A Young Doctor's Notebook : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 2, 2013
    80
    The show may be for niche tastes, but it doesn't overstay its welcome and it manages to go to some demented and surprisingly emotionally places. And then it's done.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 2, 2013
    80
    It’s polished, manic, funny and a bit thin; visually, it’s like a toned-down version of the comic-book expressionism of Terry Gilliam.... The two actors are wonderful in their scenes together.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 2, 2013
    88
    Believe it or not, that stomach-turning gore is part of this four-part gem's charm. A Young Doctor's Notebook gets the balance between tragedy and comedy just right.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 2, 2013
    70
    The tone may veer a bit wildly from grim to hilarious for an American audience's taste, but once Hamm and Radcliffe settle into their roles (and Hamm into his accent), it could very well live up to its U.K. rep and provide Ovation with some skin in the game.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 2, 2013
    80
    The scenes in which the older and younger versions interact, with Hamm counseling and cajoling the panicked and miserable Radcliffe as a Ghost of Torment to Come, crackle with a surreal bite.... Not for the squeamish, Notebook is worth bookmarking if you've an adventurous streak.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    I have only watched the first episode and it is already very, very promising. The mix of comedy and drama is irresistible. We are actuallyI have only watched the first episode and it is already very, very promising. The mix of comedy and drama is irresistible. We are actually lookin' at how great an actor both leads are. Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2015
    10
    My two favorite actors in one show: just fabulous! I loved John Hamm in Mad Men and Daniel Radcliffe in Harry Potter, so this was just theMy two favorite actors in one show: just fabulous! I loved John Hamm in Mad Men and Daniel Radcliffe in Harry Potter, so this was just the icing on the cake! Love, love, love! Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2015
    9
    This is a great adaptation of Bulgakov's short stories. Every minute is hilarious and full of dark humor. Daniel Radcliff is perfect as theThis is a great adaptation of Bulgakov's short stories. Every minute is hilarious and full of dark humor. Daniel Radcliff is perfect as the young doctor, his performance is superb in this TV series. Full Review »