• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2012
  • Season #: 1
666 Park Avenue Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Henry Martin (Dave Annable) and Jane Van Veen (Rachael Taylor), a young couple from the Midwest, are offered the job as co-managers of The Drake, an historic Manhattan apartment building owned by Gavin Doran (Terry O'Quinn).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 26, 2012
    83
    [A] stylish Gothic thriller that almost gives away a little too much Sunday. Otherwise, thumbs up.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 1, 2012
    80
    Crisply written and acted, grafting some Enron-era scandal onto a morality tale that goes back to Faust, 666 Park Avenue gives good goosebump.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 28, 2012
    75
    666 Park Avenue remains good Gothic Trash. [26 Nov 2012, p.44]
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2012
    60
    The cast is certainly strong...[however] the formula could become awfully repetitive if the primary characters' story is augmented each week by a "B" plot regarding another resident, which is what transpires in the pilot, and doesn't prove particularly compelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Maysa Hattab
    Oct 1, 2012
    50
    All that said, 666 Park Avenue is diverting enough, if hardly original.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 28, 2012
    50
    666 Park Avenue [is] ABC's not-scary rip-off of "Rosemary's Baby."
  7. Reviewed by: Daniel Goldberg
    Sep 28, 2012
    38
    The clash of myriad supernatural powers and symbols isn't willfully dissonant or postmodern. Instead it feels vague and occasionally lazy.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    This show is by far the best new show of the year. Something of a cross between American Horror Story and **** Presents. While some may call it slow paced I find its pacing to be extremely suspenseful. If you a looking for a horror this won't be for you, but this show's dark suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat. Collapse
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Just watched the pilot and I really think this show has lots of potential and I like it very much. It's supernatural meets ugly betty. I was very impressed and would like to see more. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    I didn't expect much from this series but after watching the first three episodes, I actually found myself enjoying it quite a lot. Its not so dynamic and fast paced as some other supernatural TV shows and I would hardly call it scary, but the psychological aspect is actually quite good. Of course, if you really like to be scared and want to see some real monsters action, you will be bored and should probably look elsewhere. Me personally, however, have been really content with with this series. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    This show could have been what Alcatraz almost was; but instead, it was just another soap opera wrapped in a horror/thriller/mystery wrapper. The characters are flat and predictable, so much so that I ended up calling the main character just 'blond whiner' because I couldn't remember her name. The only redeeming quality was Terry O'Quinn's character, and he was grossly under used.

    Not a great one.
    Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    3
    The show is intriguing although is almost frustrating as the viewer is left at the end of the episode unsure of what is happening and whether the freak occurrences are a result of supernatural behavior, magic or some kind of science. It doesn't entice the viewer and the show may be better if all the weird stuff was taken out of it. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2012
    3
    Maybe it's because I don't like horror movies that much. If you do like them, you may well like this show. My reaction is pretty much ho-hum, just another horror production albeit with a few interesting variations. I didn't find it interesting. It seems to be well made and well acted but it doesn't excite me enough to watch it. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2012
    1
    What a tragedy! No seriously, it's a tragedy. No good overcomes evil on this show, folks. The bad guy pulls the strings and everyone suffers without any relief. Why would I watch that? Yeah, the cast is super sexy, but aside from eye candy, this show doesn't offer much. The characters are simple; the dialogue is simple; the story is simple. The viewer isn't only left feeling hopeless, but bored and hopeless. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: 666 Park Avenue (ABC)

    Fall TV Second Look: 666 Park Avenue (ABC) Image
    Published: October 29, 2012
    ABC's Sunday night drama debuted with a pilot mostly lacking in chills and thrills. Has the series scared up some better episodes over the past month? Find out what critics think after five weeks of "666."