• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 307

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Acting is ok, Nothing to really complain about. The story is fine as well but my biggest problem with it is that not all questions were answered by the end of the season and it's rather frustrating sitting through an entire season to still have unanswered questions (mainly involving the aliens). The show definently fades in the second half and the whole son of bloody-face plot was just plain stupid, and rather predictable as well, It could have been a lot better. Poor writing definently ruined this season imo. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    American Horror Story: Asylum. I've been waiting for a long time to watch this show. Pilot was a little unusual, but it was likeable. I loved Jessica Lange's performance and the entire production desgin of the asylum is just fabulous. Looking forward to upcoming episodes, this show can do better.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. American Horror Story is back and there is more horror than ever! Instead of following in the footsteps of the Harmon family like the first season, which was brilliant, we are now taken to a 1960s Briarcliffe; a dark and cruel mental asylum where this year's horror is now taking place. This season shows us many horrors such as aliens, nazis, serial killers and demons, but it faces human problems like racism and other problems. The writing in this season is top-notch and is constantly unpredictable; you expect the season to go one way and it takes you into another. The acting is, as always, brilliant, especially from Jessica Lange and Frances Conroy, who are always fantastic at whatever role they portray. Lily Rabe's Sister Eunice was by-far my favourite character in the series; she had the ability to be completely unlikable and utterly lovable at the same time, and also was menacing and hilarious at the same time as well. Speaking of menacing, Zachary Quinto's Thredson (SPOILER! Who is later revealed to be Bloody Face; one of the main horrors this season) was utterly frightening and disturbing and whenever he made his presence on screen, fear as well as a grin will be brought out from viewers. All together; the acting and the characters were both great. All together, American Horror Story: Asylum is fantastic horror TV that outdoes the last amazing season; though viewers be warner this season will provide grotesque, graphic and shocking moments that will break the boundaries of TV...and that is why American Horror Story is amazing. Looking forward to the next season. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    6
    There were moments in the episode where I didn't quite get it: the opening scene with the couple breaking into the Asylum seemed pointless, and the alien invasion scene, which to me didn't quite fit the story. Besides that I thought the episode stayed true to what 'American Horror Story' is, a fun, campy, and unusual series that you can't help but watch.
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    While the cinematography is better than the inaugural season, Asylum is less consistent and gets a little bit too twisty at times. I love twists, but this season keeps too many things hidden for too long that it gets a little bit frustrating to wait for the next episode each week. What I love from the show is its efforts on mixing facts up with fictions that some conspiracy-junkies out there might actually think that the show is solely based on true events while it really is just making references to popular culture. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    This season is more about being scary than anything else. There is a good story with great characters and plot, but it feels like they're trying to scare you more than telling a good story. The season also ends with plot holes and unanswered questions, but still a great season overall.
  7. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    Extremely well directed and creepy. The only problem is that there are certain plot elements that seem unnecessary and do nothing more than muddle what is happening in the season. However the directing is perfectly dark and the atmosphere is never lacking in creepiness. The acting is phenomenal as well!
  8. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Второй сезон на фоне первого - большой шаг вперед. Мрачная атмосфера Брайерклиффа заставит любого почувствовать себя психом и в этом главное достоинство второго сезона.
  9. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    Is American Horror Story: Asylum as good as Murder House? No. However, Asylum is full of surprises and full of dark, terrifying moments that force you to look away from the screen. The writing is good; damned good actually, and the talent backs it up 6,000 percent. My only complaint is that the plot comes together very strangely, and in a lot of cases it fails to make sense, but that's only with a small handful of characters. Expand
  10. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    American Horror Story: Asylum was a crazy and freaky ride, but a great plot line that became a swift denouement that couldn't really catch its feet after the midseason break.
  11. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollo y mi votación es de 8. Un saludo.
