• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 85
  2. Negative: 11 out of 85

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    What was advertised as a gripping new Sci-Fi series is in fact a very low budget and rather dul series of events that we just don't care about. Often the pilot is about setting the scene and introducing the characters, so when the scene is just not realistic and you don't care about the characters, it does rather make you wonder what they were trying to do. Ok, I will give it one moreWhat was advertised as a gripping new Sci-Fi series is in fact a very low budget and rather dul series of events that we just don't care about. Often the pilot is about setting the scene and introducing the characters, so when the scene is just not realistic and you don't care about the characters, it does rather make you wonder what they were trying to do. Ok, I will give it one more episode but there is much better TV out there, so why waste your time? Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2011
    2
    Pretty terrible. Going in I thought this would be something like a combination of 24 and Heroes, not so. I expected a realistic depiction of what would happen if the government employed humans with superpowers; think political assassinations, foiling terrorist plots, or covert military ops. Instead this is nothing but drama "lite," with cheesy jokes and dialogue. Are we really supposed toPretty terrible. Going in I thought this would be something like a combination of 24 and Heroes, not so. I expected a realistic depiction of what would happen if the government employed humans with superpowers; think political assassinations, foiling terrorist plots, or covert military ops. Instead this is nothing but drama "lite," with cheesy jokes and dialogue. Are we really supposed to believe that a group of people with superpowers, who have no military or tactical training, is employed by the government to take out various criminal organizations? This show is so unrealistic it's almost laughable. Expand
  3. Aug 10, 2011
    3
    Characters have no charisma at all! They can be so annoying as they're always nagging amongst each other with no specific reason, and at the end of the 5th episode I confess I can't even remember all their names!
    It's so boring...
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    3
    I really wanted to like this show, love David Strathairn, and after this last episode, a resounding NO. It's Wanted meets Fringe but not nearly as good as the movie or tv show. Nothing is original about this show. The last show was 28 days later, down to the SAME exact music, very sad, very sad
  5. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    With so little on, I'm giving this a point just for being something to watch- however it is so bad that it doesn't earn anything else. The story lines are stereotypical, the show has a real low budget feel (in a bad way), and the characters are nothing if not annoying. The first episode was defiantly the worst (it gets a zero) and what I've seen of the rest (I stopped watching afterWith so little on, I'm giving this a point just for being something to watch- however it is so bad that it doesn't earn anything else. The story lines are stereotypical, the show has a real low budget feel (in a bad way), and the characters are nothing if not annoying. The first episode was defiantly the worst (it gets a zero) and what I've seen of the rest (I stopped watching after episode 4) it gets a little better, but not much. If you want something to watch go see "Death Valley" on MTV - at least its trying to be cheesy. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Unwatchable because of the extremely annoying characters, especially the British guy. Other than that it's just plain boring. It has nothing going for it, It's not even funny.
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    #yaycanceled

    Thankfully this horrifically poor show has ended with cancelation albeit not swiftly enough according to justice. This was a huge time waste with no redeeming value.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Aug 1, 2011
    63
    Even as tropes arrive in full force, exceptions to boilerplate good-versus-evil scenarios make occasional appearances.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Their take on human nature may develop, but right now it's cartoonish in the worst way and too reminiscent of similar shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 11, 2011
    70
    As an origin story, Alphas hits some notes too hard and lacks a certain subtlety, yet there's potential in this tale, especially if it delves into the psychological cost of being extraordinary.