• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1
A Gifted Man  Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Michael Holt (Patrick Wilson), a high-priced surgeon, is visited by the ghost of his ex-wife Anna (Jenifer Ehle), who leads him to a free clinic where he learns what life and death really means.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    There's no question that A Gifted Man is the network's best, most creatively successful effort in the past five years.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    I want to be [hooked], because the actors are so charismatic. Remember Ehle with Colin Firth in PBS's 1995 "Pride & Prejudice"? But the New Agey ghost-as-conscience thing--done better with so much crazy verve in the hallucinatory "Eli Stone"--is strained by the end of the first episode
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Sep 23, 2011
    70
    The general integrity of the first episode offers some hope that it won't become a Procedure of the Week melodrama.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    67
    The earnestness comes in pretty strong doses, but it might be good for what ails you.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    It's all a bit edgier than you might imagine, and I'll be giving this another look--though it's probably not going to keep me home on Fridays.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 23, 2011
    60
    Yes, it sounds insane (you can't have ghosts on CBS who don't help solve crimes) and like many of this season's pilots, it left me wondering how the show's premise could be sustained for more than a few episodes, much less multiple seasons. But it's an awfully pretty pilot.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 23, 2011
    25
    It's painful watching an actor as skilled as Wilson trying to force-feed credibility to a horrifically unbelievable moment and sadly failing. Things only get worse from here on.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Gripping show with A+ acting. Very high quality filming that is so easy to watch. The stories draw the viewer in, the characters are totally believable, and the end of the episode leaves you wanting more. I hope this wonderful show will find its audience and that CBS will keep it around. There aren't many high quality dramas on TV anymore. Love, love, love this show! Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This is one of those medical shows which actually have more to it. It touches up on ghosts which create a bit of fantasy. It's great that way it great not to have it all be so technical all the time. It's going to be a real shame if there isn't a season 2. Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Love, Love, Love this show! Please more seasons!!!! Patrick Wilson is a great fit and supporting cast has great chemistry. 16 shows went by in a flash! Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    Maybe this should have been called Asperger Man. In a nutshell: wife had the heart of gold and empathy role, hubby honed brilliance. He is so brilliant that other doctors become fumblingly incompetent in his presence. When you see him in action at the free clinic, the other doctors don't seem to be able to handle basic first aid or triage. How did they ever function without him? The episode I just watched (my last!), he finally found a supermodel/doctor with a heart of gold to run the clinic (thank God! what if someone ugly or over 30 had come along?) So now viewers can watch as Asperger dude takes 2 or 3 seasons before someone tells him that new doc is hot and he should go for it. She of course, will pine away in that cute, sassy, rescueing lives kind of way these show are so fond of. It will be painful viewing, I'm sure. Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2013
    4
    A great medical drama, it's too bad it got canceled. I want something new though, A Gifted Man is the traditional medical drama, there are patients, they come in, they get treated. I want a redefining medical drama. This just isn't it. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2011
    4
    I'm surprised this show ever made it to air. The storylines are predictable, the lead is wooden and the last thing I want on a Friday night is to have some sanctimonious message shoved down my throat. Can't see it lasting long. Collapse
  7. Jan 19, 2012
    1
    OMG, I cannot believe that some folks actually pay this show a compliment. Last Friday night due to the fact that there just was'nt anything else on,my wife and I gave it a shot. I could'nt take it--oh sacrificing,oh so corning and adolecsant in human emotion. The truth me told it was so bad and because there was nothing else to escape to--maybe a 25th rerun of the Kardashians Terrorize New York? I simply wasted my Friday night by going to bed. The immaturity of the adolecsant type emotion reminds me very much of that other wounded spectacle "NCIS Los Angeles" oh, the heart warming moments and self sacrifice of the all too shallow characters. I just cannot believe what the networks are putting out on the aire nowadays. Is anybody watching? Expand

See all 12 User Reviews