• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
30 Rock Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Alec Baldwin, Jane Krakowski, Tracy Morgan
  • Summary: Like NBC's new drama "Studio 60," this comedy from SNL alum Tina Fey is set behind the scenes of a network sketch comedy program.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Like the best TV comedies - from "Seinfeld" to "The Mary Tyler Moore Show," and all the way back to "The Jack Benny Program" - "30 Rock" sparkles not just because its central star gets to shine, but because everyone does.
  2. The standard caution is relevant -- debut episodes tend to be highly polished. All the more reason to enjoy the hilarious scenes and fine ensemble cast here.
  3. 80
    A weirdly appropriate and hilarious symbol of our times.
  4. Arguably the best comedy this fall.
  5. There's plenty of charisma to go around on 30 Rock, and Fey will go just about anywhere for a laugh. Her absurd, yet almost believable, showbiz send-up is full of them.
  6. Nothing very funny happens on “30 Rock” until Alec Baldwin enters the room, and suddenly this new NBC sitcom comes alive.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    If "30 Rock's" going to survive, Baldwin's comedic chops will be tugging the lifeline.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 93
  2. Negative: 12 out of 93
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    One of the most fantastic shows on television. Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin are fantastic leads, and are backed by an extremely funny supporting cast. The show has pretty goofy humor, but the writing is spot on. The show also gets stronger as it goes on. Don't watch less than the first 4-5 episodes or you will not get the full experience of the show. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    Practically the funniest show on tv. The mishaps of Miss Lemon is just down right hilarious!
    So sad it's ended. God good Lemon, i hope
    another show starts just like this! Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    One of the funniest shows on television I've ever seen. It's insanely addictive and hilarious. Highly recommended. Tina Fey's writing is great, as well as her comedic timing. Every character is likable and at one point or other, funny. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Holy crap do I love this show. The comedy is right up my alley. Alec Baldwin is a huge standout, though I can't get enough of Tina Fey. Lots of strongly-defined recurring characters that shine when they get their on-screen time. I have no idea if there are still new episodes being made...but I kinda hope so, even if the show has had a good run. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    This one found and held its groove for quite awhile, and ended on a good note. I would get a solid laugh generally every episode and it has rewatchability because some of the humor is very complex and witty. One of the top sitcoms I've seen. Expand
  6. May 28, 2011
    8
    Alec Baldwin, Tina Fey and Tracy Morgan are three different types of humor that mesh well together. I don't understand how this has low ratings and shows like "How I met your mother" or "The Big Bang Theory" or "Two and a Half Men" have good ratings. This feels like Arrested Development - in that it's just too goddam funny for the average douchebag. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2012
    0
    I have not watch 30Rock since they attempted to make a joke out of the Kent State shooting. I was there it was not funny, not funny at all. Very disappointed in the writing from Tina. Alex was never funny, just a self center person. Expand

See all 93 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  2. Episode Review: 30 Rock Series Finale

    Episode Review: 30 Rock Series Finale Image
    Published: February 1, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's series finale of NBC's long-running Tina Fey/Alec Baldwin comedy.
  3. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.