• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
American Horror Story Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two of the horror series begins with newlyweds Leo and Teresa stopping at Briarcliff Manor, an abandoned Catholic sanitarium. In the 1960s, Sister Jude (Jessica Lange) and Dr. Oliver Thredson (Zachary Quinto) had opposing ideas about treatment for the inmates who lived there.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    It's to the credit of Asylum's writers, directors and cast that the emotional pain of the characters often feels as real as their uncertainty and terror.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Asylum dives right in on racism, homophobia and sexism, and wrings something emotional out of them.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    So far it works.... Asylum feels like a more focused, if equally frenetic, screamfest. It's also gorgeously realized.
  4. Reviewed by: Zeba Blay
    Oct 16, 2012
    75
    The most interesting thing here is the show's willingness to take risks: killing off major characters, running about 18 different plot lines at once, incorporating racy psycho-sexual and religious undertones, asking more questions than it intends to answer.
  5. 70
    This is still a cheeky, trashy, nasty series, one that'll do or show pretty much anything if it thinks it'll get a rise out of you. But its sense of itself has become more refined.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    63
    It's dark, big-top sadism, and we wait for a story to emerge. [5 Nov 2012, p.41]
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 16, 2012
    25
    Some of its imagery is arresting. But this is mostly a sorry, unfortunate and even contemptuous enterprise.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Halfway through this season and I'm scared outta my mind. The friggen beginning is scary too lol.
    Super good and amazing actors. The horror,
    gore, twist and turns, it's "insane" pun intended.
    Very good and crazy show.
    Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    If you thought that season one of this show was crazy, this season is bat**** crazy. The writers seem to be throwing all kinds of **** at the ceiling and seeing if any of it sticks. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Asylum starts out strong, trippy, and a bit disgusting (in a good way). Characters this season include many psychopaths, murderers, religious figures, doctors, aliens, and a mysterious "Bloody Face". I can't wait for each week's upcoming episode. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Asylum is definitely better than Season 1. Unfortunately, I don't find this season to be scary at all. It has a compelling and thrilling storyline but the scare tricks do not work for me. But it has a good mixture of demons, aliens, and Nazis in its crazy subplot. Lange and Cromwell's performance are irresistible. I'm definitely stoked for this show and cannot wait for more! Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    I definitely like where they have taken the show this season. They have really cranked it up a couple notches. Makes me wondering where Season 3 is going to go. I mean it is a little all over the places, but they stay focused with their crazy storytelling and try to only go so far before bringing it back in. Very interested in seeing how this will all play out in the end. Expand
  6. May 5, 2014
    0
    I watched all 12 episodes of AHS season one and like a good book,i couldn't putt down.
    But was I ever disappointed in season two.
    I want
    Violet back! and the housekeeper!
    There was never anything close to the originality of season,two,but after buying only2 of AHS Season 2,I won't buy anymore nor watch anymore.
    Season two is a horror in itself.Shame on you for cheap old used tricks!
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  3. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  4. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.