• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 13, 2011
  • Season #: 1
All-American Muslim Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reality series focuses on the lives of five Muslim-American families in Dearborn, Michigan.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    If these all sound like the same kinds of dramas that would go on in any American community anywhere, they are. That's the point.
  2. Reviewed by: David Knowles
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    You come away from the show having broadened your understanding for a sector of, yes, American life that you may not have had much contact with before. By the standards of the genre, that's about as good as it gets.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    It feels fairly honest, and more interesting and relevant than most.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 14, 2011
    70
    All-American Muslim [may be] a bit dull for viewers conditioned to expect ginned-up drama but given the potential sensitivities of the subject matter, it seems appropriate.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 11, 2011
    67
    Like a lot of reality shows ranging from the silly "Real World" to the loathsome "Jersey Shore," All-American Muslim ends up reinforcing some stereotypes while defying others.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Nov 10, 2011
    63
    If you're a fan of "Russian Dolls," you may enjoy taking a walk on the not-wild side with these all-American Muslims.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Nov 10, 2011
    50
    All those profiled are on their best behavior, and the show is so focused on teaching that it goes for long stretches without entertaining.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    AS a Muslim myself I was very excited about this show but after the first episode I am now very disappointed that this is what these people are advertising as Islam. Guy took shahada one day and next day he is married? did anyone give him Dawa? or taught him how to pray. This show will teach our children how to do haram things. show real Islam. Not only arabs are muslims, TLC want a hit show about muslims in America? This is not it this is MUSLIMS GONE WILD! I am proud to be American and Muslim but I will not compromise my religion. We need to showcase Islam as the prophet would like to see it. Charity work, Dawa ect. This family want to show white America how American they are and not thinking of our muslim children or new converts. THIS IS NOT A GOOD REPRESENTATION OF ISLAM AND I'M SORRY BUT THEIR PARENTS SHOULD BE ASHAMED. ASTAGFARALLAH!!!!!! Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2011
    2
    I was initially interested to see what the show might be like, because I thought that my own knowledge of Islam was somewhat lacking. However, even with my poor knowledge of Muslims, I know that this is NOT what normal Muslims are like, and the actions taken by some of the characters in this series feel exaggerated. Maybe it's just the TLC pedigree, but nothing about this show feels genuine to me. It feels more like a Muslim instructional video than an actual reality series, if the term "reality" even denotes anything real anymore. I walked away from All-American Muslim feeling frustrated and even a bit embarrassed. And if a Protestant Christian is getting embarrassed by the misrepresentation of Muslims, you know that your series has failed to do its intended purpose. Collapse
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Dumb show. Contrived...not real at all. Don't waste your time on this..watch sponge bob instead...it's more real than All-American Muslim. I think TLC is hoping to create ratings through controversy. Pitiful. Expand