• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 77
  2. Negative: 10 out of 77

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Fun series about government sponsored group of believable characters with special abilities that use them for good despite questionable interference from government agency overseeing them. Good characters, plots and acting.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Writers: Consistently writing fast pace, interesting, dynamic story lines. In almost every episode I am blind sided by some crazy realization or action sequence. They are fantastic at presenting characters and their abilities and the science behind it allâ
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Best new show of the season. The premise is not new or original (can't remember the last original idea I've seen), but it's done well. Basically this show is X-men, or Heroes where a bunch of people have special powers and they fight other people with special abilities. Nothing new there. But the acting and character development is on a scale rarely seen in a TV series. Each character has their ticks and the way the actors interact with each other getting on each others nerves and helping each other mimics real life in a way that not many shows can. This show is entertaining and exciting even sometimes surprising. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This is a great show. I came upon it by accident. It's well written, well acted, well paced. Really great. Even the music is awesome. The show is subtle and it takes it's time. I think it'll be a classic. Let's hope they give it time to find an audience and it doesn't turn into another Firefly.
  5. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    With the unfortunate cancellation of Heroes we had lot one of the best superhero TV shows but now with the birth of Alphas we could very well link both shows together. Alpha is Heroes with badges, instead of a group of masked vigilantes in tights fighting the league of doom in their underwater lair, we have a have a gang of suited, witty and clever people bringing their own unique gift the the gang, with only one having any crime fighting experience its a turn to see how amateurs learn to use their abilities to help save people from murder, kidnapping and even radical terrorist, its like CSI just got a burst of radiation and turned in to the HULK, for me Alphas has been one of my most favourite shows this year I strongly recommend. Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Ok, I know that this should be a review of the entire first season, but I am reviewing only the pilot. If the pilot is good, chances are that the rest, at least the first season, of the show will be just as good or better. Normally, Syfy material sucks in my opinion. This 90 minute pilot was great. It's about a group of people that have more access to their brain than most people. They are crime solvers and use their abilities to....well...solve a crime. The powers are awesome. Some might be more original than others but they are neat none the less. At first I thought that the group would suck at being a team but they pull together very nicely. There is a bit of humor also. Little wise cracks from one character to an other. It's good enough. I like Doctor Rosen because he is a calm, relaxing doctor who also doubles as the head of a group of "Alphas". It centers around a man who is brainwashed to assassinate someone. He too has abilities and seems like someone who will stay as a main character. the concept is cool and the show is fun to watch. I can't wait to see what's in store in the first season. The people they will meet and the powers they have. Very interesting. Anyways, I hope this review isn't confusing and convoluted. And if so, I apologize. I think it's a cool, scifi show with good actors and enough imagination. I don't why I am even reviewing this seeing as it's on TV. This show shouldn't determine your decision to buy cable. If you can afford cable, get cable. And then watch Alphas. Because it's pretty badass. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Oh dear, I had high hopes of this but I gave up after watching 3 episodes. The premise is interesting, the writing, direction and special effects are good but the annoying minor actors (minor to me) are just too much to bear with their endless childishness - http://www.automobile-gabriel.de
  8. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    It has a bit of Heroes, a bit of X-Men, a bit of 24. A very fast paced action pack. Keep me glued to the screen and make me can't wait for the next episode. Looking forward for a second season.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Aug 1, 2011
    63
    Even as tropes arrive in full force, exceptions to boilerplate good-versus-evil scenarios make occasional appearances.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Their take on human nature may develop, but right now it's cartoonish in the worst way and too reminiscent of similar shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 11, 2011
    70
    As an origin story, Alphas hits some notes too hard and lacks a certain subtlety, yet there's potential in this tale, especially if it delves into the psychological cost of being extraordinary.