• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Almost Human Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The creative team behind Fringe (including producer J.J. Abrams and creator J.H. Wyman) returns with a new sci-fi crime drama set in the year 2048, when every Los Angeles police officer is paired with a robot partner. Karl Urban (Star Trek), Michael Ealy (Common Law), Lili Taylor (Six Feet Under), Minka Kelly (Friday Night Lights), Mackenzie Crook (The Office), and Michael Irby (The Unit) star. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 15, 2013
    88
    This late entry in the fall season is one of the best. [25 Nov 2013, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    80
    Beyond profundities laced with humor, the action drama from J.J. Abrams, created by “Fringe’s” J.H. Wyman and starring Karl Urban and Michael Ealy, is a visual feast.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Nov 15, 2013
    80
    While its premise isn’t new--anyone remember “Total Recall 2070” or “Mann and Machine”?--the show’s ambition, solid cast and pure production values make it a worthwhile diversion.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 14, 2013
    63
    If you can look past a few disquieting flaws and get past that odd feeling that you've seen it all before, you'll find the bones of a potentially entertaining series in Almost Human.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Nov 15, 2013
    58
    Generic cop heroes aren’t always a problem if the show around them boasts other interesting characters or an intriguing premise. Almost Human has both, but, sadly, everything else in the show’s universe takes more after the Urban side of things than the Ealy.
  6. Reviewed by: Alee Karim
    Nov 15, 2013
    55
    It's hard to fall in love with a world that feels...borrowed.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    0
    Another dull example of the manufacturing of sci-fi factory goods with the (increasingly devalued) J.J. Abrams label slapped on.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 8 out of 71
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    for those who love AI, androids and awesome tech - in a reachable future setting, will love this sci-fi serie.
    Just a great serie, with a
    dash of humanrobot emotions. This is the best serie I've ever seen. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    I only hope FOX see sense and keep this gum on the air, to many shows have been cancelled before they have time to shine. Let this one be a win for us sci-fi nerds out there. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Very good. Solid acting, great visual effects, promising story. And most important thing that there was no good TV series in this cyberpunk climate till now. Looking forward to next episodes Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    The show is still in its infancy. There's certainly a lot of potential here. It's a little bit weak at times but it has a lot of very awesome aspects to it. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Though I have seen this idea before, I like the characters and their interactions. Just enough in the future to make the setting interesting. I'll keep on watching. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Its way better than most of the rubbish out there. The show has action, and Karl Urban does a good job. The guy who plays as the robot rills fits his role. This show is done an injustice with its odd air times and has been treated poorly by Fox. I hope it doesn't get cancelled. Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2014
    0
    I watched up until Episode 4 where right at the end Detective John Kennex mercilessly executed Captain Alexio Barros (a dirty cop). He shot him in the head and then basically went "pppf"!! I guess they didn't have enough evidence to prove the guy was corrupt? I lost all respect for the main character of the show right then and there.

    In addition, what a ridiculous idea for a plotline!? They find out the bad guys are looking for a new chemist so they sign up their resident nerd to go undercover. It was obvious that the guy wasn't up for the task, but they put in him danger of his life anyway - almost like a bunch of college kids forcing one of their initiate outcasts into a harmless party prank. It was an eye-rolling moment.

    At first there seemed to be so much going for this show - some great production names like Bad Robot & J.J. Abrams, such a great cast, some impressive special effects, and the unique futuristic AI premise, but the nonsensical writing went off the rails.

    I'm relieved that this show wasn't renewed for a second season because now I don't have to watch it just on the principle that it was a promising new sci-fi series. I won't even feel guilty for not finishing Season 1.
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews