• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 643 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett, Connie Britton
  • Summary: After a miscarriage and nearly breaking up, Ben and Vivien Harmon (Dylan McDermott and Connie Britton) move from Boston to Los Angeles with their daughter to start a new life in a house with an eerie past.
  • Genre(s): Horror
  • Creator: Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 5, 2011
    91
    I loved the pilot, mostly because I could never predict where the story was going, a rarity in prime-time TV.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 30, 2011
    88
    It's funny and moves blindingly fast, barely giving you time to blink or gulp--Dark Shadows for the PlayStation age. [10 Oct 2011, p.39]
  3. 80
    The show may be ridiculous, but the humiliation and panic feel real. And there's something to be said for surprise.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 5, 2011
    60
    The hot mess of American Horror Story is berserk to a fault, though it does have an unnerving originality compelling us to watch while we cringe, or perhaps smirk.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 5, 2011
    60
    Viewers who like the horror genre and the offbeat Murphy/Falchuk approach, and who are willing to put in enough serious time to absorb all the nuances, will fall in love.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 5, 2011
    50
    It's fun to look at, but there's not a lot of substance underneath.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 4, 2011
    10
    It doesn't work as a character drama and it's tiresome more often than it's freakily scary.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 121
  2. Negative: 8 out of 121
  1. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    really like this series, great characters, acting and sense of foreboding. the characters all feel natural in their world, no one dimensionalreally like this series, great characters, acting and sense of foreboding. the characters all feel natural in their world, no one dimensional parts. The story might be similar to The Shining, but with layers of detail that keep coming, with each episode about different people who stay as mysterious as the story itself Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    American Horror Story: Murder House is possibly my favorite of the bunch because it never ceases to entertain. There is a new twist almostAmerican Horror Story: Murder House is possibly my favorite of the bunch because it never ceases to entertain. There is a new twist almost every episode and hardly any boring parts to the plot of the show. The acting is superb, the gritty scenes of horror are well shot and it's actually kind of scary! Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    This show did a good job at keeping viewers wanting more. Other than the show "Supernatural", this is the only show with a horror theme onThis show did a good job at keeping viewers wanting more. Other than the show "Supernatural", this is the only show with a horror theme on basic cable. The Pilot is one of the best I've seen the fall season so far. This show is an example why well written shows and good actors makes for great television. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    AMERICAN HORROR STORY is a shocking, intriguing and weird TV series that never fails to astound it's viewers with it's fantastic episodes andAMERICAN HORROR STORY is a shocking, intriguing and weird TV series that never fails to astound it's viewers with it's fantastic episodes and brilliantly acting. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    If 'American Horror Story' is dismissed for anything, it should be for its utter ridiculousness and messy, scattered first few episodes. ItIf 'American Horror Story' is dismissed for anything, it should be for its utter ridiculousness and messy, scattered first few episodes. It also, on the whole, rarely delivers any scares (this is coming from a certified **** All that being said, the show is basically a huge bet that pays off massively for viewers willing to stick around for the latter episodes, where the plot begins to become coherent and involving. The acting all across the board is top notch, but, of course, top honors have to go to Jessica Lange. She's just plain amazing here and we have needed her back for quite some time. Another thing I must note: I love it when a major network will take a chance on a crazy idea that might not necessarily work (and sometimes doesn't). It proves that they still care about things other than viewership and value creativeness and originality. FX is a great example of my ideal network (you've got Louie, Justified, Archer, Sons of Anarchy, and It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, among others). Overall, 'American Horror Story' might not be all that scary and is frequently a giant mess, but the show is consistently enveloping and engaging for fans. Can't wait to start watching 'Asylum'. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    I love the atmosphere and the music and performances but this show is going to have to do more than throw weird images at me every week. HowI love the atmosphere and the music and performances but this show is going to have to do more than throw weird images at me every week. How about a coherent story? Some type of narrative?
    Seems like Murphy just glued a bunch of stuff together.
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    Holy **** this season is awful. It's American HORROR Story. Not American Musical Story. Least scary season and I thought Coven was awful. I'mHoly **** this season is awful. It's American HORROR Story. Not American Musical Story. Least scary season and I thought Coven was awful. I'm really going to stop watching this. This season has SO much potential to be scary. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  3. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  4. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.