24 : Season 5

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 328 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 328

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 4, 2016
    9
    One of the best seasons to grace TV screens, 24 : Season 5 starts with a bang, continues with more bangs, and ends on a similarly high note thanks to unbelievable plot twists, terrific writing, brilliant action, non-stop thrills and wonderfully shot and paced story and action.
  2. Aug 20, 2016
    10
    wll i have to be honest still one of the seasons in any tv show ever. 24 is still one of best tv show i watched, beside perhaps the wire or game of thrones. But season 5, fantastic plot,great characters , and even if you did`nt like the earlier season this season is really worth watching simple because of the villain.
    I watched this over 7 times and this is no exaggeration , i am watching
    wll i have to be honest still one of the seasons in any tv show ever. 24 is still one of best tv show i watched, beside perhaps the wire or game of thrones. But season 5, fantastic plot,great characters , and even if you did`nt like the earlier season this season is really worth watching simple because of the villain.
    I watched this over 7 times and this is no exaggeration , i am watching it agani now after 3-4 years since last time is so good. No dull moment, the casting is great. And i will just say this bear in mind this is my first tv show review and the only eason that is close to this imo that is very good must be the wire season 3-4 , or breaking bad season 2-4 , but anyway if i really had to have a favourite it has to be this season , so good. If there is any season worth a 10 this is it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2015
    1
    I enjoyed the first season, but the show has become unwatchable. Everyone in CTU, including Jack, shows no signs of working non-stop 24 hours without so much as a caffeine break and everyone from the White House staff to CTU has free access to their cell phones (even call centers don't allow that). But these are minor issues, the absurdity that terrorists can so easily infiltrate virtuallyI enjoyed the first season, but the show has become unwatchable. Everyone in CTU, including Jack, shows no signs of working non-stop 24 hours without so much as a caffeine break and everyone from the White House staff to CTU has free access to their cell phones (even call centers don't allow that). But these are minor issues, the absurdity that terrorists can so easily infiltrate virtually every government agency at once ... this show's popularity explains how some people I could name keep getting elected ... a lot of studpidity. Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2015
    9
    Day 5 of 24 is the best yet with unbelievable plot twists, terrific writing, brilliant action, non-stop thrills and wonderfully shot and paced story and action.
  5. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    The best season of 24 by a long shot. With the amazing twists in the beginning, game changing twists and death, this show has gotten so good, it has to fall at some point
  6. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Perfect. No more words.
    I hate the many deads, because I love the characters.
    The president as the Bad Guy?? PER-FECT!!
    The best season of the entire show.
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    By far the best season and was always going to be hard to top, the emotions of Anger, Frustration, and Relief, causing you to scream at the TV as if you're willing on your favorite football team. the 24 Team have the knack at finding and developing characters so that you hate them with a passion whilst willing on the heroes to prevail
  8. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Vuelve 24. Después de las anteriores temporadas que no son malas, esta destaca su trama como las mejores de todas las temporadas. Excitante, completa, adictiva e imponente como nos acostumbra.
  9. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This show is the best show of all time, i was more committed to this show then a black person was to popeyes and i had to be home by monday night at 9 pm me and my dad would jerk off to this show and the end of this season is some doom and lots of surprises this season is my favorite season
  10. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    SPOILERS!!!! They killed off every great character! Palmer, Almeida, Dessler, even Edgar, the fat guy with a lisp. The first three were killed in the first quarter and as a result the rest of the season felt very sparse and empty. No wonder everyone says S6 onwards is where 24 goes downhill. Getting rid of Tony was a big mistake though; he was the second best and most likeableSPOILERS!!!! They killed off every great character! Palmer, Almeida, Dessler, even Edgar, the fat guy with a lisp. The first three were killed in the first quarter and as a result the rest of the season felt very sparse and empty. No wonder everyone says S6 onwards is where 24 goes downhill. Getting rid of Tony was a big mistake though; he was the second best and most likeable character next to Jack and his now lack of presence has left a huge space that isn't being filled. The way he communicated with Jack was, unlike Jack with everyone else, less formal and provided a different dynamic. Overall the show continues to slip in quality ever since S2 yet despite that, it's still definitely worth a watch, as it's yet another enticing 24 puzzle that we need to see unravelled. Ignore the 9.3 user score because it's ridiculous; it would put S5 the highest season of 24 when it's the least best one out of the five so far. Still very good though. Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2012
    7
