• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For her protection, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga) is sent to Miss Robichaux's Academy for Exceptional Young Ladies in New Orleans. Meanwhile, the return of Coven witch Fiona Goode (Jessica Lange) stirs up an old rivalry.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Oct 9, 2013
    91
    [Ryan Murphy's] sharp take on a woman's role is both funny and mordantly serious.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 8, 2013
    88
    Although the premiere is hampered by unnecessary narration and over-exposition, it's still a bewitching brew of whimsy, psychological scares, horrific atrocities and the wonderfully relentless feeling that something wicked this way comes.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 9, 2013
    80
    We’ve come to expect an eclectic mix from the American Horror Story anthology, and the formula works particularly well in this installment, thanks to uninhibited work by the big-name cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    [Lange and Bates] are the only reason to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    There are aspects of Coven that are stylish and clever, and others that are just "Carrie" on steroids. The cast, of course, is tremendous.
  6. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Oct 8, 2013
    70
    Fish-eye lenses and rotating cameras don't feel at home here as in other installments, and things aren't creepy so much as grotesque. Still, there are a number of decent effects and a healthy dose of humor that keep things moving along in an entertaining way. Eventually, the many stories find their way together, which helps propel the premiere to its promising finish.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 7, 2013
    30
    As with all three incarnations of AHS, there are some beautiful images (courtesy of director Alfonso Gomez-Rejon and cinematographer Michael Goi), and Murphy and Falchuk’s script exhibits a knowing familiarity with the genre. Still, there’s always something unsavory about using the supernatural as a shield to indulge in sex-laced sadism, which has become a common and frankly rather tired aspect of the whole latex-clad-gimp streak running through the series.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 66
  2. Negative: 16 out of 66
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This season is the best so far. The acting is phenomenal. The characters are well rounded, the plot is fun, unique, and scary. When you watchThis season is the best so far. The acting is phenomenal. The characters are well rounded, the plot is fun, unique, and scary. When you watch the show, you are in for a very fun ride. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I think this season has to have one of the best openers so far. Its chilling, gory and just so great. The cast is fantastic, and the openingI think this season has to have one of the best openers so far. Its chilling, gory and just so great. The cast is fantastic, and the opening scene really hooks you in. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Best series opening of the Autumn thus far, strong cast especially from Lange, who's always been the figurehead of this anthology seriesBest series opening of the Autumn thus far, strong cast especially from Lange, who's always been the figurehead of this anthology series strong script, perhaps occasionally over-stylized at parts yet all together I loved it. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    Loved this show in the past. This season is a little different. The story once again is unique, cleverly written and excellently executed. TheLoved this show in the past. This season is a little different. The story once again is unique, cleverly written and excellently executed. The acting is better than ever. But in my eyes, sexual violence is nothing that should ever be shown in any form of entertainment. Any story can always find an alternative route besides using that. Would have been a higher rating if this wasn't included. I may have to stop watching if It happens again Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2014
    6
    Probably the weakest AHS season i date.The acting is not impressive and it looks like the creators had no ideas of what to do with thisProbably the weakest AHS season i date.The acting is not impressive and it looks like the creators had no ideas of what to do with this season.I stopped watching it at episode 3 because i was too disappointed. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2015
    4
    Compared to the other seasons this season seems tame. I found myself skipping dialog to get to something interesting because it was soCompared to the other seasons this season seems tame. I found myself skipping dialog to get to something interesting because it was so boring. It still has some surprises worth watching but just felt dull midway to the end of the season. I also am sick of seeing that old lady always being the "sexy one" it was interesting they decided to do that the first season but now its over played, I skipped those parts. The only person who was really that interesting was the non-witch who did all the crazy stuff. Also witches were setting things on fire lifting pianos but get choked to death by someone? Doesn't make any sense. It was worth watching but just falls short of the last few seasons. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2015
    0
    My Lord, what happened to this previously fun show? This third season is something for teenage girls and nobody else. My wife and I enduredMy Lord, what happened to this previously fun show? This third season is something for teenage girls and nobody else. My wife and I endured the first show for about 20 minutes before looking at one another and essentially saying: Huh? We turned it off, and will not be returning. It seemed unfocused and written by amateurs, totally different from the first two seasons. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  4. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  5. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.