• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2011
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    There's no question that A Gifted Man is the network's best, most creatively successful effort in the past five years.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    Fifteen minutes into A Gifted Man, the performance of Patrick Wilson, Jennifer Ehle and Margo Martindale had completely won me over, and of all the pilots I've screened for fall, this is the one I most want to see more of.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    I want to be [hooked], because the actors are so charismatic. Remember Ehle with Colin Firth in PBS's 1995 "Pride & Prejudice"? But the New Agey ghost-as-conscience thing--done better with so much crazy verve in the hallucinatory "Eli Stone"--is strained by the end of the first episode
  4. Reviewed by: Liz Kelly Nelson
    Sep 26, 2011
    70
    The viewer are asked to digest a lot, but we're willing to bear with it and see if the subsequent episodes can strike the same supernatural-but-not-super-goofy note, retain the production values and keep us interested.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Sep 23, 2011
    70
    The general integrity of the first episode offers some hope that it won't become a Procedure of the Week melodrama.
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Sep 23, 2011
    70
    Another preposterous television premise perhaps, but one that may be comforting to viewers looking for gentle escape with dash of uplift and hope.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 22, 2011
    70
    The writers of the series have left themselves plenty of possibilities to explore, and Mr. Wilson seems more than capable of carrying the show anyplace they choose to take it.
  8. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Sep 22, 2011
    70
    A Gifted Man is solid enough, in fact, to make you forget it's a ghost story.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 21, 2011
    70
    A Gifted Man is certainly earnest, in a "Marcus Welby, M.D." kind of way. Post-sale tinkering also improved the pilot, with Anna becoming Holt's conscience in a way that better explains her presence, while extracting some humor from their only-he-sees-her encounters.
  10. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    67
    The earnestness comes in pretty strong doses, but it might be good for what ails you.
  11. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    Thanks to all the talent, what could have been an incredibly hokey Ghost Whisperer retread has much more moody potential.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    Maybe this should have been called Asperger Man. In a nutshell: wife had the heart of gold and empathy role, hubby honed brilliance. He is soMaybe this should have been called Asperger Man. In a nutshell: wife had the heart of gold and empathy role, hubby honed brilliance. He is so brilliant that other doctors become fumblingly incompetent in his presence. When you see him in action at the free clinic, the other doctors don't seem to be able to handle basic first aid or triage. How did they ever function without him? The episode I just watched (my last!), he finally found a supermodel/doctor with a heart of gold to run the clinic (thank God! what if someone ugly or over 30 had come along?) So now viewers can watch as Asperger dude takes 2 or 3 seasons before someone tells him that new doc is hot and he should go for it. She of course, will pine away in that cute, sassy, rescueing lives kind of way these show are so fond of. It will be painful viewing, I'm sure. Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    4
    A great medical drama, it's too bad it got canceled. I want something new though, A Gifted Man is the traditional medical drama, there areA great medical drama, it's too bad it got canceled. I want something new though, A Gifted Man is the traditional medical drama, there are patients, they come in, they get treated. I want a redefining medical drama. This just isn't it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Love, Love, Love this show! Please more seasons!!!! Patrick Wilson is a great fit and supporting cast has great chemistry. 16 shows went byLove, Love, Love this show! Please more seasons!!!! Patrick Wilson is a great fit and supporting cast has great chemistry. 16 shows went by in a flash! Full Review »