• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 80
  2. Negative: 10 out of 80

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Alphas is a great show. Yes, it has its problems, but you just have to sit back and enjoy it. It takes a couple episodes to gain footing but then it really shines. Gary is such a well written and acted character that this should probably be called the Gary Show.
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    While it might seem like a rehash of Heroes or other popular genre shows, Alphas is actually a breath of (somewhat) fresh air, bringing a consistent pace and voice Heroes was never able to achieve. Ryan Cartwright is an amazing actor too. Gary is probably the best portrayal of autism I've seen in a while. I love his character. The guest cast is also great. If you have any interest, make sure you watch, and stick with it. It only gets better as the season progresses. Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    It has a bit of Heroes, a bit of X-Men, a bit of 24. A very fast paced action pack. Keep me glued to the screen and make me can't wait for the next episode. Looking forward for a second season.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Easily the best new series of 2011. Great writers, cast and concept. It may borrow heavily from other things, but it just does it so well! Looking forward to season two next year.
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Oh dear, I had high hopes of this but I gave up after watching 3 episodes. The premise is interesting, the writing, direction and special effects are good but the annoying minor actors (minor to me) are just too much to bear with their endless childishness - http://www.automobile-gabriel.de
  6. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    I thought at first I would not like this series, but it definitely grew on me. What at first I thought to be contrived writing, turned out to be more and more intriguing. Looking forward to another season.
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Writers: Consistently writing fast pace, interesting, dynamic story lines. In almost every episode I am blind sided by some crazy realization or action sequence. They are fantastic at presenting characters and their abilities and the science behind it allâ
  8. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Fun series about government sponsored group of believable characters with special abilities that use them for good despite questionable interference from government agency overseeing them. Good characters, plots and acting.
  9. Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Unwatchable because of the extremely annoying characters, especially the British guy. Other than that it's just plain boring. It has nothing going for it, It's not even funny.
  10. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    The plot seemed really interesting but the actual show leaves more to be desired. Worth a watch right now since there isn't much on tele but I wouldn't put this on my all time favourites listing just yet ;)
  11. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    With the unfortunate cancellation of Heroes we had lot one of the best superhero TV shows but now with the birth of Alphas we could very well link both shows together. Alpha is Heroes with badges, instead of a group of masked vigilantes in tights fighting the league of doom in their underwater lair, we have a have a gang of suited, witty and clever people bringing their own unique gift the the gang, with only one having any crime fighting experience its a turn to see how amateurs learn to use their abilities to help save people from murder, kidnapping and even radical terrorist, its like CSI just got a burst of radiation and turned in to the HULK, for me Alphas has been one of my most favourite shows this year I strongly recommend. Expand
  12. Sep 4, 2011
    7
    It is not bad show. Maybe it is not masterpiece but it is good enough to watch it and have a good time. Also later episodes are better than first ones. So I say go for it. Don't expect greatness , but a well - made job.
  13. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    With so little on, I'm giving this a point just for being something to watch- however it is so bad that it doesn't earn anything else. The story lines are stereotypical, the show has a real low budget feel (in a bad way), and the characters are nothing if not annoying. The first episode was defiantly the worst (it gets a zero) and what I've seen of the rest (I stopped watching after episode 4) it gets a little better, but not much. If you want something to watch go see "Death Valley" on MTV - at least its trying to be cheesy. Expand
  14. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This is a great show. I came upon it by accident. It's well written, well acted, well paced. Really great. Even the music is awesome. The show is subtle and it takes it's time. I think it'll be a classic. Let's hope they give it time to find an audience and it doesn't turn into another Firefly.
  15. Aug 24, 2011
    5
    Oh dear, I had high hopes of this but I gave up after watching 3 episodes. The premise is interesting, the writing, direction and special effects are good but the annoying minor actors (minor to me) are just too much to bear with their endless childishness - I suppose some are supposed to be childish but i just don't want to watch them sniping all the time.
  16. Aug 10, 2011
    3
    Characters have no charisma at all! They can be so annoying as they're always nagging amongst each other with no specific reason, and at the end of the 5th episode I confess I can't even remember all their names!
    It's so boring...
  17. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Best new show of the season. The premise is not new or original (can't remember the last original idea I've seen), but it's done well. Basically this show is X-men, or Heroes where a bunch of people have special powers and they fight other people with special abilities. Nothing new there. But the acting and character development is on a scale rarely seen in a TV series. Each character has their ticks and the way the actors interact with each other getting on each others nerves and helping each other mimics real life in a way that not many shows can. This show is entertaining and exciting even sometimes surprising. Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2011
    2
    Pretty terrible. Going in I thought this would be something like a combination of 24 and Heroes, not so. I expected a realistic depiction of what would happen if the government employed humans with superpowers; think political assassinations, foiling terrorist plots, or covert military ops. Instead this is nothing but drama "lite," with cheesy jokes and dialogue. Are we really supposed to believe that a group of people with superpowers, who have no military or tactical training, is employed by the government to take out various criminal organizations? This show is so unrealistic it's almost laughable. Expand
  19. Jul 27, 2011
    3
    I really wanted to like this show, love David Strathairn, and after this last episode, a resounding NO. It's Wanted meets Fringe but not nearly as good as the movie or tv show. Nothing is original about this show. The last show was 28 days later, down to the SAME exact music, very sad, very sad
  20. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    What was advertised as a gripping new Sci-Fi series is in fact a very low budget and rather dul series of events that we just don't care about. Often the pilot is about setting the scene and introducing the characters, so when the scene is just not realistic and you don't care about the characters, it does rather make you wonder what they were trying to do. Ok, I will give it one more episode but there is much better TV out there, so why waste your time? Expand
  21. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Ok, I know that this should be a review of the entire first season, but I am reviewing only the pilot. If the pilot is good, chances are that the rest, at least the first season, of the show will be just as good or better. Normally, Syfy material sucks in my opinion. This 90 minute pilot was great. It's about a group of people that have more access to their brain than most people. They are crime solvers and use their abilities to....well...solve a crime. The powers are awesome. Some might be more original than others but they are neat none the less. At first I thought that the group would suck at being a team but they pull together very nicely. There is a bit of humor also. Little wise cracks from one character to an other. It's good enough. I like Doctor Rosen because he is a calm, relaxing doctor who also doubles as the head of a group of "Alphas". It centers around a man who is brainwashed to assassinate someone. He too has abilities and seems like someone who will stay as a main character. the concept is cool and the show is fun to watch. I can't wait to see what's in store in the first season. The people they will meet and the powers they have. Very interesting. Anyways, I hope this review isn't confusing and convoluted. And if so, I apologize. I think it's a cool, scifi show with good actors and enough imagination. I don't why I am even reviewing this seeing as it's on TV. This show shouldn't determine your decision to buy cable. If you can afford cable, get cable. And then watch Alphas. Because it's pretty badass. Expand
  22. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    The pilot is terrific. Love the actors and their powers - especially David Strathairn who is perfect in the role of the doctor / ring-leader. The kid who can pick up the TV/radio/phone signals can be a little annoying, but I'm sure they just needed to establish his personality/limitation. Seems like a motley crew which will bring a fresh approach to crime-fighting, or whatever they'll end up doing. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Aug 1, 2011
    63
    Even as tropes arrive in full force, exceptions to boilerplate good-versus-evil scenarios make occasional appearances.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Their take on human nature may develop, but right now it's cartoonish in the worst way and too reminiscent of similar shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 11, 2011
    70
    As an origin story, Alphas hits some notes too hard and lacks a certain subtlety, yet there's potential in this tale, especially if it delves into the psychological cost of being extraordinary.