Alphas : Season 1

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Their take on human nature may develop, but right now it's cartoonish in the worst way and too reminiscent of similar shows.
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 11, 2011
    60
    Alphas proceeds with a relative sobriety that will prove attractive to some and simply unintoxicating to others. If there are any grown-up fanboys left in America--people who can bring themselves to admit that this summer's blockbusters-in-tights are meager gruel--then Alphas may have enough beta charm to see them through the season.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 11, 2011
    50
    Of course, it's a coup for SyFy to snag Strathairn for the new series, but this is very much an ensemble piece. The other performers are all great at being unlikely and, at times, downright cranky heroes. Still, while their crankiness is initially appealing, it could wear thin pretty quickly unless they are given really smart crimes to solve.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 11, 2011
    50
    It's neither here nor there: low on sci-fi mystery and intrigue and not yet convincing as ensemble drama. Right now it feels like the beta version.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 11, 2011
    50
    Alphas looks fairly good on paper, but never catches fire. And its use of Strathairn is even more of a fizzle.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 11, 2011
    60
    Alphas is hardly the alpha show in this supernatural-hero genre, but it's still engaging.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 8, 2011
    50
    The problem with the show is that it's pretty dull, particularly if you've ever watched any of the similar shows that preceded Alphas. None of the characters feel new, nor do the situations.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. Jul 27, 2011
    3
    I really wanted to like this show, love David Strathairn, and after this last episode, a resounding NO. It's Wanted meets Fringe but notI really wanted to like this show, love David Strathairn, and after this last episode, a resounding NO. It's Wanted meets Fringe but not nearly as good as the movie or tv show. Nothing is original about this show. The last show was 28 days later, down to the SAME exact music, very sad, very sad Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Writers: Consistently writing fast pace, interesting, dynamic story lines. In almost every episode I am blind sided by some crazy realizationWriters: Consistently writing fast pace, interesting, dynamic story lines. In almost every episode I am blind sided by some crazy realization or action sequence. They are fantastic at presenting characters and their abilities and the science behind it allâ Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2011
    5
    Oh dear, I had high hopes of this but I gave up after watching 3 episodes. The premise is interesting, the writing, direction and specialOh dear, I had high hopes of this but I gave up after watching 3 episodes. The premise is interesting, the writing, direction and special effects are good but the annoying minor actors (minor to me) are just too much to bear with their endless childishness - I suppose some are supposed to be childish but i just don't want to watch them sniping all the time. Full Review »