• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2001
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Mar 15, 2013
    10
    At first glance, Alias appears to be unadulterated garbage. But then you start noticing all the adulterations...Nothing is as it seems except for the fact that this seems like a lousy show and it is one. [29 Sept 2001, p.C01]
  2. Reviewed by: Adam Buckman
    Mar 15, 2013
    0
    For me, the problem really is casting. Next time one of these shows gets developed, I hope producers will resist the temptation to cast one of these skinny little pouty actresses in these commando-type roles.
  3. Reviewed by: Preston Turegano
    Mar 15, 2013
    37
    Often violent and brutal (Sydney packs one mean karate kick and knows how to use a dentist's pliers effectively), Alias is a jumbled, cliche-ladened offering. Not only is it laced with hip, mellow, contemporary songs a la "Felicity," it also has guitar chords reminiscent of the James Bond 007 theme, and a musical segment inspired by the theme to "Shaft." [30 Sept 2001, p.TV-6]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    Alias seems to not have received enough credit. It is continuously captivating, though I will not make the claim that its consistent. It onAlias seems to not have received enough credit. It is continuously captivating, though I will not make the claim that its consistent. It on the contrary, continuously has these crazy twists (that are sometimes ridiculous) and after 5 seasons of running after the same guy you never really come to care about, I can understand the complaints people have; however, I think the show has gripping individual stories and is still able to preserve so much mystery, suspense and drama in every episode. Spy shows claiming to be more "realistic" have come out since Alias last aired, but this "spy-fi" show stands its own ground rather well. Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2013
    5
    Convoluted plot that makes the story progression ridiculous to follow and prevents any real depth or structure to most of the characters.Convoluted plot that makes the story progression ridiculous to follow and prevents any real depth or structure to most of the characters.

    But the camera work is good, the action scenes are effective and fun, and the dialogues are not bad.

    So if you like spies, double spies, triple spies and have an extremly disfunctional family, maybe you can relate to this show.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    "Alias" is one of my favorite shows. Spy shows are usually a dime a dozen, but the difference with "Alias" is that 1) each episode ends with"Alias" is one of my favorite shows. Spy shows are usually a dime a dozen, but the difference with "Alias" is that 1) each episode ends with a cliff-hanger, 2) is features consistently sharp writing, and 3) the characters are always relatable. Sure, there might be a bit too much action once in a while, but the show in always thrilling and dependable. The cast gives great performances and Jennifer Garner as the beautiful protagonist is perfect. Full Review »