• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 203

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Best series opening of the Autumn thus far, strong cast especially from Lange, who's always been the figurehead of this anthology series strong script, perhaps occasionally over-stylized at parts yet all together I loved it.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    1
    season 1 was fantastic. a true American horror story. beautiful in its darkness. season 2 was mental, crazy but I couldn't take my eyes away. pure American horror. but 3? (and by the way im british). witches with super powers? come on!!! its like watching a teen movie in the back row of the cinema. and what a let down. witches can be the scariest things of em all. you guys have the witch trials but look into medieval history. I know you wont like it but look into European history on witches. they will make your turn white. I turned it of in the second episode when the head mistress used the word magic. rubbish. magic is gone. but witchcraft lives on. and the writers/directors made a pigs ear of it. terrible. sorry guys but do your research first. true witches would have made the viewers piss there pants. sorry but epic fail from me. its like watching an eighties teen flick. I hope season 4 goes back true to style. if you get one after this shambles. witches? what a waste Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I'm a big fan of this show since the beggining and this season is going to be kickass like the last one and this new cast has is just amazing, i am so glad it's back.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    3
    So far this season functions as a teenage girl drama. The plot is unfocused and sloppy and the dialogue is mediocre. The main problem is that this largely lacks the horror element.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    Rating this season higher than the previous two is an act of madness ! I hated from the first time the notice that Taissa Farmiga would be return in the cast; i think she's the worst actress in the USA ( at least ).
    AHS is become a teen-drama, not a horror, and low-level series full of nasty, blood and rough things. I mean, it has to be in some way like this, with withces and their
    macabre rituals, but Taissa Farmiga change the nature of the series into a low-teen-drama-trouble-heart-series.
    This season ? Failed.
    Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    4
    Man, after an amazing first season this show just keeps going downhill and season 3 takes that to a whole new level. This season doesn't even feel like American Horror Story, I heard it was going to be a little different but holy s***. Most people I know turned it down after the first episodes, (witches with superpowers and cliche high school personalities) me being hopeful decided to stick around but it only gets worse with each episode. I seriously don't know what the writers were thinking, it seems as if they got bored with their own plot and decided to spice things by adding/changing last minute stuff making everything else pointless.
    In short, the characters are unappealing, the story is a ridiculous mess, and overall not that interesting.
    Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    The camp factor is still really high, but unlike 'Asylum', 'Coven' has a compelling story to tell. The premiere was the best hour of 'AHS' that I've seen, and most importantly, it left me wanting more.
  8. Oct 19, 2013
    3
    I LOVED season one, the whole haunted house vibe, the family dynamic. But like most shows, they are written as they go and season two was all over the place, nazi’s, aliens, mutants, demons…
    Now season three, well I made it thru two episodes and realized it’s not for me and most male audiences. Can’t wait for season four, and please new cast! Jessica Lange was brilliant in the first
    season, now she’s playing the same role with a different character on each season. Expand
  9. Jan 17, 2014
    0
    With all the different kinds of characters the series really had a potential to deliver well balanced story. It reminded me the first season of "Heroes". But later on it all became a total mess (story and direction wise). After watching episodes 10 and 11 I got so confused I had to check maybe I missed some chapter! and I don't think it can get better in 1-2 chapters left. I just watch it for beautiful clothes and sets now. Expand
  10. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    In terms of first episodes, It was rather generic. It was good enough to suck you in but not good enough to say it was good/great. I had as a 6.5 overall through out but more leaning towards a 6 and not a 7 because it was just not that satisfying. It was enjoyable and it certainly kept you interested but it could have been better.

    To be honest, I don't have high hopes for this season. I
    think it will be rather slow at times, mix up mid-season, and like the previous 2 seasons it will end poorly. Only time will tell if Coven will be the same as the previous 2 seasons or charge for the better. Expand
  11. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    American Horror Story delivered yet again with an engrossing premier, already filled with twists and turns, and brimming with immense potential. This season has all the mystery and unsettling imagery you've come to expect from the series, while yet again creating a rich fictional world that is both dementedly fantastic and somehow believable. Part of it's realism no doubt comes from the stellar cast, which absolutely kills it every season. Overall I think this was a very strong premier and will likely be a very strong season, as the writers continue to develop already strong characters, and un-apologetically thrust them into unsavory situations. Expand
  12. Jan 24, 2014
    5
    This season is insanely boring. At this point who cares who is the supreme? The enemies keep changing, not enough action or scarines, season 2 the pinnacle of this show for me so far. Here's hoping to next season being better. Over it.
  13. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I think this season has to have one of the best openers so far. Its chilling, gory and just so great. The cast is fantastic, and the opening scene really hooks you in.
  14. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    It's campy!

    But that isn't bad! To be brief: The show is fun! It's better in storytelling than 90% of the shows currently on. Its clever and twisty narrative is quite engaging for the horror or any kind of fans. The pace is fast, compelling and simply good. The direction is stylish, funny, satirical and cool. The acting is just fine, with Lange, Bates and Bassett being top-notch as
    ever. I like the witchy, and scandalous Emma Roberts too.

    This is the only season I've watched because the others were very disgusting and gory. This was just OK.

    It's just fun! Nothing serious...
    Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This season of american horror story is really amazing. Once I found out that this season will focus on a story line of witches, I got very excited. I was although curious on how the story will introduce itself. Overall this show has a great story line, the acting is just so amazing, the show has humor, there are things you will never imagine in this show especially this season. Love this season and can't wait to see what story line there going to make for season 4. My rating: 10/10. Expand
  16. Jan 19, 2014
    2
    It seems like maybe my demographic (young male) is being purposefully ignored in the writing of this season. I'm trying to watch it but there's just too much drama and not enough real tension.
  17. Jan 15, 2014
    3
    This season seems to be disjointed and out of focus. Patti Lupone's religious nutt-job character and her son turned out to be complete throw away characters without any ultimate impact on the plot. What a waste. Kathy Bates character - wasted. Gabi's character- wasted. The build up at the winter cliff hanger was good but I still can't see where this season is going or why its going at all. You can tell they are making it up as they go along. Cordelia was a bad ass with no eyes and then an episode or two later she gets them back and is a wuss once more. So many great actors and actresses in the cast this year and they seemed to go to waste. I would have loved to know more about the mens characters this year- Spalding and Evan were great characters but not really developed. Again i suppose the point is to vanquish the corporation but then why haven't we seen more of them? underdeveloped characters in a great ensemble cast. What a waste. Expand
  18. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    altra stagione, altro plot...facile quanto riuscito come se non più dei precedenti, anche questa stagione ti droga dal primo episodio grazie a nuovi personaggi in volti più o meno soliti. un serial assolutamente da vedere per gli amanti del thrilling ma non solo.
    voto 9. bello bello ed avanti cosi.
  19. Jan 29, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been a huge fan of American Horror Story since its very begin in 2011 and have been since. I thought Murder House was fantastic and I thought Asylum was brilliant and I was highly-anticipating Coven, the third season in the series. I heard that Coven was going to be a much lighter season compared to the darkness that is Asylum, but I didn't mind as long as the season were to be good. When Coven began I was enjoying it - albeit not on par as the previous seasons, it was gruesome, funny and highly entertaining - throwing plenty of nice curveball twists at the audience. But sadly, as the season progressed, the worse it got. Featuring lame subplots, the growing annoyances of characters, plenty of plot-holes and other narrative problems - Coven began to signal the ever-worrying downfall of American Horror Story. Certain plot developments and what not were raised and dropped as the season went on (for example, Zoe's evil vagina - which was brought up early on in the season then dropped, never to be referenced again). Also some of the main plot points were rushed into conclusion (eg. Fiona/Laveau and Laveau/Lalaurie) so Coven can mainly focus of the ever-uninteresting "Supreme" plot line, which was utterly tedious and boring. I didn't necessarily mind the characters at the start of the season, but then as Coven got worse so did the characters; Evan Peters' Kyle was a totally unnecessary addition to Coven who didn't move the story along and became a huge bore every time he appeared on screen. Taissa Farmiga's Zoe was utterly annoying and boring and Farmiga's acting didn't try to improve this. I didn't like her as Violet and I didn't like her as Zoe, then again I absolutely hated Violet as a character. Gabourey Sidibe's Queenie was likeable at the beginning of the series and suddenly became a total **** there is a certain lack of justification for this due to poor writing. Emma Roberts' Madison played a likeable **** at the beginning of Coven but then became absolutely annoying. Besides fine performances from Sarah Paulson, Jessice Lange, Denis O'Hare, Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett and Lily Rabe - there were no characters I really cared for, unlike Asylum - which had me fearing for the lives of characters - this reminds me of this fact, in Coven death loses all meaning due to the constant resurrection of characters who have been killed off - which means by the end of the episode, I have lost all care for anything that happens in Coven. The best characters in the series were Lily Rabe's Misty Day and Denis O'Hare's Spalding - who were the only characters who didn't become utterly annoying towards the end of the season. The season finale of Coven was pretty awful; it was odd-paced and they focused too much on the boring "Supreme" plot line, but I did really like the final conversation between Sarah Paulson's Cordelia and Jessica Lange's Fiona, which seemed to mirror the conversation between Sarah Paulson's Lana and Dylan McDermott's Johnny in the conclusion of "Madness Ends", the brilliant Asylum finale. All together, Coven started off fantastic as a unique, highly entertaining and fun season even though it lacked the true horror that the previous seasons offered, but then it fell into a downward spiral of awfulness, featuring plenty of plot holes, annoying characters, horrible pacing and terrible writing. I truly hope that the next season, Season 4, is a much better outing than the one that Coven provides. Expand
  20. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    Ryan Murphy once again proving he cant go wrong with AHS. I'm obsessed with this one, it has in my opinion the best opening of the series so far. Witches and Monsters, you got me on Ryan Murphy. The cast is fantastic as usual, the creeps, twists, EVERYTHING. Is American Horror Story people this gets better and better. Im a freak I know and I Love American Horror Story Coven NO REGRET.
  21. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    Great season, with a perfect combination of horror, splatter, black humor and good scenario. As for the actors, I cannot emphasize enough, the quality of their work. Entertaining and fun for all horror lovers!
  22. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    This season of American Horror Story kept to one plot line much better than previous seasons. Every single thing that happened clearly related to the plot and no event seemed random. That said, there were some unresolved moments and plot holes in the finale. Other than that however between the once again stellar acting and directing season 3 was a great season.
  23. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    American Horror Story: Coven is back with a vengeance. Jessica Lang is perfect as always and is of course giving top notch acting. The addition of Cathy Bates, Gabourey Sidibe, and Emma Roberts are all great casting choices, and Kathy is perfect in the role she is given and the youth obsessed slave owner. Sarah Paulson also has a well received, well by me anyways, return to the third series of AHS and is just as good as Asylum in my opinion. Overall, just based on the pilot episode, American Horror story has made a great step forward with Coven, it is more concise and focused then Asylum and is creepier then ever, so far easily 10/10 Expand
  24. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    Loved this show in the past. This season is a little different. The story once again is unique, cleverly written and excellently executed. The acting is better than ever. But in my eyes, sexual violence is nothing that should ever be shown in any form of entertainment. Any story can always find an alternative route besides using that. Would have been a higher rating if this wasn't included. I may have to stop watching if It happens again Expand
  25. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    If not the best "American Horror Story" yet, it is one of the most compelling TV series ever made, and probably one of the best. It is funny, horrifying, disturbing and ver modern & stylish, loved every season, but "Coven" is the best, yet.
  26. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I've been a fan since the first season and each premiere has been great. Beautifully shot and well acted, as per usual. I'm really excited to see how this season develops!!!
  27. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    What I like about the the first episode is that it really introduces all the major characters and shows the audiences what to expect throughout the season. Unlike Season 2, it was just all over the place. I really hope there is no ambiguous story line and leaves some unanswered. Jessica Lange, Kathy Bate and Angela Bassett proves why they are the best in the business. Their performances was outstanding, in particular Kathy Bates totally nailed her part. The season is very promising and reminds me a bit of Charmed and Buffy but more in your throat kinda way. Expand
  28. Oct 9, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I originally chose not to watch American Horror Story when it first aired in 2011 because a friend told me it has a rape scene in it. Just recently I learned from a friend that each season of the show is entirely disconnected and functions as a separate series, so I decided to check out the third season pilot tonight, Coven. At first it started out extremely disturbing but interesting. It's phenomenal cast kept me intrigued. However, 51 minutes into the pilot, Emma Roberts was ruffied and gang raped and they showed the whole thing. I literally felt sick to my stomach. Further, Robert's character shrugs it off as if nothing happened. Regardless of whatever else the show has to offer, I will not be watching it. I strongly condemn the use of sexual violence in entertainment media. It sickens me that writers capable of producing an entire vision resort to the objectification, destruction and torture of young women in order to entertain their viewing audience. As a feminist, a man, and lover of women, I strongly suggest anyone who shares these feeling boycott this show. Deplorable. Expand
  29. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I was worried that a third horror story would be a little to farfetched, however, I wasn't expecting any of what I saw. I'm a big fan since its genesis, and this installment looks like its gonna live up to its predecessors. I'm not skeptic to watch this at all. The cast, the story and the location look remarkable. Jessica Lange (as always) and Kathy Bates are just to die for.
  30. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love, Love this show it manges to capture a dark side of me the first season 7/10 the rest 10/10 the story lines are amazing and the quality of acting is great the current season 3 covers the true story off Mrs Delphine LaLaurie as cruel vile woman who is famous in New Orleans for her torture and cruelty towards slaves and the ancestors of her captives seeking revenge upon her the writer need to keep up the good work i learned a small piece of history watching this, the actors need to stay and continue the amazing job WATCH THIS NOW ! its booth entertaining and intriguing . Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 24, 2013
    88
    Despite its cheap shock effects, the show is indulgently ridiculous. [[28 Oct 2013, p.41]
  2. 70
    If the season-three premiere is any indication, although AHS has lost its novelty, it still has that seventies and eighties grindhouse/drive-in/midnight movie feeling.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 9, 2013
    90
    In the context of other television, American Horror Story is perverse and refreshing, proof that a great show doesn’t have to be self-serious to be smart.