• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 282

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    one of the most surreal crazy tv show.... got every horror genre in it, alien, ghost, creatures, mad scientist, demons yet somehow, everything is kept tight..... looooooove it....
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Just finished watching last night's episode with the good Psychiatrist and his lampshade making hobby. Gotta say, compared to last season, this seems like a really stupid mish-mash of scary movie rip-offs (Exorcist, Silence of the Lambs, One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, with a sprinkle of Nazi's, aliens and monsters thrown in for good measure) with no real substance to the story line. The first season slowly built an interesting and compelling story, whereas this season only seems interested in shocking people with it's 'grossness' each week (i.e., what scary thing can we do to people next? Oh, Lobotomy, cut off their limbs, sterilize them). SO NOT IMPRESSED. If it doesn't get better soon, I'm not going to watch it anymore. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Good script, tight direction and editing, and an anti-hero sycophant's feast! Love it because it takes subject matter that lends itself to caricature, farce and camp absurdity and elevates it above the B grade refuse that passes for drama these days. Critics will eviscerate it simply because of the title, but their ignorant disdain for an original and captivating series is irrelevant. Enjoy!
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    American Horror Story: Asylum is hands down, the best dramatic show on TV. Very fresh, fast paced, entertaining, surprising with great acting, ballsy script writing, great direction, and cinematography. All other dramas on TV are garbage when compared to this monumentally amazing show. Jessica Lange is amazing, but where is the nominations for everyone else on the show?! I feel like all other shows on TV have no balls, and don't take any risks. Asylum has a very awesome sense of twisted humor. AHSA can be quite frightening, but in a very excitingly chilling way. A MUST WATCH! Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    6
    There were moments in the episode where I didn't quite get it: the opening scene with the couple breaking into the Asylum seemed pointless, and the alien invasion scene, which to me didn't quite fit the story. Besides that I thought the episode stayed true to what 'American Horror Story' is, a fun, campy, and unusual series that you can't help but watch.
  6. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    This season is going to be a very fun ride! Jessica Lange is fabulous as always, the other returning cast members seem to be doing well with their new roles, and while after the premiere it does seem like a hodgepodge of different spooky story lines, there is no doubt that the show won't stop being one of the most entertaining things on television.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    I definitely like where they have taken the show this season. They have really cranked it up a couple notches. Makes me wondering where Season 3 is going to go. I mean it is a little all over the places, but they stay focused with their crazy storytelling and try to only go so far before bringing it back in. Very interested in seeing how this will all play out in the end.
  8. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. American Horror Story is back and there is more horror than ever! Instead of following in the footsteps of the Harmon family like the first season, which was brilliant, we are now taken to a 1960s Briarcliffe; a dark and cruel mental asylum where this year's horror is now taking place. This season shows us many horrors such as aliens, nazis, serial killers and demons, but it faces human problems like racism and other problems. The writing in this season is top-notch and is constantly unpredictable; you expect the season to go one way and it takes you into another. The acting is, as always, brilliant, especially from Jessica Lange and Frances Conroy, who are always fantastic at whatever role they portray. Lily Rabe's Sister Eunice was by-far my favourite character in the series; she had the ability to be completely unlikable and utterly lovable at the same time, and also was menacing and hilarious at the same time as well. Speaking of menacing, Zachary Quinto's Thredson (SPOILER! Who is later revealed to be Bloody Face; one of the main horrors this season) was utterly frightening and disturbing and whenever he made his presence on screen, fear as well as a grin will be brought out from viewers. All together; the acting and the characters were both great. All together, American Horror Story: Asylum is fantastic horror TV that outdoes the last amazing season; though viewers be warner this season will provide grotesque, graphic and shocking moments that will break the boundaries of TV...and that is why American Horror Story is amazing. Looking forward to the next season. Expand
  9. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers. Acting is ok, Nothing to really complain about. The story is fine as well but my biggest problem with it is that not all questions were answered by the end of the season and it's rather frustrating sitting through an entire season to still have unanswered questions (mainly involving the aliens). The show definently fades in the second half and the whole son of bloody-face plot was just plain stupid, and rather predictable as well, It could have been a lot better. Poor writing definently ruined this season imo. Collapse
  10. May 18, 2013
    2
    An overcomplicated, and rather tedious followup to a fun and intriguing first season. I hated season two of this show. The acting is still good, and there are some scares here and there, but this season never manages to lift off the ground. The story is schizophrenic, and has no real vision of what it is trying to be. I know I am in the minority here, but seriously this season left a bad taste in my mouth. I won't watch season three. Disappointed. Expand
  11. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    American Horror Story: Asylum was a crazy and freaky ride, but a great plot line that became a swift denouement that couldn't really catch its feet after the midseason break.
