• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 11, 2002
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 , 11 , 12 , 13 , 14
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Hilburn
    Jun 19, 2013
    30
    The biggest misconception about "American Idol" is that industry pros would actually spend 90 seconds listening to these mostly drab performers--as the judges do on the hit TV show that mixes the Cinderella aspects of "Star Search" with the humiliation of "Survivor." ... The fact that these six are supposed to be the best of 10,000 original candidates is sobering. Then again, the show--with its glitz and inbred dumbness--is hardly designed to find the next Kurt Cobain or Ryan Adams.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew Ryan
    Jun 19, 2013
    20
    It is the show that just won't go away. ... It's a seedier version of Star Search or Ted Mack's Amateur Hour. Those were corny showcases for fledgling talent. American Idol is a study in nastiness. [27 Aug 2002]
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    May 21, 2013
    20
    [A] blockheaded version of a high school talent show. ... What could be more stultifying than the way this non-celebrity sing-off crams product placement into the viewer's field of vision, everything from the Big Gulp-size Coca-Cola cups on the judges' table to the contestants being forced to enact a troglodytic skit while inside a Ford Focus? [26 Aug 2002]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    The biggest waist of time on television. I've never bought a single album or song from any of the vapid lounge singers that this show hasThe biggest waist of time on television. I've never bought a single album or song from any of the vapid lounge singers that this show has produced. The fact that this show has given rise to Ryan Seacrest and Simon Cowell alone is reason enough to despise it. It's depressing to know that more people will vote on this show than voted in the last election. This show serves as a barometer to the state of our country. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    7
    This show actually used to be pretty good. The main problem with it now is that, all the good gudges have now left. I liked this show a lotThis show actually used to be pretty good. The main problem with it now is that, all the good gudges have now left. I liked this show a lot better with Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul, and Randy Jackson. Now with these new judges it seems like the show has become very bad. If the old judges were to come back, I would have watched every minute, of every episode. Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2013
    0
    They might as well end the show after Season 12 of AI.
    Nicki Minaj, the untalented and horrifying judge ruined this show.
    0 for me, your
    They might as well end the show after Season 12 of AI.
    Nicki Minaj, the untalented and horrifying judge ruined this show.
    0 for me, your welcome producers, your show has turned to complete crap and racism.
    Full Review »