• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 85
  2. Negative: 11 out of 85

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Fun series about government sponsored group of believable characters with special abilities that use them for good despite questionable interference from government agency overseeing them. Good characters, plots and acting.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Writers: Consistently writing fast pace, interesting, dynamic story lines. In almost every episode I am blind sided by some crazy realization or action sequence. They are fantastic at presenting characters and their abilities and the science behind it allâ
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    The pilot is terrific. Love the actors and their powers - especially David Strathairn who is perfect in the role of the doctor / ring-leader. The kid who can pick up the TV/radio/phone signals can be a little annoying, but I'm sure they just needed to establish his personality/limitation. Seems like a motley crew which will bring a fresh approach to crime-fighting, or whatever they'llThe pilot is terrific. Love the actors and their powers - especially David Strathairn who is perfect in the role of the doctor / ring-leader. The kid who can pick up the TV/radio/phone signals can be a little annoying, but I'm sure they just needed to establish his personality/limitation. Seems like a motley crew which will bring a fresh approach to crime-fighting, or whatever they'll end up doing. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Best new show of the season. The premise is not new or original (can't remember the last original idea I've seen), but it's done well. Basically this show is X-men, or Heroes where a bunch of people have special powers and they fight other people with special abilities. Nothing new there. But the acting and character development is on a scale rarely seen in a TV series. Each characterBest new show of the season. The premise is not new or original (can't remember the last original idea I've seen), but it's done well. Basically this show is X-men, or Heroes where a bunch of people have special powers and they fight other people with special abilities. Nothing new there. But the acting and character development is on a scale rarely seen in a TV series. Each character has their ticks and the way the actors interact with each other getting on each others nerves and helping each other mimics real life in a way that not many shows can. This show is entertaining and exciting even sometimes surprising. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This is a great show. I came upon it by accident. It's well written, well acted, well paced. Really great. Even the music is awesome. The show is subtle and it takes it's time. I think it'll be a classic. Let's hope they give it time to find an audience and it doesn't turn into another Firefly.
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    7
    It is not bad show. Maybe it is not masterpiece but it is good enough to watch it and have a good time. Also later episodes are better than first ones. So I say go for it. Don't expect greatness , but a well - made job.
  7. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    With the unfortunate cancellation of Heroes we had lot one of the best superhero TV shows but now with the birth of Alphas we could very well link both shows together. Alpha is Heroes with badges, instead of a group of masked vigilantes in tights fighting the league of doom in their underwater lair, we have a have a gang of suited, witty and clever people bringing their own unique gift theWith the unfortunate cancellation of Heroes we had lot one of the best superhero TV shows but now with the birth of Alphas we could very well link both shows together. Alpha is Heroes with badges, instead of a group of masked vigilantes in tights fighting the league of doom in their underwater lair, we have a have a gang of suited, witty and clever people bringing their own unique gift the the gang, with only one having any crime fighting experience its a turn to see how amateurs learn to use their abilities to help save people from murder, kidnapping and even radical terrorist, its like CSI just got a burst of radiation and turned in to the HULK, for me Alphas has been one of my most favourite shows this year I strongly recommend. Expand
  8. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    I thought at first I would not like this series, but it definitely grew on me. What at first I thought to be contrived writing, turned out to be more and more intriguing. Looking forward to another season.
  9. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Ok, I know that this should be a review of the entire first season, but I am reviewing only the pilot. If the pilot is good, chances are that the rest, at least the first season, of the show will be just as good or better. Normally, Syfy material sucks in my opinion. This 90 minute pilot was great. It's about a group of people that have more access to their brain than most people. They areOk, I know that this should be a review of the entire first season, but I am reviewing only the pilot. If the pilot is good, chances are that the rest, at least the first season, of the show will be just as good or better. Normally, Syfy material sucks in my opinion. This 90 minute pilot was great. It's about a group of people that have more access to their brain than most people. They are crime solvers and use their abilities to....well...solve a crime. The powers are awesome. Some might be more original than others but they are neat none the less. At first I thought that the group would suck at being a team but they pull together very nicely. There is a bit of humor also. Little wise cracks from one character to an other. It's good enough. I like Doctor Rosen because he is a calm, relaxing doctor who also doubles as the head of a group of "Alphas". It centers around a man who is brainwashed to assassinate someone. He too has abilities and seems like someone who will stay as a main character. the concept is cool and the show is fun to watch. I can't wait to see what's in store in the first season. The people they will meet and the powers they have. Very interesting. Anyways, I hope this review isn't confusing and convoluted. And if so, I apologize. I think it's a cool, scifi show with good actors and enough imagination. I don't why I am even reviewing this seeing as it's on TV. This show shouldn't determine your decision to buy cable. If you can afford cable, get cable. And then watch Alphas. Because it's pretty badass. Expand
  10. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Oh dear, I had high hopes of this but I gave up after watching 3 episodes. The premise is interesting, the writing, direction and special effects are good but the annoying minor actors (minor to me) are just too much to bear with their endless childishness - http://www.automobile-gabriel.de
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Easily the best new series of 2011. Great writers, cast and concept. It may borrow heavily from other things, but it just does it so well! Looking forward to season two next year.
  12. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    It has a bit of Heroes, a bit of X-Men, a bit of 24. A very fast paced action pack. Keep me glued to the screen and make me can't wait for the next episode. Looking forward for a second season.
  13. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    While it might seem like a rehash of Heroes or other popular genre shows, Alphas is actually a breath of (somewhat) fresh air, bringing a consistent pace and voice Heroes was never able to achieve. Ryan Cartwright is an amazing actor too. Gary is probably the best portrayal of autism I've seen in a while. I love his character. The guest cast is also great. If you have any interest,While it might seem like a rehash of Heroes or other popular genre shows, Alphas is actually a breath of (somewhat) fresh air, bringing a consistent pace and voice Heroes was never able to achieve. Ryan Cartwright is an amazing actor too. Gary is probably the best portrayal of autism I've seen in a while. I love his character. The guest cast is also great. If you have any interest, make sure you watch, and stick with it. It only gets better as the season progresses. Expand
  14. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Alphas is a great show. Yes, it has its problems, but you just have to sit back and enjoy it. It takes a couple episodes to gain footing but then it really shines. Gary is such a well written and acted character that this should probably be called the Gary Show.
  15. Nov 5, 2014
    7
    I was undecided between rating this show a 6 or 7 because the first season was really good, but the second season I think went downhill. I don't regret watching the show and I'd still recommend it to somebody looking to pass time, but I think the show could of been better than what it was. It's a good fantasy show though, and with that being said it had quite a bit of action.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Aug 1, 2011
    63
    Even as tropes arrive in full force, exceptions to boilerplate good-versus-evil scenarios make occasional appearances.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Their take on human nature may develop, but right now it's cartoonish in the worst way and too reminiscent of similar shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 11, 2011
    70
    As an origin story, Alphas hits some notes too hard and lacks a certain subtlety, yet there's potential in this tale, especially if it delves into the psychological cost of being extraordinary.