    Far from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life. Traditionally, the series starts its year on a high and sags in the middle rounds, but Fox's clever scheduling ploy of launching the show with four hours over two nightsFar from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life. Traditionally, the series starts its year on a high and sags in the middle rounds, but Fox's clever scheduling ploy of launching the show with four hours over two nights should plant the hook deep based on those episodes, leading loyalists to hang on for the thrill ride. Beginning 18 months after Jack faked his death, the series quickly launches into a new threat, with twists that Fox has understandably asked critics not to disclose. As for the plot, it's enough to say the officious, sniveling bureaucrat who took office last season, President Logan is still in power, banking on a Russian summit to serve as the apex of his presidency. In the world of "24," such events are never without a hitch, but the ever-present theme of terrorism and how bad good guys must become to counter evil gets a bit less of a ham-fisted working over this time around. Then again, perhaps that's merely in comparison to season four, which featured so many acts of righteous torture it began to seem as if Dick Cheney was among the showrunners. As always, truly savoring this tightrope act requires some suspension of disbelief, from the synergistic plugs for Fox News to the ridiculously navigable L.A. traffic, as people zip from place to place in those ubiquitous Fords at a pace that can only leave real-life commuters scoffing. Still, the show continues to feature a top-notch cast, with Kiefer Sutherland providing the right mix of can-do machismo and world-weariness as the indomitable Jack, who has found a new love interest that, based on history, is sure to end badly. Frankly, I'd still like to see Fox roll the dice by bringing the series back without him -- letting some new agent suffer Job's trials to keep us free -- but there's no denying the grit and intensity the actor invests in the role. Joining the ensemble, meanwhile, is the intriguing Jean Smart as the troubled First Lady and Sean Astin as a new overseer of the Counter-Terrorism Unit. Back, too, is Mary Lynn Rajskub as Jack's tech-geek ally Chloe, who at one point assures a third party there's nothing to worry about as Jack sneaks up behind a heavily armed man. "Relax," she says, in a voice that invariably suggests anything but relaxing, "he's really good at this." That he is. Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Season 5: Jack Bauer and 24 at their finest. This probably his best season ever, even beating out my old favorite, season 2. No show can get my adrenaline racing like 24. 5 is the peak season of an incredible series
  13. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    The story line is similar to other seasons. Enemies are Southeast or Soviet Union, betrayer and surprise ending... But still love it. I've had so much fun.

    - mvtls.com
  14. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Beautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 hasBeautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 has on the human mind. Collapse
  15. MuhammadG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Best 24 season ever.
  16. TT
    Oct 31, 2007
    7
    I found this season pretty disappointing. Writing that is more melodramatic than usual, it just didn't hold up. Still fairly entertaining, but a big drop from seasons past.
  17. BillT
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Pure fantasy entertainment, but with enough reality to really scare and get us thinking. Most of the women are superattractive and sexy (even the first lady), while Jack is seemingly admired equally by men and women fans. Great, great TV show.
  18. JulyP
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Awesome show. Kiefer rocks!!!
  19. GiusyTriso
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    The best show EVER!!!
  20. MichaelC
    Feb 12, 2007
    4
    This season is filled with poor writing. For example, I think the subplot of Jack's father, Phillip, is beyond ridiculous. Nothing to do with his motives, just CTU's apparent apathy to even question him, let alone allow to freely tamper with evidence, spy on them, etc. I cringed while I watched how dumb that was.
  21. R.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    A superb season.
  22. Isledeclare
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Loved it! It was my first time watching. I think I have found a show that my sci-fi loving husband and I can actually enjoy together.
  23. KarenG
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Great show...keeps you on the edge of your seat! We had a "24 Party" at my house! Everyone there rates this show a 10+!!!!!
  24. NateB
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Best season of 24 since season 1, though I could understand how many people would think this season is the best. There is a lot more action, no stupid filler story lines (to the extent they existed in season 2 through 4), and a lot of gut wrenching emotional moments. The writers make it so you can never stop watching and the acting is better than almost any other medium (television, Best season of 24 since season 1, though I could understand how many people would think this season is the best. There is a lot more action, no stupid filler story lines (to the extent they existed in season 2 through 4), and a lot of gut wrenching emotional moments. The writers make it so you can never stop watching and the acting is better than almost any other medium (television, movies, etc.). The only negative is that after watching this season every other show seems kind of lame in comparison. 24 is perfect. Expand
  25. joemomma
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    jack bauer ROCKS!
