American Gypsies Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The docu-series focuses on the Johns, a family of Romani (as known more commonly as gypsies) who own several psychic shops in Manhattan.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Documentary
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 17, 2012
    91
    Strong personalities evoke the hold of the old, the tug of the new, and that intersection's human fireworks.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 17, 2012
    70
    Where American Gypsies shines--and it really does shine here and there--is in the glimpses we get of the internal system of justice that's developed among a people who don't trust government, and family rituals like the "red-dress ceremony" with which the Johns family welcomes its newest member.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 17, 2012
    63
    Not that this family of five adult sons, along with matriarch, Tina, and patriarch, Bobby Sr., aren't fascinating. They are. I just don't know if I want to live with them and all their unnecessary drama.
  4. Reviewed by: Tanner Stransky
    Jul 17, 2012
    58
    Gypsies is just mildly entertaining, mostly because the family drama seems staged.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 17, 2012
    40
    The producers are so focused on creating and highlighting conflict that after a while, as with the boy who cried wolf, you would just like everyone to shut up and be eaten.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jul 17, 2012
    30
    American Gypsies, the second deplorable show about this subculture to come along in three months.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Great entertainment. Don't take it to serious. it is exactly what it is meant to be, fun to watch.

    Hope there is a season two., Lots of
    Great entertainment. Don't take it to serious. it is exactly what it is meant to be, fun to watch.

    Hope there is a season two., Lots of family drama and oh so many schemes. Nothing like a little family fighting to relate to, I believe some ok ok not much, is a real insight into american gypsies
    Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    A fascinating view into a sub culture i knew nothing about. Plays out like the Sopranos with a touch of Jersey Shore, but with Gypsies.A fascinating view into a sub culture i knew nothing about. Plays out like the Sopranos with a touch of Jersey Shore, but with Gypsies. Unlike anything I've seen on TV. Collapse
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    0
    It's such a shame about National Geographic brand... the disgusting "National Geographic" TV channel completely destroyed the once quality andIt's such a shame about National Geographic brand... the disgusting "National Geographic" TV channel completely destroyed the once quality and respect evoking National Geographic brand. American Gypsies is just another typical show targeted at the lowest common denominator. Never again will I look at the National Geographic magazine the same way I used to... I hope that licensing the repulsively idiotic National Geographic TV channel was worth the monies to the executives of the once respected National Geographic brand. Expand