  12. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    American Horror Story: Asylum. I've been waiting for a long time to watch this show. Pilot was a little unusual, but it was likeable. I loved Jessica Lange's performance and the entire production desgin of the asylum is just fabulous. Looking forward to upcoming episodes, this show can do better.
  13. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    Extremely well directed and creepy. The only problem is that there are certain plot elements that seem unnecessary and do nothing more than muddle what is happening in the season. However the directing is perfectly dark and the atmosphere is never lacking in creepiness. The acting is phenomenal as well!
  14. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    The second season exceeds all expectations. There are no limits, everything's possible and no one's safe. All the actors deliver amazing performances (Jessica lange, Lily Rabe...). The addition of The Lovers couple from the present makes the show all more fun and exciting. The writers are so cruel to the characters and soon enough you'll start feeling bad about the worst ones.
  15. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    If you thought that season one of this show was crazy, this season is bat**** crazy. The writers seem to be throwing all kinds of **** at the ceiling and seeing if any of it sticks.
  16. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Jessica Lange is no doubt the star of this show. She was, in my opinion, pretty much the sole stand out in season one but season two has also added the amazing actors of Lily Rabe, Sister Mary Eunice, and Sarah Paulson, Lana Winters. This season these three women are in a league of their own and make this season the best season so far.
  17. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    When Season 2 started, you just knew that this would be fun. The show was already up to its standard bearings as the craziest, most psycho show on television. Then it kind of went off the deep end. They started telling the story with good intentions, but soon fell off. They didn't give me a reason to even care that Bloody Face's son was even his son. Why should I have cared? I shouldn't have, and I didn't. But, throughout the show they kept cutting to meaningless scenes with him. I got it, he's messed up because his father was a serial killer and his mother tried to abort him. And then the common theme of the season was pregnancy. And I noticed this with Season 1 as well. Why? Why are they giving birth? And why are they having them all together, it seemed. And another thing that brought the show down was aliens. The belief of Aliens. You could have just kept it there all in Kit's head, but no. Expansion was your game. And you played it. You played this season down into the ground. It literally became, one of the greatest shows on TV to one of the most boring, dull, shows of all time. Hopefully they strike fire and do good with the fresh start with Season 3. Expand
  18. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Asylum starts out strong, trippy, and a bit disgusting (in a good way). Characters this season include many psychopaths, murderers, religious figures, doctors, aliens, and a mysterious "Bloody Face". I can't wait for each week's upcoming episode. Expand
  19. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    American Horror Story is one of the best horror series i watched. First season was awesome,and second season is even better. Nice work,and keep it up.
  20. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great season so far. Only real complaint is the alien subplot. Does not feel like it meshes well. But it is only brought up in passing as opposed to being central to the main story. Everything is moving at a good steady pace. I like the fact they change stories each season. Wish they would have done more with the modern serial killer subplot though. Expand
  21. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    A vast improvement upon the sometimes entertaining season 1. Jessica Lange excels yet again. Great plot twists and genuinely creepy (especially in the finale). Definitely worth the time if you enjoy horror.
  22. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    Pretty good show. Jessica Lange carries the show. The writing isn't as tight as, say, Breaking Bad but it's okay. Not very scary but entertaining none the less.
  23. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely loved the first Season it was good horror show for those who appreciate horror. Season 2 the Asylum begun as hardcore horror it was visceral, grotesque, traumatic and definitely not for the squeamish. I was quite sickened at times through its approach to horror, although this is what good horror should do, make the viewer horrified and cringe. As this season dragged on and on. It became more and more repetitive becoming implausible, almost as insane as the inmates themselves. Drawing the viewer into absolute boredom away from all the starting shock treatment they had received from its first episodes. Upon the episodes leading to the final and finale I am absolutely disgusted at the way this series has robbed my time going for trauma to utter crap. The final was in the effect of happily ever after, and never never land. I was no longer no horrified but enraged. Everything in its ending was drawn up to a neat close no loose ends in a ditched effort to appease audiences who never where its fans. What should have been a hardcore ending was some wimpy kid dying in his mother arms from the **** killing him. Seriously, CMON now? They could have done something horrific in the effect of. Lange that evil nun granny, being found in a pile of feces murmuring her last words to the reporter from her leper body as she squawks her finale dying breath with death laughing at her. Kit's children were created by aliens, why not have them kill the Cardinal in some apocalyptic way after Kit was abducted. The evil reporter **** should have been killed by BloodyFace 2, no doubt about that. He should have do this in some horrible, visceral way, then ending with him being lead to an asylum. Then it would have completed this seasons circle, or at least dying in a double KO in his mothers arms drinking that milk he never had. Season 3 is coming later this year I have lost all faith in this ****y horror. The french are some of the best at horror they don't hold their punches back, or maybe go read a Ketchum to get a better idea of evil. This Hollywood crap is ridiculous. I can only assume next season will be shot using Blair Witch camera's, using paranormal activity effects, and the hero will be played by a cow ending with moo. They really should write Old MacDonalds farm instead of making a horror series. When it ends in that happily ever after, never never land. The thing I hate the most about this episode is that a lot of **** blogs are praising this episode as it epitomised evil, yea right . The only evil thing it did was anyone who doesn't agree with their weak review doesn't have their say. What an awful series which had some starting promise but then became weaker, and weaker. The only horror was afflicting the viewer with boredom Expand
  24. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Just like the first season this is a solid Horrr series, and while I think the first one has the upper hand it's only slightly as both are fantastic. Great to see a number of cast members back, and playing different roles also! It got slightly disjointed towards the end but I think it had a great final episode. Overall very impressive and I'm really looking forward to Season 3!
  25. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Don't get me wrong, I LOVE AHS--its ideas, themes, and aesthetic have fueled my eager anticipation and faithful viewing every week--but the plot and writing for Asylum are SIMPLY WEAK! About 7 different storylines (i.e. demon possession, serial killer, nazis, aliens, medical experimentation/ mutants, etc) running at 1000 miles/min perpetually generating and "resolving" minor, insignificant conflicts without making any real progress. Recently, characters are behaving in increasingly uncharacteristic, unbelievable ways despite the underlying "insanity" theme, and sporadic soft core porn cheapens and disrupts the spooky/mysterious atmosphere.

