• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Almost Human Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The creative team behind Fringe (including producer J.J. Abrams and creator J.H. Wyman) returns with a new sci-fi crime drama set in the year 2048, when every Los Angeles police officer is paired with a robot partner. Karl Urban (Star Trek), Michael Ealy (Common Law), Lili Taylor (Six Feet Under), Minka Kelly (Friday Night Lights), Mackenzie Crook (The Office), and Michael Irby (The Unit) star. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 15, 2013
    88
    This late entry in the fall season is one of the best. [25 Nov 2013, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    80
    Beyond profundities laced with humor, the action drama from J.J. Abrams, created by “Fringe’s” J.H. Wyman and starring Karl Urban and Michael Ealy, is a visual feast.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Nov 15, 2013
    80
    While its premise isn’t new--anyone remember “Total Recall 2070” or “Mann and Machine”?--the show’s ambition, solid cast and pure production values make it a worthwhile diversion.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 14, 2013
    63
    If you can look past a few disquieting flaws and get past that odd feeling that you've seen it all before, you'll find the bones of a potentially entertaining series in Almost Human.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Nov 15, 2013
    58
    Generic cop heroes aren’t always a problem if the show around them boasts other interesting characters or an intriguing premise. Almost Human has both, but, sadly, everything else in the show’s universe takes more after the Urban side of things than the Ealy.
  6. Reviewed by: Alee Karim
    Nov 15, 2013
    55
    It's hard to fall in love with a world that feels...borrowed.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    0
    Another dull example of the manufacturing of sci-fi factory goods with the (increasingly devalued) J.J. Abrams label slapped on.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 7 out of 65
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This is literally the best show ever!! I am so addicted to it!! It is unbelievably unique and intriguing. I really hope this incredible show does not get cancelled!! Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    A great show, JJ Abrams has another winner. Neat character personalities. Michael Ealy is a smart, really likable character. The Sci-Fi content is well done. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Very good. Solid acting, great visual effects, promising story. And most important thing that there was no good TV series in this cyberpunk climate till now. Looking forward to next episodes Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    The show is still in its infancy. There's certainly a lot of potential here. It's a little bit weak at times but it has a lot of very awesome aspects to it. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Obviously it's nothing we haven't seen already, yet "Almost Human" still manages to entertain. It has great visual effects and an interesting story. (Though it is a bit It's generic and a rehash of sci-fi stories from previous TV shows and movies, and reminds me of the blend of sci-fi we got from Oblivion and Elysium earlier this year.) I liked Michael Ealy and Karl Urban's (who is known for his work on Star Trek and The Lord Of The Ring trilogy) acting and their partnership; it reminds me of (Fox’s other TV show) Sleepy Hollow’s Ichabod Crane and Abbie Mills.

    I will have to see more episodes to give a final judgement; looks promising. I will update this review soon.

    If you liked this review, read my other reviews (by clicking on my name) on a wide selection of movies, TV shows, and videogames and mark this review as helpful. Remember, every vote counts!
    Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    7
    Four episodes in and I am really enjoying the show. Karl Urban and Michael Ealy work great together. There back and forth banter can be extremely hilarious. The action scenes and special effects are also very well done. All of this makes for a very enjoyable show, but the familiarity of the futuristic cop theme does bring down the experience a little bit. Still, it's an enjoyable show even if it is unoriginal. I will continue to watch it and if I feel the need to I will update my review at a later time. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    1
    Gave it a shot by watching the first 3 episodes, but it was quickly obvious that this is yet another cookie cutter show. By episode 3 we had the laughable scenario where someone who would never, ever be given a field assignment in real life (the robot technician) was thrown into an undercover assignment and, predictably, his life was in danger without ever actually being in danger. At the end of this formulaic episode the previews for episode 4 showed yet another secondary character once again being in danger unless our protagonists comply with the bad guys' demands.

    This type of unimaginative and predictable plot lines are simply not engaging or entertaining. It get very old to see the same plots dressed up in different settings.

    Add to this the utter implausibility of the show's timeline, and what we end up with is a ridiculous piece of nonsense that, while well-acted, cannot stand up to even casual scrutiny.
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews