• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
30 Rock Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The season begins with the cast and crew of TGS with Tracy Jordan being told their show is not connecting with all of America.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Welcome back, 30 Rock. Even in a season of wonderful sitcoms--trend story alert!--you get it done.
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    88
    Next week's episode didn't have me quite as recklessly giddy, but 30 Rock on an off night is still equivalent to the kind of sugar rush you get from eating an entire Nerds Rope.
  3. 80
    30 Rock returns tonight with its best foot forward.
  4. 75
    As funny as this scattershot sitcom can be, the problem remains that show business (and in particular, GE's business) is a topic of limited long-haul mass appeal.
  5. Hilarity is supposed to ensue, but having had some laugh-out-loud experiences already this season with ABC's "Modern Family" and NBC's own "Community," I may just be less disposed to find even an outrageous parody of NBC's troubles amusing.
  6. 63
    Don't get me wrong, there are some good laughs here, but there's also the threat that 30 Rock could easily turn into that thing the writers relentlessly make fun of--TV shows and stars that are too smug, too smart and too out-of-touch for their own good.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    50
    In a time span shorter than a T.G.I. Friday's commercial, we saw a pungent contrast between two sets of cultural values. This was all very funny and more than a bit embarrassing.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    the best sitcom on tv, fast,witty and fun . Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    Tina Fey's sitcom just gets better and better. This season contains more consistent laughs and develops more on the characters. The acting, as always, is top-notch with Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin stealing the show. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    While the show's fourth season was still funnier than 99% of the rest of the comedies on television, it was the first time it suffered from inconsistency and actual unfunny episodes ("Khonani," I'm looking at you). Its highest highs though, namely "Dealbreakers Talk Show #0001," were still the funniest on television. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2011
    8
    Although not as good as a few of the previous seasons, the show is still great. Fantastic guest stars all through the season. Alec Baldwin has some of the finest joke delivery i've ever seen. rivalling even the greats like Steve Carell on the office. Expand
  5. May 26, 2013
    8
    I have been a fan of 30 Rock since the very first season (The season 2 episode 'MILF Island' is possibly the finest half-hour of sit-com ever written) and, despite hearing comments that the show was losing its way, found season 4 just as enjoyable as any other season.

    Season 4 gets into its stride from the very first episode with Liz Lemon being tasked to find a new cast member whilst also dealing with the pressure of shooting the pilot of her own 'Dealbreaker' talk show. As the series progresses we see an increased focus on the love lives of Liz and Jack with the episodes featuring Michael Sheen (Frost/Nixon) being particular favourites of mine.

    As ever the entire cast have the funny moments but the real stars continue to be Tina Fey as Liz Lemon and Alec Baldwin as Jack Donaghy who have one of the funniest relationships in TV history. If you are a fan of shows such as 'My Name is Earl' or 'Peep Show' this is must see comedy.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2011
    7
    Every show has its missteps. The Office had season 6. Seinfeld had that uh, finale. Even Arrested Development started to feel a bit tired by the 3rd season. And now, it's 30 Rock's turn. Don't get me wrong, it still has a lot of laugh out loud moments and is mostly pretty solid, but the show starts to show strains by the latter half. It's not "season 6 of The Office" bad (man, getting through those episodes was... brutal) it gets better by the end (especially when Elizabeth Banks and Matt Damon step into frame, but overall it is a disappointing season. Thankfully the show returned to greatness with its fifth season. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2010
    2
    I am confused as to why people think this show is funny. I watched all of last season because of all the hype it got and because I enjoy the Office and Community. This show is horrible, and I regret wasting a DVR space on it. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  2. Episode Review: 30 Rock Series Finale

    Episode Review: 30 Rock Series Finale Image
    Published: February 1, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's series finale of NBC's long-running Tina Fey/Alec Baldwin comedy.
  3. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.