American Horror Story : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
American Horror Story Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 852 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a miscarriage and nearly breaking up, Ben and Vivien Harmon (Dylan McDermott and Connie Britton) move from Boston to Los Angeles with their daughter to start a new life in a house with an eerie past.
  • Genre(s): Horror

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 5, 2011
    91
    I loved the pilot, mostly because I could never predict where the story was going, a rarity in prime-time TV.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 30, 2011
    88
    It's funny and moves blindingly fast, barely giving you time to blink or gulp--Dark Shadows for the PlayStation age. [10 Oct 2011, p.39]
  3. 80
    The show may be ridiculous, but the humiliation and panic feel real. And there's something to be said for surprise.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 5, 2011
    60
    The hot mess of American Horror Story is berserk to a fault, though it does have an unnerving originality compelling us to watch while we cringe, or perhaps smirk.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 5, 2011
    60
    American Horror Story is a big ol' brooding, baffling, ridiculous and occasionally compelling mess of a show.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 5, 2011
    50
    The scariest thing about American Horror Story, the highly anticipated FX series from the guys who brought you "Glee" and "Nip/Tuck," is that almost everything in the entire show has been cribbed (or crypt-ed, in this case) from every other American horror story.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 4, 2011
    10
    It doesn't work as a character drama and it's tiresome more often than it's freakily scary.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 141
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Holds it's viewers attention, not scared to take risks, excellent acting and does not pander to main stream at all therefore it has a lot toHolds it's viewers attention, not scared to take risks, excellent acting and does not pander to main stream at all therefore it has a lot to offer then just the "same old same old." More for an audience that is not scared to enjoy the risks it takes and are not scared of a more adult themed show. Bravo. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2016
    10
    Looking back Season1 is what got me into the show. I love Coven and Freakshow, but I think Season1 is where it's at. Perfect place to start ifLooking back Season1 is what got me into the show. I love Coven and Freakshow, but I think Season1 is where it's at. Perfect place to start if you want to get sucked into AHS. You'll end up watching all the seasons..trust me. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    This show did a good job at keeping viewers wanting more. Other than the show "Supernatural", this is the only show with a horror theme onThis show did a good job at keeping viewers wanting more. Other than the show "Supernatural", this is the only show with a horror theme on basic cable. The Pilot is one of the best I've seen the fall season so far. This show is an example why well written shows and good actors makes for great television. Expand
  4. HoX
    Nov 24, 2011
    9
    If you're searching for something new, especially if you like horror movie and TV series, American Horror Story is exactly what you're lookingIf you're searching for something new, especially if you like horror movie and TV series, American Horror Story is exactly what you're looking for. This series bring to the horror series scenario something new and very different. While the other horror series are focused on one or more characters hunting ghosts and monsters, in AHS the main characters are the house and its story and it is a story full of mysteries.
    In the first two episodes you discover the Harmon family and the other characters related to the house, but if you'll wait the third episode, you will learn the house's secrets, so that you won't like to wait a week to know what's happening after (especially in the episode Halloween, split in two parts, episodes 4 and 5).
    The most shocking fact? It is done by the same author of Nip/Tuck (ok, their both crazy shows) and Glee (What???).
    Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    This is overall the weakest season of American Horror Story, but is still extremely enjoyable.
    The acting in the show is pretty good, yet not
    This is overall the weakest season of American Horror Story, but is still extremely enjoyable.
    The acting in the show is pretty good, yet not great. It never reached the level of acting that existed in both Asylum and Coven, as actresses such as Jamie Brewer and Taissa Farmiga were still coming into their own during the filming of this season. This being said, Frances Conroy and Jessica Lange deliver some of the best performances on the show.
    The season's concept comes across as rather cliché. I mean, its a house where people die, its hard to get much less original. This being said, it is executed rather magnificently. The cast holds up the concept well and the flashbacks to previous owners of the house gives great context while being visually engaging. The character development is nailed in most every instance, and the ending of the season is marvelous in how open ended it was. I was still able to predict the majority of what was to happen within the season, though this did not do a ton to diminish its quality.
    Its an enjoyable season and great for a first. I would recommend this to most anyone, especially because it embraces the concept of 'horror' better than any of the other seasons.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Just finished watching S1 on Netflix.

    The show started out strong but by episode 3 I had begun to lose interest. The show relies on
    Just finished watching S1 on Netflix.

    The show started out strong but by episode 3 I had begun to lose interest.

    The show relies on scaring you more than telling you a good story, which is a shame because the cast, especially Jessica Lange, is highly talented. As the season progressed, the writing became sort of lame and in turn made the show very predictable. (I am speaking specifically about the final episode, which could not decide when it should end.)

    There were a few good twists in the season, but at times it was hard to keep up with every backstory of the characters involved.

    The main question I walked away with after watching the show, was how some of the spirits in the house age over time but others do not. For example, Tate Langston should have been nearly 40 years old but was still a teenager, while Moira the maid had aged normally.

    Overall, the acting is great, which is what kept me watching because the story itself I felt left much to be desired. I'm gonna give this one a seven based mostly on the acting.
    Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2015
    0
    I don't know where to start because this is too horrible to be explained, first of all they choose a pop star who makes music since she cameI don't know where to start because this is too horrible to be explained, first of all they choose a pop star who makes music since she came out in the media and with no acting experience she gets a main role in a tv show, I don't know where to begin with her acting, she was acting bad but trying to be fashionable to cover up her bad acting, without her fans the views will be even lower that it is, but the show would be better if they replaced Gaga with Jessica Lange Expand

See all 141 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  4. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  5. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.