  26. chasew
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    I love this show. Personally, im in love with Elisha Cuthbert. Give me a call. :)
  27. AndyW
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    even watching this on dvd, i'm convinced that season 5 is one of the best seasons i've seen on television ever!
  28. ShawnU
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This was the first season I ever watched and let me tell you this, it was intense! Shocking twist and turns and one brillent story. 24 is shockingly awesome.
  29. IgorV
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    from when ever this show started me and my freinds would get together and watch almost every single week
  30. MikeG
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    Best show on TV period.
  31. DanF
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Frikken Awesome!!!.Greatest show on television and the best season yet.
  32. ShawnS
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Bravo !
  33. foster
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    best tv show ever come on keither!
  34. AllyL
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    Although the show seems to favor Jack in every way, the cast is amusing and the action-packed scenes are never a disappointment!
  35. MartieG
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    If you don't watch this show, you don't deserve to watch television. Heck, 24 is worth buying a TV set for. If you haven't seen "the most critically acclaimed show on television" (that's an actual quote from FOX), BUY SEASON ONE NOW. It doesn't even matter if you borrow it off a friend or rent it. Just watch all 5 seasons before season 6 begins in January. I If you don't watch this show, you don't deserve to watch television. Heck, 24 is worth buying a TV set for. If you haven't seen "the most critically acclaimed show on television" (that's an actual quote from FOX), BUY SEASON ONE NOW. It doesn't even matter if you borrow it off a friend or rent it. Just watch all 5 seasons before season 6 begins in January. I watched 4 seasons in only 1 week. You can do it, too! Expand
  36. DanielN
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Let me describe 24 in 24 words: Action-packed, dramatic, shocking, powerful, cutting-edge, innovative, surprising, outstanding, amazing, addictive, remarkable, unbeleivable, captivating, twistful, excellent, entertaining, thrilling, fantastic, legendary, intelligent, serious, realistic, mesmorizing, and last of all, perfect.
  37. JohnF
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    i luv this show its so perfect. It will probably win all of its emmies this year. Jack Bauer is the greatest!!!!!
  38. yvem
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    best show ever. All of the other shows nominated for best drama are not as amazing as 24. it's guaranteed to win. What other show can compete with the urgency of the real time system, exclusive to 24? What other show excels in action, drama and plot twists/cliffhangers? Not even Lost could keep up with 24 this year: it didn't even get nominated!
  39. RyanS
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    igh-paced, intelligent, moving, and powerful, the FIFTH Season of
  40. AlexW
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    Most thrilling show to date on television.
  41. hankbuddy
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Flat out the best show on TV today. Incredible suspense and non-stop action over-ride the ocassional moments of artistic liberties in plot/storyline development. A ton o' fun!
  42. JG
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    I absolutley love this show. It leaves me in suspense everytime each episode is over. The cinemetography is outstanding. The acting is good and I really like the plot lines.
  43. JasonT
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    Season 5 of 24 is arguably the series best season yet. The death of Palmer, and President Logan being the mastermind, were two excellently shocking twists to the series. Some may think the President being evil was stupid, but they know nothing of true politics, and 24 does. This huge leap in terrorism perfectly described how afraid we really should be, not just of terrorism, but of the Season 5 of 24 is arguably the series best season yet. The death of Palmer, and President Logan being the mastermind, were two excellently shocking twists to the series. Some may think the President being evil was stupid, but they know nothing of true politics, and 24 does. This huge leap in terrorism perfectly described how afraid we really should be, not just of terrorism, but of the government. this season shocked me more than ever, and I can't wait for the next season. Easily on of the best shows on TV. Expand
  44. TessI
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    Addictive! I watched the DVD's till 6:00 in the morning for I simply can't sleep without knowing what's going to happen next!
  45. parms
    Jun 21, 2006
    2
    Started of really well but now it has got so so rediculous. I was a huge fan of 24, watched every one since it started 4-5 years ago. Now it has got silly, its about time Jack let some of the other characters play the hero with certain scenarios. The story line is rediculous, the bit where half way through the president is involved....come on. Then the issue with the audio file, jack is Started of really well but now it has got so so rediculous. I was a huge fan of 24, watched every one since it started 4-5 years ago. Now it has got silly, its about time Jack let some of the other characters play the hero with certain scenarios. The story line is rediculous, the bit where half way through the president is involved....come on. Then the issue with the audio file, jack is able to send and duplicate and self destruct any other file but appears to be unable to copy a simple wav/mp3 file when he eventually gets hold of it. I dont think i will be watching any more. Expand
  46. adrianb
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    best show ever made....i judge all TV and movies against the thrills that this rollercoaster of a show gives me.
