2 Broke Girls : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 6
2 Broke Girls Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 459 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Caroline (Beth Behrs) is forced to find a job after her trust fund is emptied and she ends up at the Williamsburg Diner, where she meets veteran server Max (Kat Dennings).
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
2 Broke Girls
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 9, 2011
    88
    The girls' chemistry should keep the show breakdown free. [19 Sep 2011, p.59]
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 12, 2011
    83
    After the forced opening minutes, it's the best multi-cam-com of the season.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 19, 2011
    75
    Max and Caroline's Odd Couple interaction is nothing you haven't seen before. But thanks to the show's two bright young stars, who deliver their shared dialogue with a nice, natural ease, their scenes together have enough charm and humor to make these struggling Girls look like winners.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 19, 2011
    70
    Depending on your tolerance for edgy humor, 2 Broke Girls ain't broke, but a greater effort by the show's writers to be funny without being overly crude/cruel would help fix it for a broader audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 20, 2011
    60
    It could be that, like a lot of sitcom pilots, Broke Girls is trying too hard. But when the jokes work, they're funny, so there's hope.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    For sitcom's premise sake, Kat reluctantly offers Caroline a place to stay, and before you know it we're watching a lukewarm revamp of "The Odd Couple."
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    The pilot begins promisingly with Max unfurling an Aaron Sorkin-like rant at a customer foolish enough to snap his fingers to get her attention. But after that there are too many one-liners about semen stains and orgasms that aren't clever, just pronounced very loudly to carry over the titters of a studio audience.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 77
  2. Negative: 34 out of 77
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    The T.V. show is rough and it is sometimes a little perv, but it makes me laugh, indeed, it is ironic, funny, hilarious, but it fails in theThe T.V. show is rough and it is sometimes a little perv, but it makes me laugh, indeed, it is ironic, funny, hilarious, but it fails in the lines. It makes you curious. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    i loove this show. it somehow shows me what friendships, relationships are. and also the real deal about business, and lame economies. Kat andi loove this show. it somehow shows me what friendships, relationships are. and also the real deal about business, and lame economies. Kat and Beth really rocks it. i dont care you people who dont understand jokes. i love this show. salute Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2014
    9
    Automatically liked this show, Max and Caroline are a perfect antagonistic friendship and both are superb in their roles, the rich spoiledAutomatically liked this show, Max and Caroline are a perfect antagonistic friendship and both are superb in their roles, the rich spoiled girl and the tough rude poor girl, without stop being smart. It fits great the kind of Max's boyfriend and especially Caroline's horse! Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    This show is ok but once after 10 minutes the show goes downhill i kinda like it but its awful dont watch this show if u dont want to wast urThis show is ok but once after 10 minutes the show goes downhill i kinda like it but its awful dont watch this show if u dont want to wast ur time..... Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2011
    3
    Kat Dennings: the only reason to watch this show, an actress whose talent are wasted in this mediocre comedy. In fact she is the one whoKat Dennings: the only reason to watch this show, an actress whose talent are wasted in this mediocre comedy. In fact she is the one who carries the show on her shoulders, because it wouldn't even be "mediocre" without her.

    Writing is just horrible, are there any jokes that aren't deeply offensive and racist in this comedy? ...CBS seems to think that as long as you put a laugh track on it, it's funny.... But it's not
    Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2014
    1
    Uncomfortably racist and shockingly dumb. This show seems deluded by the idea that humour is proportional to how loud the delivery is. Is thisUncomfortably racist and shockingly dumb. This show seems deluded by the idea that humour is proportional to how loud the delivery is. Is this the worst CBS comedy to date? This reviewer thinks so. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    2 Broke Girls has to be the worst 'comedy' ever created and possibly one of the worst TV shows I have ever seen. At times it is painful to2 Broke Girls has to be the worst 'comedy' ever created and possibly one of the worst TV shows I have ever seen. At times it is painful to watch and you have to feel sorry for the actors and actresses having to perform such simple and basic lines that aren't even remotely funny.

    I have watched many episodes of this over the last few years and have tried in vain to get into it as I am a massive fan of US comedy. Each episode is riddled with the most simplistic and cliched dialogue which is delivered in painfully annoying fashion by Kat Dennings and Beth Behrs. Other cast members are an oddball bunch of equally irritating characters who provide some cringeworthy scenes that aren't funny in the slightest.

    The basic premise of this show is two girls women to make it big with their cupcake business but are always poor and have to look at ways to make money. After 70+ episodes and having not laughed once; I am astonished that they have managed to keep this dreadful excuse of a comedy going as there has been no real cast development or story expansion to drive it forward into new areas. The Big Bang Theory has grown significantly with new and suitable characters opening future storylines making way for further laughs but 2 Broke Girls is extremely simple and one-dimensional and fails on every level.

    When you look at the people who have worked on getting this show to air; I cannot believe how bad it has turned out. Terrible scripting, cheesy and pathetic acting and a real lack of a story to keep people engaged has ultimately left this show and its actors laughing stocks for all the wrong reasons.
    Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 22, 2017
    Is your favorite TV show coming back next season? We survey a variety of industry experts to get the latest renewal odds.
  2. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.