Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Tanner Stransky
    Jul 17, 2012
    58
    Gypsies is just mildly entertaining, mostly because the family drama seems staged.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 17, 2012
    40
    The producers are so focused on creating and highlighting conflict that after a while, as with the boy who cried wolf, you would just like everyone to shut up and be eaten.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 17, 2012
    63
    Not that this family of five adult sons, along with matriarch, Tina, and patriarch, Bobby Sr., aren't fascinating. They are. I just don't know if I want to live with them and all their unnecessary drama.
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 17, 2012
    91
    Strong personalities evoke the hold of the old, the tug of the new, and that intersection's human fireworks.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 17, 2012
    70
    Where American Gypsies shines--and it really does shine here and there--is in the glimpses we get of the internal system of justice that's developed among a people who don't trust government, and family rituals like the "red-dress ceremony" with which the Johns family welcomes its newest member.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jul 17, 2012
    30
    American Gypsies, the second deplorable show about this subculture to come along in three months.
User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Great entertainment. Don't take it to serious. it is exactly what it is meant to be, fun to watch.

    Hope there is a season two., Lots of
    Great entertainment. Don't take it to serious. it is exactly what it is meant to be, fun to watch.

    Hope there is a season two., Lots of family drama and oh so many schemes. Nothing like a little family fighting to relate to, I believe some ok ok not much, is a real insight into american gypsies
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    A fascinating view into a sub culture i knew nothing about. Plays out like the Sopranos with a touch of Jersey Shore, but with Gypsies.A fascinating view into a sub culture i knew nothing about. Plays out like the Sopranos with a touch of Jersey Shore, but with Gypsies. Unlike anything I've seen on TV. Full Review »