Allen Gregory : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 30, 2011
Allen Gregory Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The animated comedy created by Jonah Hill, Andrew Mogel, and Jarred Paul focuses on the seven-year-old title character voiced by Hill.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 26, 2011
    75
    The absurdity of an omniscient sophisticate still in short pants carries plenty of comedic potential.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 27, 2011
    58
    So pleased with itself, it doesn't seem concerned about pleasing us.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 28, 2011
    50
    I love the way Allen Gregory talks down to every adult he encounters, as if they're members of a lower species. But the world built around that core of satire is a lot less promising.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 27, 2011
    40
    Maybe as an animated sketch on "Saturday Night Live," Allen Gregory would leave viewers eager for more. But in half-hour form, it's too much of the same.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 27, 2011
    40
    Perhaps Allen Gregory's arrogance is meant to be entertaining, but I just found it mostly insufferable, despite his occasional flashes of self-awareness.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 31, 2011
    30
    With no other likable characters and a thin premise, Allen Gregory seems as one-dimensional as the animation.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Allen Gregory is not funny--not even a little bit--and it is not remotely entertaining.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 27
  2. Negative: 15 out of 27
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    If you're used to the humor of the Simpsons and Family Guy, you may not like this show. The show is smart, a little too smart but it is funny,If you're used to the humor of the Simpsons and Family Guy, you may not like this show. The show is smart, a little too smart but it is funny, has great quick-witted writing, and excellent storytelling. I think its problem was that it went over peoples heads. People didn't want it to succeed, the masses want to only see Seth MacFarlane creations and played out Simpsons humor. RIP Allen Gregory, hopefully Adult Swim picks you up and lets you grow. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I like this show enough to sign up to review it. I see the humor in it. I cannot understand how so many people find it unbearable andI like this show enough to sign up to review it. I see the humor in it. I cannot understand how so many people find it unbearable and unfunny. It is baffling that people are so critical after 2/3 episodes. Expand
  3. May 29, 2012
    7
    Allen Gregory Is A Solidly Good Show And Is Smart!
    I Think What Killed This Show The Voice Acting..
    Not My Favorite But Better Than Sit Down
    Allen Gregory Is A Solidly Good Show And Is Smart!
    I Think What Killed This Show The Voice Acting..
    Not My Favorite But Better Than Sit Down Shut Up..
    Collapse
  4. Dec 23, 2012
    2
    The whole thing is a horrible mixture of extreme obnoxious behavior. The main character isn't likable. Not even funny, and story lines areThe whole thing is a horrible mixture of extreme obnoxious behavior. The main character isn't likable. Not even funny, and story lines are AWFUL. Whatever look the show was going for, it missed completely. Except if it was supposed to be bad. Well, they succeeded. The only reason it gets a 2 is because 1) Believe it or not, it is not "THE" worst. 2) It doesn't deserve a 0, (poor) effort was put into it. 3) I laughed once. Just once. Comedy is supposed to be funny. What the hell is this???? Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2011
    1
    This Was Vey Bad... I Hated The Voices.. Had One Little Cheap Laugh.. Honestly I Can't See This Lasting More Than 2 Seasons.... I ThoughtThis Was Vey Bad... I Hated The Voices.. Had One Little Cheap Laugh.. Honestly I Can't See This Lasting More Than 2 Seasons.... I Thought Bob's Burgers Was Ok.... Right Now Bob's Bugers Looks Like God To Allen Gregory...
    Sorry To Say I Hated It... I Wont Even Watch It One More Time..
    Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    1
    What the heck is this???????? It's obviously not a comedy............................................................................What the heck is this???????? It's obviously not a comedy............................................................................ Really Bad Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2011
    0
    This **** gave me cancer. Not even kidding. The main character is an arrogant **** with a creepy fetish for his 60-something year oldThis **** gave me cancer. Not even kidding. The main character is an arrogant **** with a creepy fetish for his 60-something year old principal. The degree of **** that Jeremy and Julie (2 of the main family, and literally the only likeable characters in the show) put up with makes the **** Meg Griffin puts up with look like child's play. I don't know who decided to green light this show for production, but he needs to lose his job. Like, immediately. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers