• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 419 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two of the horror series begins with newlyweds Leo and Teresa stopping at Briarcliff Manor, an abandoned Catholic sanitarium. In the 1960s, Sister Jude (Jessica Lange) and Dr. Oliver Thredson (Zachary Quinto) had opposing ideas about treatment for the inmates who lived there.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    It's to the credit of Asylum's writers, directors and cast that the emotional pain of the characters often feels as real as their uncertainty and terror.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Asylum delivers a much more evocative nightmare gallery without losing any of the franchise's provocative, look-ma-I'm-screaming bravado.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Asylum dives right in on racism, homophobia and sexism, and wrings something emotional out of them.
  4. Reviewed by: Zeba Blay
    Oct 16, 2012
    75
    The most interesting thing here is the show's willingness to take risks: killing off major characters, running about 18 different plot lines at once, incorporating racy psycho-sexual and religious undertones, asking more questions than it intends to answer.
  5. 70
    This is still a cheeky, trashy, nasty series, one that'll do or show pretty much anything if it thinks it'll get a rise out of you. But its sense of itself has become more refined.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    63
    It's dark, big-top sadism, and we wait for a story to emerge. [5 Nov 2012, p.41]
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 16, 2012
    25
    Some of its imagery is arresting. But this is mostly a sorry, unfortunate and even contemptuous enterprise.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 56
  2. Negative: 4 out of 56
  1. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love, Love this show it manges to capture a dark side of me the first season 7/10 the rest 10/10 the story lines are amazing and the quality of acting is great the current season 3 covers the true story off Mrs Delphine LaLaurie as cruel vile woman who is famous in New Orleans for her torture and cruelty towards slaves and the ancestors of her captives seeking revenge upon her the writer need to keep up the good work i learned a small piece of history watching this, the actors need to stay and continue the amazing job WATCH THIS NOW ! its booth entertaining and intriguing . Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    I do not have much detail to give about this review but I was compelled to write a review. It hit me very emotionally and the characters feltI do not have much detail to give about this review but I was compelled to write a review. It hit me very emotionally and the characters felt real. I do not watch television/movies very often because I have never been very impressed but this season changed it for me. It made me feel different about my life after watching it, I felt legitimately happy and sad during parts. I cried during the last episode; it tied the whole season together VERY well. This is my all time favorite display of media; books, movies, stories, all of it. It can be very graphic but it adds to the realism of the story. I felt though as I had watched a movie or read a book, but I understand why it is a TV series. The emotion could not be captured in simply two hours. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Just like the first season this is a solid Horrr series, and while I think the first one has the upper hand it's only slightly as both areJust like the first season this is a solid Horrr series, and while I think the first one has the upper hand it's only slightly as both are fantastic. Great to see a number of cast members back, and playing different roles also! It got slightly disjointed towards the end but I think it had a great final episode. Overall very impressive and I'm really looking forward to Season 3! Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Второй сезон на фоне первого - большой шаг вперед. Мрачная атмосфера Брайерклиффа заставит любого почувствовать себя психом и в этом главноеВторой сезон на фоне первого - большой шаг вперед. Мрачная атмосфера Брайерклиффа заставит любого почувствовать себя психом и в этом главное достоинство второго сезона. Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    A vast improvement upon the sometimes entertaining season 1. Jessica Lange excels yet again. Great plot twists and genuinely creepyA vast improvement upon the sometimes entertaining season 1. Jessica Lange excels yet again. Great plot twists and genuinely creepy (especially in the finale). Definitely worth the time if you enjoy horror. Expand
  6. May 5, 2014
    0
    I watched all 12 episodes of AHS season one and like a good book,i couldn't putt down.
    But was I ever disappointed in season two.
    I want
    I watched all 12 episodes of AHS season one and like a good book,i couldn't putt down.
    But was I ever disappointed in season two.
    I want Violet back! and the housekeeper!
    There was never anything close to the originality of season,two,but after buying only2 of AHS Season 2,I won't buy anymore nor watch anymore.
    Season two is a horror in itself.Shame on you for cheap old used tricks!
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  3. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  4. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.