  47. chloe
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    da best show on tv !!!
  48. StefanB
    May 30, 2006
    10
    Jack is back... better than ever. 24 was my favorite TV-show by far from the beginning, and kept that status even though I had the feeling it went a bit downhill each season. For me, Season 1 and 2 were both the best so far, each one with its own great strength and little weakness. 3 and 4 were still great, but just not so great any more. Then came Season 5. Seeing the frist few episodes, Jack is back... better than ever. 24 was my favorite TV-show by far from the beginning, and kept that status even though I had the feeling it went a bit downhill each season. For me, Season 1 and 2 were both the best so far, each one with its own great strength and little weakness. 3 and 4 were still great, but just not so great any more. Then came Season 5. Seeing the frist few episodes, it looked like the combination of the strength of Season 1 and 2. Hopes were high, and they were fulfilled more and more with each episode, each twist and turn and even a deeply missed S1-Nina-Bauer-Moment near the end. This Season has it all, and a bit more of it. My only fear is that there is no way ever that they can top this with the coming episodes... but then, they're a bit like Jack himself. They just do the impossible. Expand
  49. jasonm
    May 25, 2006
    10
    far and away the best show on tv!!!!!! can't wait until january
  50. ElliotJ
    May 24, 2006
    10
    The inconsistencies of the plot are fun in themselves but of course the main attraction is the most thrilling show, perhaps in television history. Watch the Sopranos now and see rather tired shadow - watch 24 and you are watching a show that grows and grows. Aside from Mr. Sutherland's wonderful performance, the actor who played the president easily takes the cake as an absolutely The inconsistencies of the plot are fun in themselves but of course the main attraction is the most thrilling show, perhaps in television history. Watch the Sopranos now and see rather tired shadow - watch 24 and you are watching a show that grows and grows. Aside from Mr. Sutherland's wonderful performance, the actor who played the president easily takes the cake as an absolutely outstanding actor. BRAVO!!!! Expand
  51. RussellW
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Season 5 is the first season that I have watched of 24 and it was an amazing season. After listening to my college professors and fellow students rant about the show for weeks on end, I finally decided to tune in. I do have to say, this is the first television show I have looked forward to watching since Ninja Turtles as a kid.
  52. FilipM
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Ok, I've just finished watching the 24 season 5 finale and my mind is just blown away! This is definitly the best tv show ever, season 5 is just as gerat as the previous 4. I love this show and I don't think that anyone can ever make something better(exept maybe 24 se 6 offcource :)
  53. MossyH
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Great, just great, keeps getting better all the time
  54. SimonG
    May 21, 2006
    10
    awsome tbh
  55. ArifR
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Alhamdulillah, 24 is the only TV show I watch these days. And as a moslem, I'm so pleased to see they did a good job in keeping a good image on Islam, like in season 2.
  56. MaryS
    May 8, 2006
    0
    The worst piece of junk I've ever seen. Who writes this? Who directs it? Does the director think whispering is showing emotion? AWFUL!!!!!
  57. BlakeP
    May 7, 2006
    10
    The greatest show on TV!
  58. AlanaE
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    This TV show is sooooo awesome!!!!! It is interesting and amazingly heartstopping... IT IS SOOOOOO INTENSE!!!!!!!
  59. MattD
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    I have been watching this since the first season and I have never been disappointed with the show. It always keeps you in suspense. When this show is on, my eyes are always peeled to the TV. I am oblivious to anything else. I couldn
  60. HollyL
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    Absolutely the best show on television. Intelligent, well written, fast paced with sharply defined characters. It's the only thing my television gets turned on for.
  61. Ty
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    If you don't like this show, you don't like TV. 24 kicks ass!
  62. HubertM
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    This show is the best thing on television, in fact it's the only thing I watch. I don't know what's up with the people who give it 0's or 1's, but I'm sorry that you will never know the joy of 24.
  63. mark
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    This is the definitely the most well plotted and well acted show that is on television, not to mention the most suspenseful and all around best. Without 24, there would be no reason to wake up in the morning
  64. RyanJ
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Best show ever.
