2 Broke Girls : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    There's so much potential here it kills me--a deep female friendship, raw humor about class, and a show that puts young women's sexuality dead center, rather than using it as visual spice, as in some cable series about bad-boy antiheroes.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 20, 2011
    60
    It could be that, like a lot of sitcom pilots, Broke Girls is trying too hard. But when the jokes work, they're funny, so there's hope.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    The pilot begins promisingly with Max unfurling an Aaron Sorkin-like rant at a customer foolish enough to snap his fingers to get her attention. But after that there are too many one-liners about semen stains and orgasms that aren't clever, just pronounced very loudly to carry over the titters of a studio audience.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    It was half appealing, with strong chemistry between Kat Dennings​ and Beth Behrs, and half awful, with some egregiously clunky one-liners and borderline (or over the border) offensive ethnic caricatures.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    Its two stars, Kat Dennings and Beth Behrs, who make this show bearable. With different casting, this show would be as flat as the pancakes they serve up in the Brooklyn diner where they work.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    It seems a missed opportunity: the premise of the spoiled rich kid and the sassy poor kid forced to team up is an old story that often works. But both Caroline and Max come across as prep school students who are slumming.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 19, 2011
    58
    A good sitcom is much more likely to have started life with a bad pilot than a good drama, and there are little glimmers in each episode that suggest a much better show could come later. But those glimmers are much more obvious in 2 Broke Girls than in "Whitney."
  8. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    2 Broke Girls has its fair share of genuinely funny lines....But the program has plenty of eye-rollers, too.
  9. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    For sitcom's premise sake, Kat reluctantly offers Caroline a place to stay, and before you know it we're watching a lukewarm revamp of "The Odd Couple."
  10. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    I liked this first episode better the first time around. Upon further review, its excesses and kitchen sink humor aren't wearing as well.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 427 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 74
  2. Negative: 31 out of 74
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    The T.V. show is rough and it is sometimes a little perv, but it makes me laugh, indeed, it is ironic, funny, hilarious, but it fails in theThe T.V. show is rough and it is sometimes a little perv, but it makes me laugh, indeed, it is ironic, funny, hilarious, but it fails in the lines. It makes you curious. Full Review »
  2. Owl
    Sep 23, 2011
    3
    Really, critics LIKE this show? The writing was lame. Obvious jokes and conflicts. The leads do have charisma, but they are being fed TERRIBLEReally, critics LIKE this show? The writing was lame. Obvious jokes and conflicts. The leads do have charisma, but they are being fed TERRIBLE lines. And the ethnic stereotyping borders or reaches, the offensive level. The Chinese-American character calls himself Bryce Lee?! Really? Sigh. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    I chuckled at the pilot, and thought I'd check out episode #2. I'm done with this one already. This is just a typical sitcom with lame, forcedI chuckled at the pilot, and thought I'd check out episode #2. I'm done with this one already. This is just a typical sitcom with lame, forced jokes, an over-the-top laugh track and not one character worth caring about. Kinda sad to Garrett Morris just sitting there, being fed a weak line or two. Full Review »