• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 425 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 425

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Just finished watching last night's episode with the good Psychiatrist and his lampshade making hobby. Gotta say, compared to last season, this seems like a really stupid mish-mash of scary movie rip-offs (Exorcist, Silence of the Lambs, One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, with a sprinkle of Nazi's, aliens and monsters thrown in for good measure) with no real substance to the story line. TheJust finished watching last night's episode with the good Psychiatrist and his lampshade making hobby. Gotta say, compared to last season, this seems like a really stupid mish-mash of scary movie rip-offs (Exorcist, Silence of the Lambs, One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, with a sprinkle of Nazi's, aliens and monsters thrown in for good measure) with no real substance to the story line. The first season slowly built an interesting and compelling story, whereas this season only seems interested in shocking people with it's 'grossness' each week (i.e., what scary thing can we do to people next? Oh, Lobotomy, cut off their limbs, sterilize them). SO NOT IMPRESSED. If it doesn't get better soon, I'm not going to watch it anymore. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Acting is ok, Nothing to really complain about. The story is fine as well but my biggest problem with it is that not all questions were answered by the end of the season and it's rather frustrating sitting through an entire season to still have unanswered questions (mainly involving the aliens). The show definently fades in the second half and the whole son of bloody-face plot was just plain stupid, and rather predictable as well, It could have been a lot better. Poor writing definently ruined this season imo. Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    6
    There were moments in the episode where I didn't quite get it: the opening scene with the couple breaking into the Asylum seemed pointless, and the alien invasion scene, which to me didn't quite fit the story. Besides that I thought the episode stayed true to what 'American Horror Story' is, a fun, campy, and unusual series that you can't help but watch.
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Don't get me wrong, I LOVE AHS--its ideas, themes, and aesthetic have fueled my eager anticipation and faithful viewing every week--but the plot and writing for Asylum are SIMPLY WEAK! About 7 different storylines (i.e. demon possession, serial killer, nazis, aliens, medical experimentation/ mutants, etc) running at 1000 miles/min perpetually generating and "resolving" minor, insignificantDon't get me wrong, I LOVE AHS--its ideas, themes, and aesthetic have fueled my eager anticipation and faithful viewing every week--but the plot and writing for Asylum are SIMPLY WEAK! About 7 different storylines (i.e. demon possession, serial killer, nazis, aliens, medical experimentation/ mutants, etc) running at 1000 miles/min perpetually generating and "resolving" minor, insignificant conflicts without making any real progress. Recently, characters are behaving in increasingly uncharacteristic, unbelievable ways despite the underlying "insanity" theme, and sporadic soft core porn cheapens and disrupts the spooky/mysterious atmosphere.

    Most frustrating: AHS has the potential to make some intriguing social/psychological/political commentary and make its viewers think BUT IT DOESN'T. BUT: Despite all this I still like watching it and i will continue to watch it :)
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    When Season 2 started, you just knew that this would be fun. The show was already up to its standard bearings as the craziest, most psycho show on television. Then it kind of went off the deep end. They started telling the story with good intentions, but soon fell off. They didn't give me a reason to even care that Bloody Face's son was even his son. Why should I have cared? I shouldn'tWhen Season 2 started, you just knew that this would be fun. The show was already up to its standard bearings as the craziest, most psycho show on television. Then it kind of went off the deep end. They started telling the story with good intentions, but soon fell off. They didn't give me a reason to even care that Bloody Face's son was even his son. Why should I have cared? I shouldn't have, and I didn't. But, throughout the show they kept cutting to meaningless scenes with him. I got it, he's messed up because his father was a serial killer and his mother tried to abort him. And then the common theme of the season was pregnancy. And I noticed this with Season 1 as well. Why? Why are they giving birth? And why are they having them all together, it seemed. And another thing that brought the show down was aliens. The belief of Aliens. You could have just kept it there all in Kit's head, but no. Expansion was your game. And you played it. You played this season down into the ground. It literally became, one of the greatest shows on TV to one of the most boring, dull, shows of all time. Hopefully they strike fire and do good with the fresh start with Season 3. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2015
    5
    Toda temporada despencou sua qualidade pelo fato de alguns erros aparecerem em algumas cenas curtas, roteiro descuidado, mas o medo e a sujeira humana são impactantes!
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Does it add up to a coherent whole? Impossible to say so far. Asylum is, in its opening episodes, more energetic and impishly funny than its predecessor.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    63
    It's dark, big-top sadism, and we wait for a story to emerge. [5 Nov 2012, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Oct 17, 2012
    75
    Like a good scare? How about a bad scare? Or a thousand scares, good and bad and crazy? Season 2 of "American Horror Story," subtitled Asylum, is for you.