Almost Royal : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 20, 2014
    91
    Gamble and Hoggart are credited as “per­formers” on the show and are also writers­ for the series, and their ability to ad-lib and play with anyone and every­one they come in contact with is a joy to watch, proof you can say almost anything to anyone, no matter how outrageous, so long as you maintain an air of innocence. Or stu­pidity.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Marc Snetiker
    Jun 13, 2014
    83
    Imagine Borat's vibe with Summer Heights High's spirit--definitely worth a peek, if that's your cup of tea. [20 Jun 2014, p.60]
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jun 23, 2014
    80
    Most of the people [Ed Gamble and Amy Hoggart--who pose as Georgie and Poppy Carlton] encounter seem to believe they're being filmed with real British aristos on a travel-type show about the U.S. Their surprise--and polite attempts to hide it--at the things the visitors from England say is the funniest part of the show.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 19, 2014
    80
    Gamble and Hoggart manage to strike just the right tone, sounding alternately wide-eyed and priggish, without coming across as mean-spirited--which is no small feat.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 16, 2014
    75
    Almost Royal has enough silliness for both American and British tastes.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 23, 2014
    70
    Fortunately, Gamble and Hoggart can be quite funny in their pretended confusion. Their strategies are sometimes too obvious, but often the humor takes a nicely absurdist turn.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 16, 2014
    67
    There’s a lack of conviction to Almost Royal’s premise that means the funniest parts are only just mildly funny.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 20, 2014
    60
    Almost Royal is not a series that demands to be watched, but it’s a cute diversion for Anglophiles looking for intermittent laughs.
  9. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Jun 19, 2014
    58
    Making Georgie and Poppy unintelligent isn’t a poor choice on its own, but Almost Royal does so much better when it lets these characters get specific about their privileged upbringing.
  10. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jun 19, 2014
    30
    BBC America misses wide of the mark with Almost Royal.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    It's not the funniest program on television (and it's not a patch on films or television programs like 'Borat: Cultural Learnings of AmericaIt's not the funniest program on television (and it's not a patch on films or television programs like 'Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan', 'The Dictator' or 'Phonejacker') but 'Almost Royal' is still pretty funny. Ed Gamble (who I have already become a fan of due to 'The Peacock and Gamble Podcast', which I thoroughly recommend) and Amy Hoggart (who I have never seen before, but I think is equally funny) are very skilled improvisers and have some very funny bursts and then some reasonably amusing sections for the rest of the show.

    It's quite funny, but more for background TV.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    1
    This show is absurd, and not in a good way. I could almost feel my brain draining out of my head as I watched it.

    Comedies are often an
    This show is absurd, and not in a good way. I could almost feel my brain draining out of my head as I watched it.

    Comedies are often an escape for those who watch them, but I know that I do not want to escape to any place that is showing Almost Royal. Indeed, Almost Royal is something to escape from.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    0
    rip off of a much funnier pilot I saw a few years back .. I have to write 150 characters here for a review but haven't got much more to sayrip off of a much funnier pilot I saw a few years back .. I have to write 150 characters here for a review but haven't got much more to say .. characters in the other one much funnier was it the writing or the actors? I dunno, but i remember thinking it was really really funny - this is not. Full Review »