a huge faceplant,This show seemed to be a slam dunk - original director of Modern Family, a great premise, funny stars. The pilot was a huge faceplant, however. The third act was the President of the US playing tennis against a foreign dignitary and the crowd chanting, "USA"!?!? If this show is going to succeed it has to have some grounded plotlines and let the humor come from the character dynamics. It's already asking a lot of the audience to believe this family is in the White House, the president is Romney-looking Bill Pullman (with a Black Chief-of-Staff?). I don't think I can stomach another watch. Someone let us know if it gets any better. Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    3
    Dear god please, let this show be a figment of my imagination. It's time to mourn the NBC of old, which created such gems as 30 Rock andDear god please, let this show be a figment of my imagination. It's time to mourn the NBC of old, which created such gems as 30 Rock and Community. If this is the future of television, I want no part in watching it. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    The show's premise has so much potential and the writing and direction can totally prove it to be another successful comedy. The first episodeThe show's premise has so much potential and the writing and direction can totally prove it to be another successful comedy. The first episode was promising for me, I liked it. It is fresh, the cast is likeable and good, the jokes are somewhat old but their application is new. Let's see what is the future of this series. My hopes are high now. Full Review »