• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
30 Rock Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Like NBC's new drama "Studio 60," this comedy from SNL alum Tina Fey is set behind the scenes of a network sketch comedy program.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Like the best TV comedies - from "Seinfeld" to "The Mary Tyler Moore Show," and all the way back to "The Jack Benny Program" - "30 Rock" sparkles not just because its central star gets to shine, but because everyone does.
  2. 80
    30 Rock... is pretty darn funny, a bitterly merry comic jihad against corporate stupidity and mendaciousness.
  3. 80
    One of the zaniest - and most savvy - workplace comedies in years.
  4. There's plenty of charisma to go around on 30 Rock, and Fey will go just about anywhere for a laugh. Her absurd, yet almost believable, showbiz send-up is full of them.
  5. Where "Studio 60" takes a scathing and indignant tone toward television, "30 Rock" offers a more sarcastic, less hackles-raised critique. It's also funnier and goofier.
  6. The jokes that hit their target almost make up for the wide misses.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    If "30 Rock's" going to survive, Baldwin's comedic chops will be tugging the lifeline.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 96
  2. Negative: 12 out of 96
  1. PeterF.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    The funniest show on television, bar none.
  2. MikeS.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Tina Fey is absolutely brilliant and this is easily the best sitcom on network TV. In my opinion, it is the best show since Seinfeld!
  3. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    30 Rock is the funniest show around!!! Gosh, never knew how good it was until I sat down and watched the entire first season. With great30 Rock is the funniest show around!!! Gosh, never knew how good it was until I sat down and watched the entire first season. With great humour and some pretty excellent actors, it can grab and keep one's attention for quite a while. I am definitely watching Season 2 as soon as I get the chance!
    Highly recommended!!
    Expand
  4. elliea
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    I wanted to like Studio 60 but honestly couldn't make it through the first episode, it was so self-important. Ugh. I watched 30 Rock I wanted to like Studio 60 but honestly couldn't make it through the first episode, it was so self-important. Ugh. I watched 30 Rock online twice, laughing at stuff I didn't catch the first time. It's funny! Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Now this season is a tricky one. It takes a whiiiilee to get going, to find what it does best (the Jack, Liz relationship), but when it does,Now this season is a tricky one. It takes a whiiiilee to get going, to find what it does best (the Jack, Liz relationship), but when it does, hilarity ensues, of course. This season of 30 Rock is probably the one I'm least fond of, that doesn't mean its bad, because it really, really isn't. I just enjoy the Jack and Liz dynamic of the following seasons more. Expand
  6. PatrickD
    Feb 19, 2008
    7
    30 Rock is a good solid comedy although I think it apes Arrested Development in many ways, it does not detract from my enjoyment. I think if 30 Rock is a good solid comedy although I think it apes Arrested Development in many ways, it does not detract from my enjoyment. I think if youre 30 something and younger you will probably like it more than older viewers. Expand
  7. James
    Oct 12, 2006
    0
    Terrible. Just awful. I don't understand for a second what all the fuss is about. I laughed more at Studio 60 than I did at this. It Terrible. Just awful. I don't understand for a second what all the fuss is about. I laughed more at Studio 60 than I did at this. It feels like a really long, really unfunny SNL sketch. To compare this show to The Office is simply an insult to the hard working (and FUNNY) people on that show. Truly and utterly disappointing. Expand

See all 96 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  2. Episode Review: 30 Rock Series Finale

    Episode Review: 30 Rock Series Finale Image
    Published: February 1, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's series finale of NBC's long-running Tina Fey/Alec Baldwin comedy.
  3. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.