• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    67
    The earnestness comes in pretty strong doses, but it might be good for what ails you.
  2. Reviewed by: Liz Kelly Nelson
    Sep 26, 2011
    70
    The viewer are asked to digest a lot, but we're willing to bear with it and see if the subsequent episodes can strike the same supernatural-but-not-super-goofy note, retain the production values and keep us interested.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 26, 2011
    40
    The problem is not the supernatural, it's the sanctimony.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 26, 2011
    40
    OK, OK, A Gifted Man, is not as bad as all that [Friendly-ghost mothers-in-law? Friendly-ghost proctologists? Friendly-ghost telephone solicitors?]. But it's not good, either.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    It's all a bit edgier than you might imagine, and I'll be giving this another look--though it's probably not going to keep me home on Fridays.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 23, 2011
    25
    It's painful watching an actor as skilled as Wilson trying to force-feed credibility to a horrifically unbelievable moment and sadly failing. Things only get worse from here on.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 23, 2011
    60
    It's a show that wants to say something. Now it needs viewers who want to listen.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Sep 23, 2011
    70
    The general integrity of the first episode offers some hope that it won't become a Procedure of the Week melodrama.
  9. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Sep 23, 2011
    70
    Another preposterous television premise perhaps, but one that may be comforting to viewers looking for gentle escape with dash of uplift and hope.
  10. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 23, 2011
    60
    Yes, it sounds insane (you can't have ghosts on CBS who don't help solve crimes) and like many of this season's pilots, it left me wondering how the show's premise could be sustained for more than a few episodes, much less multiple seasons. But it's an awfully pretty pilot.
  11. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 23, 2011
    50
    How about less ghost, more Margo? That might help A Gifted Man become better than very average.
  12. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 22, 2011
    63
    Thanks to all the talent, what could have been an incredibly hokey Ghost Whisperer retread has much more moody potential.
  13. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 22, 2011
    58
    A Gifted Man won't kill any brain cells if you want to give it a try. But it's not all there yet with an unwieldy mix that also includes two life-threatening cases, a few scenes with Michael's frazzled sister, Christina (Julie Benz) and her problematic teen son and an attempted exorcism of sorts by a mystic named Anton (Pablo Schreiber).
  14. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 22, 2011
    70
    The writers of the series have left themselves plenty of possibilities to explore, and Mr. Wilson seems more than capable of carrying the show anyplace they choose to take it.
  15. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Sep 22, 2011
    70
    A Gifted Man is solid enough, in fact, to make you forget it's a ghost story.
  16. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    There's no question that A Gifted Man is the network's best, most creatively successful effort in the past five years.
  17. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    Fifteen minutes into A Gifted Man, the performance of Patrick Wilson, Jennifer Ehle and Margo Martindale had completely won me over, and of all the pilots I've screened for fall, this is the one I most want to see more of.
  18. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 21, 2011
    70
    A Gifted Man is certainly earnest, in a "Marcus Welby, M.D." kind of way. Post-sale tinkering also improved the pilot, with Anna becoming Holt's conscience in a way that better explains her presence, while extracting some humor from their only-he-sees-her encounters.
  19. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    I want to be [hooked], because the actors are so charismatic. Remember Ehle with Colin Firth in PBS's 1995 "Pride & Prejudice"? But the New Agey ghost-as-conscience thing--done better with so much crazy verve in the hallucinatory "Eli Stone"--is strained by the end of the first episode
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    Maybe this should have been called Asperger Man. In a nutshell: wife had the heart of gold and empathy role, hubby honed brilliance. He is soMaybe this should have been called Asperger Man. In a nutshell: wife had the heart of gold and empathy role, hubby honed brilliance. He is so brilliant that other doctors become fumblingly incompetent in his presence. When you see him in action at the free clinic, the other doctors don't seem to be able to handle basic first aid or triage. How did they ever function without him? The episode I just watched (my last!), he finally found a supermodel/doctor with a heart of gold to run the clinic (thank God! what if someone ugly or over 30 had come along?) So now viewers can watch as Asperger dude takes 2 or 3 seasons before someone tells him that new doc is hot and he should go for it. She of course, will pine away in that cute, sassy, rescueing lives kind of way these show are so fond of. It will be painful viewing, I'm sure. Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    4
    A great medical drama, it's too bad it got canceled. I want something new though, A Gifted Man is the traditional medical drama, there areA great medical drama, it's too bad it got canceled. I want something new though, A Gifted Man is the traditional medical drama, there are patients, they come in, they get treated. I want a redefining medical drama. This just isn't it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Love, Love, Love this show! Please more seasons!!!! Patrick Wilson is a great fit and supporting cast has great chemistry. 16 shows went byLove, Love, Love this show! Please more seasons!!!! Patrick Wilson is a great fit and supporting cast has great chemistry. 16 shows went by in a flash! Full Review »