    Most frustrating: AHS has the potential to make some intriguing social/psychological/political commentary and make its viewers think BUT IT DOESN'T. BUT: Despite all this I still like watching it and i will continue to watch it :)
    Expand
  26. May 18, 2013
    9
    It is highly disturbing and anti-religious in some scenes, it is of coarse very scary, sexy and clever, it is so intense and creepy, recommended and one of the greatest
  27. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let’s speak with candidness and honesty; aliens always seem a bit far-fetched. However, in season two of American Horror Story, known as Asylum, serial killers, exorcisms, hauntings, mad scientists, insane asylums, monsters, AND aliens are all pieced together to construct hooking horror television show. The season opens with an abandoned mental institution and a couple who has set off to explore it. As they enter its walls, the setting reverts back to 1964, and the story begins with a female reporter, Lana Winters, who is attempting to expose Briarcliff Mental Institution, a home for the criminally insane, of its corruption. In the process, she comes to discover a new serial killer that is being housed there as he awaits trial. When Winters is denied the story by a nun that is running the institution, Winters trespasses on to the property. Discovered by the despotic head-nun, Sister Jude, Lana Winters is blackmailed, punished, and committed to the asylum for her homosexuality. Behind Briarcliff Mental Institution’s closed doors, all sanity is left as you embark on a twisting journey, with an ever-thickening plot, in to the despairing depths of crazy. Created and produced by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk, American Horror Story: Asylum is one season in an anthological series that takes place in various locations. Each season has its own unrelated plot, characters, and horrors. First airing on FX in October 2011, American Horror Story: Haunted House delivered the series concept, and left viewers wanting more, as the biggest new cable series of 2011. Answering wishes, American Horror Story: Asylum began in October 2012 and aired its last episode on January 23. With 35 series award nominations and eight awards, clues to season three are being revealed and excitement is building, after a somewhat surprising ending to the spook-filled season. In watching American Horror Story: Asylum, the detailed plot is not only an attention ‘getter,’ but ‘keeper’ as well. Opening with a horror-packed episode, the series is sure to capture an audience. With each new episode, the characters’ lives are revealed, giving the viewer insights in to those that are sane, insane, and destined for the asylum. One of the highlights of the season is Jessica Lange’s portrayal of Judy Martin, also known as Sister Jude. As you see her character intensify, so does Lange’s acting ability. Her role hits a character turning point when she is committed to the asylum, and the viewer must feel Sister Jude’s agony as she is abandoned and left to handle the horrors herself. The deconstruction she faces leaves the viewer wondering how far writers Murphy and Falchuk are willing to retreat in to the complexities of darkness. The casting of each of the characters was done flawlessly, as each story elicits different fears and emotions. Another credit to the creators is their ability to write and face controversial issues. From homosexuality, to inter-racial marriages, religion to the American Health Care System, American Horror Story: Asylum is bursting with divisive material, and yet it is ultimately what makes the show so captivating to watch. No matter is too provocative and no issue is too scandalous. There is brilliance to be found in the complexities of controversy. However, one issue seemingly kept the show from achieving perfection. Despite the comprehensive plot, the story did seem to resolve too soon. Although all loose ends were neatly packaged, the show’s ending seemed rushed. Due to the content, the series has an air of endlessness, and sadly it seems to culminate while the characters are still developing. Regardless, it is clothed in genius and opens viewers to a new and upcoming anthological horror genre. Due to some of the content, it is definitely recommended for a mature audience who seeks drama, scandal, horror, and an all-inclusive journey every week. Season three is anxiously awaited. Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Si la primer temporada te gusto esta te va a encantar. Ahora es mucho mas psicológico metiendo a extraterrestres y un final no esperado a pesar de no tuvo tantos giros como la primer temporada pero su historia y personajes hicieron de "Asylum" una gran temporada.espero con ansias la tercer temporada.
  29. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    American Horror Story:Asylum was a very fun,thrilling ride.I enjoyed it thoroughly and overall the season delivered in the thrills,the horror,the violence and dark imagery.The show sets such a dark,horroifying tone this season and the Asylum is very atmospheric and mysterious.A multitude of twisted characters inhabit this world including an ex-Nazi,a devil-possessed nun,and a mysterious killer by the name of "Bloodyface". The acting was very consistant this season and Jessica Lange was as great as she always is.The supernatural forces at play was kicked up this season with angels,devils,aliens being thrown into the mix.But in the end,it all works perfectly.Very unpredictable show,and enough to satisfy any Horror Fan or fan of great TV shows.If your a fan of classic horror and shows like "Tales from the Crypt" definitely check out American Horror Story:Asylum.Very fun,entertaining show to watch. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Does it add up to a coherent whole? Impossible to say so far. Asylum is, in its opening episodes, more energetic and impishly funny than its predecessor.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    63
    It's dark, big-top sadism, and we wait for a story to emerge. [5 Nov 2012, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Oct 17, 2012
    75
    Like a good scare? How about a bad scare? Or a thousand scares, good and bad and crazy? Season 2 of "American Horror Story," subtitled Asylum, is for you.