  12. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    American Horror Story:Asylum was a very fun,thrilling ride.I enjoyed it thoroughly and overall the season delivered in the thrills,the horror,the violence and dark imagery.The show sets such a dark,horroifying tone this season and the Asylum is very atmospheric and mysterious.A multitude of twisted characters inhabit this world including an ex-Nazi,a devil-possessed nun,and a mysterious killer by the name of "Bloodyface". The acting was very consistant this season and Jessica Lange was as great as she always is.The supernatural forces at play was kicked up this season with angels,devils,aliens being thrown into the mix.But in the end,it all works perfectly.Very unpredictable show,and enough to satisfy any Horror Fan or fan of great TV shows.If your a fan of classic horror and shows like "Tales from the Crypt" definitely check out American Horror Story:Asylum.Very fun,entertaining show to watch. Expand
  13. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Just like the first season this is a solid Horrr series, and while I think the first one has the upper hand it's only slightly as both are fantastic. Great to see a number of cast members back, and playing different roles also! It got slightly disjointed towards the end but I think it had a great final episode. Overall very impressive and I'm really looking forward to Season 3!
  14. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Much better that the first season. Plot amazing. Actors fabulous. Sarah paulson gorgeous. Jessica Lange does have my respect. This season is really in an other level than the first one. It is scary, entertaining and sexy in the same time. A good one. A must-watch
  15. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    When Season 2 started, you just knew that this would be fun. The show was already up to its standard bearings as the craziest, most psycho show on television. Then it kind of went off the deep end. They started telling the story with good intentions, but soon fell off. They didn't give me a reason to even care that Bloody Face's son was even his son. Why should I have cared? I shouldn't have, and I didn't. But, throughout the show they kept cutting to meaningless scenes with him. I got it, he's messed up because his father was a serial killer and his mother tried to abort him. And then the common theme of the season was pregnancy. And I noticed this with Season 1 as well. Why? Why are they giving birth? And why are they having them all together, it seemed. And another thing that brought the show down was aliens. The belief of Aliens. You could have just kept it there all in Kit's head, but no. Expansion was your game. And you played it. You played this season down into the ground. It literally became, one of the greatest shows on TV to one of the most boring, dull, shows of all time. Hopefully they strike fire and do good with the fresh start with Season 3. Expand
  16. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely loved the first Season it was good horror show for those who appreciate horror. Season 2 the Asylum begun as hardcore horror it was visceral, grotesque, traumatic and definitely not for the squeamish. I was quite sickened at times through its approach to horror, although this is what good horror should do, make the viewer horrified and cringe. As this season dragged on and on. It became more and more repetitive becoming implausible, almost as insane as the inmates themselves. Drawing the viewer into absolute boredom away from all the starting shock treatment they had received from its first episodes. Upon the episodes leading to the final and finale I am absolutely disgusted at the way this series has robbed my time going for trauma to utter crap. The final was in the effect of happily ever after, and never never land. I was no longer no horrified but enraged. Everything in its ending was drawn up to a neat close no loose ends in a ditched effort to appease audiences who never where its fans. What should have been a hardcore ending was some wimpy kid dying in his mother arms from the **** killing him. Seriously, CMON now? They could have done something horrific in the effect of. Lange that evil nun granny, being found in a pile of feces murmuring her last words to the reporter from her leper body as she squawks her finale dying breath with death laughing at her. Kit's children were created by aliens, why not have them kill the Cardinal in some apocalyptic way after Kit was abducted. The evil reporter **** should have been killed by BloodyFace 2, no doubt about that. He should have do this in some horrible, visceral way, then ending with him being lead to an asylum. Then it would have completed this seasons circle, or at least dying in a double KO in his mothers arms drinking that milk he never had. Season 3 is coming later this year I have lost all faith in this ****y horror. The french are some of the best at horror they don't hold their punches back, or maybe go read a Ketchum to get a better idea of evil. This Hollywood crap is ridiculous. I can only assume next season will be shot using Blair Witch camera's, using paranormal activity effects, and the hero will be played by a cow ending with moo. They really should write Old MacDonalds farm instead of making a horror series. When it ends in that happily ever after, never never land. The thing I hate the most about this episode is that a lot of **** blogs are praising this episode as it epitomised evil, yea right . The only evil thing it did was anyone who doesn't agree with their weak review doesn't have their say. What an awful series which had some starting promise but then became weaker, and weaker. The only horror was afflicting the viewer with boredom Expand
  17. May 18, 2013
    2
    An overcomplicated, and rather tedious followup to a fun and intriguing first season. I hated season two of this show. The acting is still good, and there are some scares here and there, but this season never manages to lift off the ground. The story is schizophrenic, and has no real vision of what it is trying to be. I know I am in the minority here, but seriously this season left a bad taste in my mouth. I won't watch season three. Disappointed. Expand
  18. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    Pretty good show. Jessica Lange carries the show. The writing isn't as tight as, say, Breaking Bad but it's okay. Not very scary but entertaining none the less.
