• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
American Horror Story Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1089 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a miscarriage and nearly breaking up, Ben and Vivien Harmon (Dylan McDermott and Connie Britton) move from Boston to Los Angeles with their daughter to start a new life in a house with an eerie past.
  • Genre(s): Horror

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
American Horror Story
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 5, 2011
    91
    I loved the pilot, mostly because I could never predict where the story was going, a rarity in prime-time TV.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 30, 2011
    88
    It's funny and moves blindingly fast, barely giving you time to blink or gulp--Dark Shadows for the PlayStation age. [10 Oct 2011, p.39]
  3. 80
    The show may be ridiculous, but the humiliation and panic feel real. And there's something to be said for surprise.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 5, 2011
    60
    The hot mess of American Horror Story is berserk to a fault, though it does have an unnerving originality compelling us to watch while we cringe, or perhaps smirk.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 5, 2011
    60
    American Horror Story is a big ol' brooding, baffling, ridiculous and occasionally compelling mess of a show.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 5, 2011
    50
    The scariest thing about American Horror Story, the highly anticipated FX series from the guys who brought you "Glee" and "Nip/Tuck," is that almost everything in the entire show has been cribbed (or crypt-ed, in this case) from every other American horror story.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 4, 2011
    10
    It doesn't work as a character drama and it's tiresome more often than it's freakily scary.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 149
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    When trying to stay surprised or scared out of your mind, AMERICAN HORROR STORY is one to keep in mind. While trying to follow the already setWhen trying to stay surprised or scared out of your mind, AMERICAN HORROR STORY is one to keep in mind. While trying to follow the already set story line and maintain its scary image, this show really did please me. After watching the first season, I can conclude that anything can happen in this show. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    i am so obsessed with this show. its so good! the story is amazing there's so many branches where the story extends. its well done. the showi am so obsessed with this show. its so good! the story is amazing there's so many branches where the story extends. its well done. the show is somewhat creepy but its never meant to be "Scary" yes there are some scary parts but not many. the acting is superb, and its just one of the best shows out now!. if you like shows with a good story, many characters, action, suspense, some what scary scenes. this is the show!. AMAZING! Collapse
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    This show did a good job at keeping viewers wanting more. Other than the show "Supernatural", this is the only show with a horror theme onThis show did a good job at keeping viewers wanting more. Other than the show "Supernatural", this is the only show with a horror theme on basic cable. The Pilot is one of the best I've seen the fall season so far. This show is an example why well written shows and good actors makes for great television. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Everything worked for me. Its cast is excellent, the writing is solid, the style is ambitious, and there is truly nothing like this onEverything worked for me. Its cast is excellent, the writing is solid, the style is ambitious, and there is truly nothing like this on television. Even the small details like the opening credits and the use of Herrmann's Vertigo score felt pitch-perfect. To base a show with the central motif of fear and how it motivates and molds people is inspired. It's also one of the oddest blends of genre I've seen since Buffy -- the script was genuinely funny at times for all the right reasons, it's appropriately creepy, hit resonating dramatic notes, unashamed of its sexuality, and it has a delicious surreal element. Boy do I hope they can keep this level of intrigue up, because it will easily become one of my favorite shows. This is the perfect blend that I wish True Blood could balance.

    Best pilot of the season, easily.
    Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    This is overall the weakest season of American Horror Story, but is still extremely enjoyable.
    The acting in the show is pretty good, yet not
    This is overall the weakest season of American Horror Story, but is still extremely enjoyable.
    The acting in the show is pretty good, yet not great. It never reached the level of acting that existed in both Asylum and Coven, as actresses such as Jamie Brewer and Taissa Farmiga were still coming into their own during the filming of this season. This being said, Frances Conroy and Jessica Lange deliver some of the best performances on the show.
    The season's concept comes across as rather cliché. I mean, its a house where people die, its hard to get much less original. This being said, it is executed rather magnificently. The cast holds up the concept well and the flashbacks to previous owners of the house gives great context while being visually engaging. The character development is nailed in most every instance, and the ending of the season is marvelous in how open ended it was. I was still able to predict the majority of what was to happen within the season, though this did not do a ton to diminish its quality.
    Its an enjoyable season and great for a first. I would recommend this to most anyone, especially because it embraces the concept of 'horror' better than any of the other seasons.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Just finished watching S1 on Netflix.

    The show started out strong but by episode 3 I had begun to lose interest. The show relies on
    Just finished watching S1 on Netflix.

    The show started out strong but by episode 3 I had begun to lose interest.

    The show relies on scaring you more than telling you a good story, which is a shame because the cast, especially Jessica Lange, is highly talented. As the season progressed, the writing became sort of lame and in turn made the show very predictable. (I am speaking specifically about the final episode, which could not decide when it should end.)

    There were a few good twists in the season, but at times it was hard to keep up with every backstory of the characters involved.

    The main question I walked away with after watching the show, was how some of the spirits in the house age over time but others do not. For example, Tate Langston should have been nearly 40 years old but was still a teenager, while Moira the maid had aged normally.

    Overall, the acting is great, which is what kept me watching because the story itself I felt left much to be desired. I'm gonna give this one a seven based mostly on the acting.
    Expand
  7. tmk
    Sep 25, 2017
    0
    I was a fan until season 7. Just like the emmy's and NFL, this has fallen to the extreme left perspective. It is packed with biased agendasI was a fan until season 7. Just like the emmy's and NFL, this has fallen to the extreme left perspective. It is packed with biased agendas distracting from real entertainment. It has fallen off my DVR list. Expand

See all 149 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 26 TV Shows to Watch This Fall

    26 TV Shows to Watch This Fall Image
    Published: September 1, 2017
    These are the most promising new and returning shows debuting this fall.
  2. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  3. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  6. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.