• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 5, 2014
  • Season #: 9
24: Live Another Day Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Picking up four years since the events of season eight, Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland) is still on run and ends up in London trying to prevent another threat in this 12-episode season.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    May 5, 2014
    100
    The good news is the limited series is just as entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    May 2, 2014
    83
    No matter what, the show returns with the same sense of modern-day paranoia and urgency that fueled its best seasons, and however over-the-top it goes, its real-world geopolitical concerns are real-world geopolitical concerns.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    May 5, 2014
    80
    Going by the first two hours, this new incarnation of the show exactly as 24-ish as you'd want it to be.
  4. The revived 24 is still instantly involving and packed with a dizzying rush of suspenseful crescendos. The new Jack, meanwhile, is the same as the old Jack, which is to say he flips the bird in the face of terror and squirms his way out of major messes like a gun-toting Houdini--all while managing to make a man purse look good.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 5, 2014
    70
    The novelty--and thus, a bit of the edge--is gone as Fox's 12-part 24: Live Another Day seeks to prove that less is more, slowly revving up the comfortably formulaic engine while visceral split-screen editing once again intensifies the literally explosive twists. And yet, because a sad, mad, badass Jack Bauer is the only Jack we've ever known, there's something grimly satisfying when he mutters bleakly to one of his few allies, "I don't have any friends."
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 5, 2014
    60
    [Director] Cassar juggles plenty of balls in that first hour, uses some new techniques at his disposal and gives Rajskub her best scenes yet. But there’s something very retro about the formula--something that doesn’t quite seem ready for revival.
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    May 1, 2014
    40
    As long as all you ask of it is more familiar twists and backstabbing, you’ll probably be happy with it. If you felt (like I did) that the series had said all it had to say after eight years, the reboot looks skippable.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    I forgot how good 24 was! It is like it has been always there. While I was watching it today, I felt the same way as I did when I watched theI forgot how good 24 was! It is like it has been always there. While I was watching it today, I felt the same way as I did when I watched the first season. I was very impressed with the concept, the storytelling and how addicted the TV show was. I think 24 proves that others TV shows could come back on a high note as well. I hope they do the same with Dexter, they owe us the last season. Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    The great thing about this show is that Jack doesn't put up with any crap from anyone. This season, there was less action than in past seasonsThe great thing about this show is that Jack doesn't put up with any crap from anyone. This season, there was less action than in past seasons but it was still very good and I sure hope another season comes back with him escaping from Russia and creating some havoc again. So glad the character of his former love interest (President's daughter) did not make it through this season. I never liked that actress as his love interest. But the new female Jack character was excellent. A great balance. Hope the next season returns soon! Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    As the original, it just gets better and better (and more addictive) with each episode. We're not TV nuts, but this show has us totallyAs the original, it just gets better and better (and more addictive) with each episode. We're not TV nuts, but this show has us totally hooked.

    Now, if they only would bring back Tony.....c'mon...they could think of a great excuse for why he's really still alive!
    Expand
  4. May 5, 2014
    10
    This is amazing, i still can´t believe this two espisodes, only think that im sure is that jackisback and we see nothing yet. Kiefer andThis is amazing, i still can´t believe this two espisodes, only think that im sure is that jackisback and we see nothing yet. Kiefer and Yvonne are very similar in the choices that they made, i like that, is like a female jack Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really excited when 24 was making a return. The series has been one of my favoriteThis review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really excited when 24 was making a return. The series has been one of my favorite TV shows ever. This season was set in London, a welcome surprise. The season actually started a little slow and it was really nothing special. It was rather predictable and a lot more realistic. As a series, 24 doesn't care for a sense of realism. It wasn't crazy and that was a little disappointing. In 24, we want craziness to occur all the time. Jack Bauer continues to kick ass like he has always done. The season brought another good character, Kate Morgan. She's basically the female Jack Bauer. It was nice seeing James Heller again. One again, I really did not care for Audrey. We all knew she would die in this season. It just had to happen. The season had a pretty good villain, but she was not intimidating. She was just crazy. I was so happy sheshe got thrown out the window. This season didn't have as many twists and turns like prior seasons. Cheng returns at the end, but we all knew he was coming back. I wish Tony would come back, that would have been better. James Heller had one of the best dialogues ever in 24 in the finale. At the end, the Russians get Jack after he gives himself up. A nice ending to the season. I do think the show will get renewed and get another season. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2014
    8
    After a four year absence 24 is back and nothing much has really changed. Many of the issues that affected later seasons in particular (fromAfter a four year absence 24 is back and nothing much has really changed. Many of the issues that affected later seasons in particular (from moles inside the government to people putting their personal issues ahead of anything else) are still to be found here, even if they are mitigated slightly by the fact that this season has twelve, rather than the usual twenty-four episodes.

    After a slowish start however Live Another Day really hits top gear and makes for fantastically exciting viewing with all the gun fights, car chases, plot twists and cliff-hangers fans have come to expect. The show may not be as ground breaking as it once was but it great to have Jack back on our screens.
    Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2014
    0
    When 24 started back in the early 90's it was fresh original and well made, slowly as the seasons progressed the shows quality regressed,When 24 started back in the early 90's it was fresh original and well made, slowly as the seasons progressed the shows quality regressed, finally it ended, after 8 uneven seasons I no longer had force myself to watch this once great show out of some sort of misguided loyalty.

    For some reason(clearly to milk the cash cow) they brought it back, I wonder if it will reinvent itself I thought, hoping it would get back to some sort of quality TV, Boy was I wrong, 24 - Live Another Day is one of the worst written TV series I have ever seen, Terrible doesn't even begin to describe how bad it is.

    If you loved the early seasons of 24, then noticed the drastic decline in quality, I would say avoid this tripe, but hey, make your own kind of music.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews