American Horror Story : Season 2

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
American Horror Story Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 633 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Season two of the horror series begins with newlyweds Leo and Teresa stopping at Briarcliff Manor, an abandoned Catholic sanitarium. In the 1960s, Sister Jude (Jessica Lange) and Dr. Oliver Thredson (Zachary Quinto) had opposing ideas about treatment for the inmates who lived there.
  • Genre(s): Horror

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    It's to the credit of Asylum's writers, directors and cast that the emotional pain of the characters often feels as real as their uncertainty and terror.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Asylum delivers a much more evocative nightmare gallery without losing any of the franchise's provocative, look-ma-I'm-screaming bravado.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Asylum dives right in on racism, homophobia and sexism, and wrings something emotional out of them.
  4. Reviewed by: Zeba Blay
    Oct 16, 2012
    75
    The most interesting thing here is the show's willingness to take risks: killing off major characters, running about 18 different plot lines at once, incorporating racy psycho-sexual and religious undertones, asking more questions than it intends to answer.
  5. 70
    This is still a cheeky, trashy, nasty series, one that'll do or show pretty much anything if it thinks it'll get a rise out of you. But its sense of itself has become more refined.
  6. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    63
    It's dark, big-top sadism, and we wait for a story to emerge. [5 Nov 2012, p.41]
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 16, 2012
    25
    Some of its imagery is arresting. But this is mostly a sorry, unfortunate and even contemptuous enterprise.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 5 out of 63
  1. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    And how exactly do you top off a season like MURDER HOUSE? With its erratic twists and turns and indomitable power to grasp ahold of itsAnd how exactly do you top off a season like MURDER HOUSE? With its erratic twists and turns and indomitable power to grasp ahold of its audience and really yank them in with its atmosphere, excellent script and fantastic acting, MURDER HOUSE really began AMERICAN HORROR STORY off with a loud, deafening bang. But, it is ASYLUM which proves the show can echo on; its vociferous noise was not just a twinkle of what a great show it could have been. It simply is a good show.

    The second season bases itself around the tale of Briarcliff Mental Institution and the patients, doctors and nuns which occupy its dark, dank walls. The series, however, mainly concerns closeted journalist Lana Winters (Sarah Paulson), who is committed to the asylum against her will after Sister Jude (Jessica Lange, absolutely captivating as ASYLUM'S most conflicted occupant), a sly, scary woman disgusted by Lana's "sexual perversions" and the fact that she's snooping around puts her there. What follows is even more capriciously plotted than MURDER HOUSE (as unbelievable as that sounds), more tense, calculated, and much better resolved.

    The cast do a great job (most stepping up from recurring roles in MURDER HOUSE), the show wears its Gothic influences on its sleeve and yet remains arguably the most unique show on television, meanwhilst the use of The Singing Nun's "Dominique" is maybe the single greatest use of music on TV, ever and the brutal, graphic atmosphere is savage than last time round. It's tougher to watch than last time, but much more rewarding. I again finished it in a day.

    "Domi-nique -nique -nique s'en allait tout simplement,
    Routier, pauvre et chantant.
    En tous chemins, en tous lieux,
    Il ne parle que du Bon Dieu,
    Il ne parle que du Bon Dieu."
    Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2015
    10
    This season was sooo amazing!!! Literally, this one is freaking scary and amazing.
    OMFG! You should defintly wach this series, trust me.
    This season was sooo amazing!!! Literally, this one is freaking scary and amazing.
    OMFG! You should defintly wach this series, trust me.
    .............
    Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    I loved this season a bit more than the first one (which I rated as 8 out of 10). The actors delivered perfectly, the story was thrilling upI loved this season a bit more than the first one (which I rated as 8 out of 10). The actors delivered perfectly, the story was thrilling up until the two final episodes where it got a little confusing. But the whole thing made me grin so many times and it was so fun that I had to give this season 9 point. And the final line was creepy and amazing at the same time, making the finale absolutely memorable. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    While the cinematography is better than the inaugural season, Asylum is less consistent and gets a little bit too twisty at times. I loveWhile the cinematography is better than the inaugural season, Asylum is less consistent and gets a little bit too twisty at times. I love twists, but this season keeps too many things hidden for too long that it gets a little bit frustrating to wait for the next episode each week. What I love from the show is its efforts on mixing facts up with fictions that some conspiracy-junkies out there might actually think that the show is solely based on true events while it really is just making references to popular culture. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Asylum is definitely better than Season 1. Unfortunately, I don't find this season to be scary at all. It has a compelling and thrillingAsylum is definitely better than Season 1. Unfortunately, I don't find this season to be scary at all. It has a compelling and thrilling storyline but the scare tricks do not work for me. But it has a good mixture of demons, aliens, and Nazis in its crazy subplot. Lange and Cromwell's performance are irresistible. I'm definitely stoked for this show and cannot wait for more! Expand
  6. May 5, 2014
    0
    I watched all 12 episodes of AHS season one and like a good book,i couldn't putt down.
    But was I ever disappointed in season two.
    I want
    I watched all 12 episodes of AHS season one and like a good book,i couldn't putt down.
    But was I ever disappointed in season two.
    I want Violet back! and the housekeeper!
    There was never anything close to the originality of season,two,but after buying only2 of AHS Season 2,I won't buy anymore nor watch anymore.
    Season two is a horror in itself.Shame on you for cheap old used tricks!
    Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  4. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  5. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.