  19. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    The second season exceeds all expectations. There are no limits, everything's possible and no one's safe. All the actors deliver amazing performances (Jessica lange, Lily Rabe...). The addition of The Lovers couple from the present makes the show all more fun and exciting. The writers are so cruel to the characters and soon enough you'll start feeling bad about the worst ones.
  20. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great season so far. Only real complaint is the alien subplot. Does not feel like it meshes well. But it is only brought up in passing as opposed to being central to the main story. Everything is moving at a good steady pace. I like the fact they change stories each season. Wish they would have done more with the modern serial killer subplot though. Expand
  21. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love, Love this show it manges to capture a dark side of me the first season 7/10 the rest 10/10 the story lines are amazing and the quality of acting is great the current season 3 covers the true story off Mrs Delphine LaLaurie as cruel vile woman who is famous in New Orleans for her torture and cruelty towards slaves and the ancestors of her captives seeking revenge upon her the writer need to keep up the good work i learned a small piece of history watching this, the actors need to stay and continue the amazing job WATCH THIS NOW ! its booth entertaining and intriguing . Expand
  22. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    If you thought that season one of this show was crazy, this season is bat**** crazy. The writers seem to be throwing all kinds of **** at the ceiling and seeing if any of it sticks.
  23. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    A vast improvement upon the sometimes entertaining season 1. Jessica Lange excels yet again. Great plot twists and genuinely creepy (especially in the finale). Definitely worth the time if you enjoy horror.
  24. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Asylum is definitely better than Season 1. Unfortunately, I don't find this season to be scary at all. It has a compelling and thrilling storyline but the scare tricks do not work for me. But it has a good mixture of demons, aliens, and Nazis in its crazy subplot. Lange and Cromwell's performance are irresistible. I'm definitely stoked for this show and cannot wait for more!
  25. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    one of the most surreal crazy tv show.... got every horror genre in it, alien, ghost, creatures, mad scientist, demons yet somehow, everything is kept tight..... looooooove it....
  26. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Jessica Lange is no doubt the star of this show. She was, in my opinion, pretty much the sole stand out in season one but season two has also added the amazing actors of Lily Rabe, Sister Mary Eunice, and Sarah Paulson, Lana Winters. This season these three women are in a league of their own and make this season the best season so far.
  27. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Asylum starts out strong, trippy, and a bit disgusting (in a good way). Characters this season include many psychopaths, murderers, religious figures, doctors, aliens, and a mysterious "Bloody Face". I can't wait for each week's upcoming episode. Expand
  28. May 18, 2013
    9
    It is highly disturbing and anti-religious in some scenes, it is of coarse very scary, sexy and clever, it is so intense and creepy, recommended and one of the greatest
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Does it add up to a coherent whole? Impossible to say so far. Asylum is, in its opening episodes, more energetic and impishly funny than its predecessor.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    63
    It's dark, big-top sadism, and we wait for a story to emerge. [5 Nov 2012, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Oct 17, 2012
    75
    Like a good scare? How about a bad scare? Or a thousand scares, good and bad and crazy? Season 2 of "American Horror Story," subtitled Asylum, is for you.