Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 4, 2013
    100
    Africa convincingly, emphatically, establishes that you ain't seen nothing yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 4, 2013
    100
    Discovery's Africa is yet another marvel of high-definition photography. [14 Jan 2013, p.56]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 8, 2013
    80
    People eat this stuff up, and a skeptic can find himself riveted by the best of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 8, 2013
    80
    A treat for armchair travelers.
  5. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Jan 4, 2013
    80
    The filmmakers at times push too hard for a sense of freshness and drama. But at its best, the seven-part series is a breathtaking chronicle of species both familiar and rare, some of them engaging in stranger-than-fiction behavior in otherworldly landscapes.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 8, 2013
    70
    Africa feels somewhat victimized by having been there and seen that. Still impressive in moments, based on the premiere, it appears to be less memorable than some of this collaboration's recent nature projects.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    As you would expect Africa is stunningly photographed with an epic sweep of the country in all its beauty and cruelty. In the first episode the sight of two male Giraffes fighting was truly amazing. An entertaining and educational delight. Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    For me the best wildlife documentary I've seen so far, everything is successful in this series, narration, special effects, the sequences filmed it's just outstanding, great show Full Review »
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    I am a big fan of nature documentaries and of Attenborough in particular (though I gather Forest Whitaker narrated the US version) and I did enjoy this. The images were outstanding, with the giraffe battle being a highlight. That said, personally, I felt as if there was not quite enough information, not quite enough detail. Everytime they cut to a scene, they left after the action without a full explanation. It was as if the spectacle was enough. And I imagine it was for many but I left still wanting to know more. Full Review »