  65. JohnS
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    When 24 debuted in 2001, it was said to be the most innovative and intelligent show on television. 5 seasons later, 24 can still claim that title. With carefully constructed plots, a dynamite cast, and a unique format that changed the face of television forever, 24 has everything it takes to be the best show on television. My advice to a new viewer, start with the first season and work When 24 debuted in 2001, it was said to be the most innovative and intelligent show on television. 5 seasons later, 24 can still claim that title. With carefully constructed plots, a dynamite cast, and a unique format that changed the face of television forever, 24 has everything it takes to be the best show on television. My advice to a new viewer, start with the first season and work your way up. Watching 5 seasons on DVD may seem like a lot to undertake, but with a show like 24, the episodes will fly by, leaving you on the edge of your seat wanting more. When season 6 premieres in 2007, you will be ready to watch a new season of the most critically acclaimed show on television. 24 is on every Monday night at 9 EST, changing the way you look at your week. Monday is no longer the most dreaded day of the week, unless of course you are Jack Bauer. Expand
  66. JonnyM
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    Excellent. It has the most perfect casting, writing and pacing. Kiefer Sutherland is never less than compelling and the twists and turns keep the interest levels on high. If there's a fault it's that the show tends to recycle things from previous seasons, but if it works (and it does), stick with it!
  67. DarciA
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I have just four words.....Jack Bauer Power Hour!!
  68. FraserW
    Apr 15, 2006
    0
    This show i such a piece of garbage moulded into a show, thers something huge happening in every epiode, Kiefer Sutherland over acts and i bet thats how he acts in real life. I am now going to quote something a wise man said. "24 SUCKS"
  69. MelodyY
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    This show is the best. Very addictive. Love the twists too. However some of the non main characters can be annoying.
  70. Nash
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    The best series in television history. Not only are the visuals and direction superb, but the writers keep reinventing something new and exciting not every season, but every episode. Watch this show. You may never get another one like it in your lifetime.
  71. MikeM
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    An outstanding show. The story line is intelligent, the acting is generally good and it keeps me constantly looking at the clock wishing time would move backwards so I can watch longer.
  72. RobC
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    I've been watching since day 1 hour 1, and am in front of the television for every episode. Aside from news and sports, its the only thing I watch.
  73. fernandoa
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    the best series in the history
  74. JustinW
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    Even after four seasons of cast changes, 24 remains a compelling and intense show. Great actors who play their roles to the fullest are one of the best things about 24. The bad? Every season a key person (or people) die, the show can be too fast at times, and some events (such as treason) are recycled per season.
  75. CraigT
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This has to be the Best Season Ever. Who doesn't like Jack Bauer
  76. RandG
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    I saw this show for the first time this season. Fortunately, I started with the first episode. Needless to say, I was hooked in the first half-hour. Now the only difficulty is catching up on the first four seasons. It is now at the top of my must see list.
  77. NancyV
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Five years running and my heart's till pounding. Just when I think this show can't maintain the tension and excitement it has in the past, it gets more tense & exciting. The trick is to let the rest of the world know -- don't phone at 9:00 p.m. Mondays...
  78. DaveW
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Top Notch! Just keeps getting better!!!!
  79. LisaB
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    This is THE BEST Show on TV!! We haven't missed an Episode sinced the very 1st Season!
  80. OlD
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    This is a very average season and nowhere near the heart pounding drama and ingenious twists of season one. The real time format has been all but abandoned and the producers of running a story that lasts for more than two episodes in case the viewer watches something else, much unlike seasons one and two. The sub-plots are annoying, predictable and pointless and jack has been relegated to This is a very average season and nowhere near the heart pounding drama and ingenious twists of season one. The real time format has been all but abandoned and the producers of running a story that lasts for more than two episodes in case the viewer watches something else, much unlike seasons one and two. The sub-plots are annoying, predictable and pointless and jack has been relegated to another face, lacking the edge which made him so great in the first two seasons. Don't be fooled by the high ratings - this is a poor shadow of its former self. Expand
  81. RaymondK
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    Having let itself down in the previous two seasons, this the 5th day, is proving to be as exhilirating as the 1st. Keep up the good work. Goodbye.
  82. Nick
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Still the best programme on TV, nothing else comes close in my opinion.
  83. tabbyw
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best show ever!!! every time I see an episode I say 'this is the best episode ever'... until I see the next episode... 24 is the greatest show on earth, I almost look foreward to mondays now!!! (Almost...)
