• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: DB Woodside, Peter MacNicol, Mary Lynn Rajskub
  • Summary: The sixth season of the Emmy-winnning series finds hero Jack Bauer in far worse shape than we left him last year, thanks to serving 20 months in a Chinese prison. Fortunately, a new terrorist threat arrives to distract him from his troubles. There's also a new President (D.B. Woodside's Wayne Palmer), but look for previous First Couple Gregory Itzin and Jean Smart to return mid-season. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
  • Creator: Joel Surnow, Robert Cochran
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 6 premiere date: Jan 14, 2007
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Unlike most serialized dramas of late... "24" continues to do everything right.
  2. 100
    What's remarkable is that 24 still finds so many ways to surprise us, to take our knowledge of how things are done and turn it against us.
  3. 90
    Far from taking anything away from the pulse-pounding show, thanks to Kiefer Sutherland’s magnetic performance, Bauer’s subtle psychological anguish may be the most interesting surprise of “24’s” new season.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    80
    If all this sounds like "24" has been hijacked by public policy wonks or Shakespeare profs, don't worry. Your show very much remains your show.... It's just that your show got a little smarter.
  5. This remains a superb, positively riveting TV drama, however repetitive the themes and grandly implausible the scenarios.
  6. Season 6 proves that the best part of "24" is its ability to make your pulse race as you sit slack jawed in front of the bastard machine mumbling, "They didn't just do that, did they?"
  7. "24" still maintains some of its trademark intensity, but too often in these first four hours, the show is smack-your-forehead laughable.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 68
  2. Negative: 11 out of 68
  1. Fantasy
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    First time viewer and absolutely loved it. Just intense.
  2. BrandonW
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    The writers began reaching their prime in Season 4. Last season was the best, and so far this season has just been amazing, definitely showcasing why Kiefer is the best actor on television period. Expand
  3. ss
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Best show ever!!!
  4. JPR
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    The most exciting show on television! Every season is a supreme technical achievement in maintaining the tension, always surprising, while always keeping the real-time clock running. Yes it's not realistic most of the time, but there are some very real sketches of scenarios and situations that could happen to some degree. I love Lost as well, but this show continuously delivers and entertains. Jack Bauer is a great conflicted character, with a heart, that kicks ass on a regular basis. It's an easy show to pick at, but fun to watch if you go for the ride. Expand
  5. AndrewS
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    I love watching the twists and turns, of the show, and knowing that this series has no qualms about killing off just about anyone at any time just makes seeing the next episode all the more exciting. My only problem with the show is that some of the situations are laughable, and they really tend to stick out among the "realism". Like for some reason, villains always seem to get their plans off the ground without a problem, and it's usually a very obvious oversight that could have prevented the entire problem. Also, CTU apparently has an infinite supply of SWAT agents, because they're being killed left and right, but there always seems to be more available to support the main characters. Anyway, that aside, the acting is excellent, the story is enjoyable, and the multiple storylines interacting with each other is what makes the show unique and entertaining. Expand
  6. Slotkins
    Jun 28, 2007
    5
    Same ol', same ol'. Yeah, I watched it all, but by the end felt like I'd seen it all before - and just last year. It's just a soap opera with an suitcase nukes. And what did we learn this season? That torture is wrong - if the subject is in the regular cast, otherwise go ahead. I'd like to water-board the creators and see if next season is just another hack-job reshuffle of "previously on 24". Is that all they got? Expand
  7. DiggemtheFrog
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    What I have to say about "24" could fill a book, so for now I'll keep it very general. Let me start by saying that I'm glad to see that I'm not alone in my opinion; at least a handful of other people see this show for the dreck that it is. So why can't the critics? Secondly, the new season isn't looking good so far. The last two seasons, and the first one, each showed at least one flash of brilliance in the terrorists' plots. To give the devil his due, it's not easy to breathe new life into plots as stale as those involving political assassinations, nuclear bombs and nerve gas -- they've all been done to death. But here we are, just five episodes into the sixth season, and already the show's going over its own tracks. This is the third cell of Arab terrorists who've tried to detonate a nuclear bomb on American soil, and the second to succeed. So now what can they do for an encore? They have four more (supposedly), but just watching four more mushroom clouds won't add much to the excitement. Maybe they could try to explode one in an oil field, but that's already been attempted, in "The Soldier" (1982). Or they could shoot one into the upper atmosphere to knock out our electric power grid, but that wouldn't work. And now that they've also done the germ warfare bit, what else is a terrorist to do? I think this series has finally run dry. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.