• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    The first two seasons of Alias were a nonstop, jaw-breaking thrill ride. The acting on this show was superb with numerous emmy nominations. Jennifer Garner, Victor Garber, Ron Rifkin, Lena Olin, and Bradley Cooper was terrific. Steven Spielberg and Quentin Tarantino were big fans of the show. Steven requested Jennifer Garner to make a cameo in his film Catch Me If You Can and even didThe first two seasons of Alias were a nonstop, jaw-breaking thrill ride. The acting on this show was superb with numerous emmy nominations. Jennifer Garner, Victor Garber, Ron Rifkin, Lena Olin, and Bradley Cooper was terrific. Steven Spielberg and Quentin Tarantino were big fans of the show. Steven requested Jennifer Garner to make a cameo in his film Catch Me If You Can and even did commentary for the series dvd boxset. Quentin, on the other hand, guest star in two awesome episodes in season one and one in season three.

    However, Alias went downhill after season two due to various reasons. J.J. Abrams left the show to work on Lost and MI:3. Ratings forced the producers to dumb down the show. Lena Olin and Bradley Cooper did not return after season two. Garner got pregnant which eventually ended the show. And not unlike Lost, the mythology just got out of hand---too the point not only did it confused the fans but also the writers and producers. Watch the first two and a half seasons and skip to the series finale. The cliffhangers for season one and two will leave you on the edge of your seat. Season 1: 10
    Season 2:10
    Season 3: 7
    Season 4: 6
    Season 5: 6
    Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This show is awesome! The entire season is like a roller coaster ride that will leave you on the edge of your seat. The twist and turns will leave you in awe. The acting is superb from Jennifer Garner to Bradley Cooper. The Bradley Cooper storyline was amazing. I knew he was going to be a star one day from this season alone. This show is light-hearted version of 24 with more drama and sexyThis show is awesome! The entire season is like a roller coaster ride that will leave you on the edge of your seat. The twist and turns will leave you in awe. The acting is superb from Jennifer Garner to Bradley Cooper. The Bradley Cooper storyline was amazing. I knew he was going to be a star one day from this season alone. This show is light-hearted version of 24 with more drama and sexy costumes. The pilot episode is arguably the greatest pilot episode ever---well may be only J.J. Abrams' other hit show Lost is better. Expand
  3. May 20, 2013
    5
    Convoluted plot that makes the story progression ridiculous to follow and prevents any real depth or structure to most of the characters.

    But the camera work is good, the action scenes are effective and fun, and the dialogues are not bad.

    So if you like spies, double spies, triple spies and have an extremly disfunctional family, maybe you can relate to this show.
  4. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    "Alias" is one of my favorite shows. Spy shows are usually a dime a dozen, but the difference with "Alias" is that 1) each episode ends with a cliff-hanger, 2) is features consistently sharp writing, and 3) the characters are always relatable. Sure, there might be a bit too much action once in a while, but the show in always thrilling and dependable. The cast gives great performances"Alias" is one of my favorite shows. Spy shows are usually a dime a dozen, but the difference with "Alias" is that 1) each episode ends with a cliff-hanger, 2) is features consistently sharp writing, and 3) the characters are always relatable. Sure, there might be a bit too much action once in a while, but the show in always thrilling and dependable. The cast gives great performances and Jennifer Garner as the beautiful protagonist is perfect. Collapse
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    Alias seems to not have received enough credit. It is continuously captivating, though I will not make the claim that its consistent. It on the contrary, continuously has these crazy twists (that are sometimes ridiculous) and after 5 seasons of running after the same guy you never really come to care about, I can understand the complaints people have; however, I think the show has grippingAlias seems to not have received enough credit. It is continuously captivating, though I will not make the claim that its consistent. It on the contrary, continuously has these crazy twists (that are sometimes ridiculous) and after 5 seasons of running after the same guy you never really come to care about, I can understand the complaints people have; however, I think the show has gripping individual stories and is still able to preserve so much mystery, suspense and drama in every episode. Spy shows claiming to be more "realistic" have come out since Alias last aired, but this "spy-fi" show stands its own ground rather well. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    80
    An improbable, heart-pounding and-tugging mix of fantastical '60s spy chic and emotionally realistic drama ... Ridiculous, over the top but unashamed, it manages to thrill and win our hearts.
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    75
    Garner has an appeal that transcends implausibility.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 14, 2013
    100
    The whole show is complicated in a fun, brain-teasing way, and having seen the second episode, I can say it only gets funner. I know that's not a word, but I'm saying it anyway.