  84. BryanJ
    Mar 22, 2006
    1
    Grossly overrated series that is so hell-bent on keeping the audience entertained with nonstop action that acting and dialogue is forced to take the backseat in place of an embarrassingly implausible storyline that is reminiscent of Michael Bay
  85. Deke
    Mar 22, 2006
    1
    Well past its best. Its about time Jack didnt manage to evade one of the hundreds of bullets shot his way each episode. It is just plainly ridiculous now and out of ideas. Try The Shield or Rescue Me for proper TV
  86. CK
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    Probably the most overrated show on TV right now.
  87. SCritic
    Mar 20, 2006
    2
    Annoyingly unlikely and poorly constructed a storyline. No idea why this show is popular at all. I'd only watch it when I have absolutely no other program to watch.
  88. TroyT
    Mar 17, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best shows on television, it deserves a perfect score.
  89. Flood
    Mar 13, 2006
    3
    Utterly trite and bordering on unwatchable. Unless politically propagandistic soap operas are your ideal. T
  90. nornie
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite show. I never watched this on tv, I didnt' start watching them til season 4 was out to buy on dvd. I watch each season within 2 days and then I go get the next season, Im on season 4 now, I love this show.
  91. Thomas
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    I really didn't think 24 could get any better until I watched season 5. It's television that has outdone itself in it's own image. Purely amazing.
  92. sidewinder572
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    I hate to the old cliche. But this show is truly heart pounding, edge of your seat intensity. Better then most movies I've seen and the best show I've seen in a long time.
  93. SampsonS
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    A great return for the series. In response ti Jakes comments about Chloe (: I think she acts the part of an highly intelligent, but socially inept women very well. Her best moment was in series 4, after she shot someone. She Jack and Tony are the continuation the show needs. Will she stay for the next series?
  94. Jake
    Feb 24, 2006
    7
    The first four episodes were stellar, but ever since the nerve gas/government cover-up was introduced, it lost steam. Unfortunately, most of the supporting actors can't act at all (I want to wring Chloe's scrawny pelican neck everytime she talks). Sean Austin's doing a decent job playing a nice guy trying to be mean, and Kiefer Sutherland is amazing as usual. I say more The first four episodes were stellar, but ever since the nerve gas/government cover-up was introduced, it lost steam. Unfortunately, most of the supporting actors can't act at all (I want to wring Chloe's scrawny pelican neck everytime she talks). Sean Austin's doing a decent job playing a nice guy trying to be mean, and Kiefer Sutherland is amazing as usual. I say more Jack, less of the President's damn wife. Don't try to be west wing, just be the action show we all can't stop watching......yet. Expand
  95. IoannisP
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    After a disapointing 4th season, the first 7 episodes have completely restored my faith in the show!!! Go Jack!!
  96. EvanB
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Finally someone who can challenge Samuel L. Jackson as BMF of the universe.
  97. adamf
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    The best tv show ever! The shows got everything, there will be never be a show like it, 24 is an instant classic long live kiefer sutherland
  98. DrewF
    Feb 12, 2006
    8
    If i were rating the show from the beginning, it would definitely be a 10, but i'm rating this on just this current season, so far. To be honest, it hasn't grabbed my attention as much as last season did right from the get-go. Still GREAT television, but th presence of both Tony and Palmer are sorely missed. Hopefully we won't have to wait much longer before Tony comes out If i were rating the show from the beginning, it would definitely be a 10, but i'm rating this on just this current season, so far. To be honest, it hasn't grabbed my attention as much as last season did right from the get-go. Still GREAT television, but th presence of both Tony and Palmer are sorely missed. Hopefully we won't have to wait much longer before Tony comes out of that coma! In the meantime, characters like Edgar and Curtis are picking up the slack admirably, but.. they aren't Tony :P Expand
  99. brandeeg
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    this show is so addicting. i bought all of the seasons and i'm dying for season five to come out.
  100. JACQUEK
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    I am sooo crazy about Jack Bauer! I love him! Jack, if i could have just one wish in this world, it would be to meet you, say hey and hug you. I love the way you perform.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A heart-pounding, mesmerizing adventure unlike anything else up or down the dial.
  2. It's the most thrilling premiere hour of "24" yet.
  3. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    I didn’t know how 24 could top last season, but so far it’s working. And the edge of my seat is already frayed.