Almost Human : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 17, 2013
Almost Human Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The creative team behind Fringe (including producer J.J. Abrams and creator J.H. Wyman) returns with a new sci-fi crime drama set in the year 2048, when every Los Angeles police officer is paired with a robot partner. Karl Urban (Star Trek), Michael Ealy (Common Law), Lili Taylor (Six FeetThe creative team behind Fringe (including producer J.J. Abrams and creator J.H. Wyman) returns with a new sci-fi crime drama set in the year 2048, when every Los Angeles police officer is paired with a robot partner. Karl Urban (Star Trek), Michael Ealy (Common Law), Lili Taylor (Six Feet Under), Minka Kelly (Friday Night Lights), Mackenzie Crook (The Office), and Michael Irby (The Unit) star. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 15, 2013
    88
    This late entry in the fall season is one of the best. [25 Nov 2013, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    80
    Beyond profundities laced with humor, the action drama from J.J. Abrams, created by “Fringe’s” J.H. Wyman and starring Karl Urban and Michael Ealy, is a visual feast.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Nov 15, 2013
    80
    While its premise isn’t new--anyone remember “Total Recall 2070” or “Mann and Machine”?--the show’s ambition, solid cast and pure production values make it a worthwhile diversion.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 14, 2013
    63
    If you can look past a few disquieting flaws and get past that odd feeling that you've seen it all before, you'll find the bones of a potentially entertaining series in Almost Human.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Nov 15, 2013
    58
    Generic cop heroes aren’t always a problem if the show around them boasts other interesting characters or an intriguing premise. Almost Human has both, but, sadly, everything else in the show’s universe takes more after the Urban side of things than the Ealy.
  6. Reviewed by: Alee Karim
    Nov 15, 2013
    55
    It's hard to fall in love with a world that feels...borrowed.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    0
    Another dull example of the manufacturing of sci-fi factory goods with the (increasingly devalued) J.J. Abrams label slapped on.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 7 out of 70
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This is literally the best show ever!! I am so addicted to it!! It is unbelievably unique and intriguing. I really hope this incredible showThis is literally the best show ever!! I am so addicted to it!! It is unbelievably unique and intriguing. I really hope this incredible show does not get cancelled!! Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    PLEASE renew Almost Human for a Season 2. Any networks out there listening this show has a huge fan base and there are no other shows closePLEASE renew Almost Human for a Season 2. Any networks out there listening this show has a huge fan base and there are no other shows close to this story line. There are so many Vampire, Werewolves, Supernatural and your regular cop crime shows, but none that are really futuristic working with robots as their partners. The characters are strong, acting excellent, story lines great and it is action packed, This show is far from boring and deserves a second chance at a season 2! I'm going to be really disappointed if FOX doesn't renew Almost Human :( PLEASE!!! Any Almost Human fans out there get the word out, rate or write a review lets get ourselves heard. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Very good. Solid acting, great visual effects, promising story. And most important thing that there was no good TV series in this cyberpunkVery good. Solid acting, great visual effects, promising story. And most important thing that there was no good TV series in this cyberpunk climate till now. Looking forward to next episodes Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Pretty good. Its set in a not so distant future where androids are common place. Great visuals and plenty of potential. Interested on wherePretty good. Its set in a not so distant future where androids are common place. Great visuals and plenty of potential. Interested on where they will take the show. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    It's been excellent so far!
    Everything is solid, the effects are great, the characters are charismatic and it has a good dose of humour!
    I
    It's been excellent so far!
    Everything is solid, the effects are great, the characters are charismatic and it has a good dose of humour!
    I foresee good things for this.
    Expand
  6. D90
    Mar 5, 2014
    8
    I love in general all Science Fiction TV shows for some reason (yeah, even FlashForward), so it isn't estrange that I love this show too.I love in general all Science Fiction TV shows for some reason (yeah, even FlashForward), so it isn't estrange that I love this show too.

    Visual effects, acting, everything is , at least, decent, when it isn't outstanding. They have even his own mythology! with thinks like The Wall, chromes, XRNs and synthetic soul... Every TV show capable of create his own mythology makes me fall in love with him. It happens with BSG, LOST, Fringe...

    I think the worse of this show is the fact that all episodes are auto-conclusive. If FOX renews the show and they create a good arc to the season using parts of the mythology that they already show us, I think this show can be something BIG.
    Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2014
    0
    I watched up until Episode 4 where right at the end Detective John Kennex mercilessly executed Captain Alexio Barros (a dirty cop). He shotI watched up until Episode 4 where right at the end Detective John Kennex mercilessly executed Captain Alexio Barros (a dirty cop). He shot him in the head and then basically went "pppf"!! I guess they didn't have enough evidence to prove the guy was corrupt? I lost all respect for the main character of the show right then and there.

    In addition, what a ridiculous idea for a plotline!? They find out the bad guys are looking for a new chemist so they sign up their resident nerd to go undercover. It was obvious that the guy wasn't up for the task, but they put in him danger of his life anyway - almost like a bunch of college kids forcing one of their initiate outcasts into a harmless party prank. It was an eye-rolling moment.

    At first there seemed to be so much going for this show - some great production names like Bad Robot & J.J. Abrams, such a great cast, some impressive special effects, and the unique futuristic AI premise, but the nonsensical writing went off the rails.

    I'm relieved that this show wasn't renewed for a second season because now I don't have to watch it just on the principle that it was a promising new sci-fi series. I won't even feel guilty for not finishing Season 1.
    Collapse

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers