• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 16, 2006
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulH
    Apr 2, 2006
    5
    Pays way to much attention on the judges for every episode and skips a ton of good inventions
  2. Keith
    Mar 27, 2006
    5
    There are genuine inventors with great ideas, and then you have your oddball personalities that are an embarrassment to themselves and America. Perhaps the producers tried to make this too honest of a reality show. It makes Americans seem so desperate and foolish - but maybe that's the idea that Fox wants perpetrated into the average living room. And I agree with the earlier comment There are genuine inventors with great ideas, and then you have your oddball personalities that are an embarrassment to themselves and America. Perhaps the producers tried to make this too honest of a reality show. It makes Americans seem so desperate and foolish - but maybe that's the idea that Fox wants perpetrated into the average living room. And I agree with the earlier comment - what happens in round 2 when the ideas are shown for the second time? If this is where the depth of character is revealed, why not promote this concept better. I really don't know what to expect, but the first three episodes were mildly entertaining. Thank goodness for DVR because I would definitely not stay tuned to this show through commercials. I have no need to watch it live because this isn't something my peers are dying to discuss the next day. Expand
  3. Michael
    Mar 17, 2006
    0
    Stinker. Play off of "American Idol." Unimaginably useless.
  4. alfredc
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    it's ientertaining, but has very bad timing, it's facing off with smaville or supernatural, the show can't possibley believe it can beat smallville or supernatural , it's not even in the running if it tries to compare itself to those 2 shows. people have history with those shows.
  5. Hallie
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    My really good friend was on this show.She did not win the money but had a great time anyways. I think she waas on the show earlier this month. This was when I first got started in this show and now that I have watched it a few times, I really do like it a lot!!!o that is why I rated it a 10!!!!
  6. [Anonymous]
    Mar 17, 2006
    0
    I will never watch this show again. No time spent on seeing the inventions. All the time spent on people crying and whining. Please! Enough of the emotional drama already. Let's see some friggin' inventions. Stupid. Stupid. Stupid.
  7. CCunningham
    Mar 20, 2006
    3
    In a word, boring. I tuned in hoping to see some really cool, whacked out inventions. Heck, I would have been happy with the next Flobee or spray-on hair. But no such luck. Do yourself a favor and take a pass.
  8. Kathy
    Apr 14, 2006
    9
    I like the show! I can't believe what some of those people have given up (lost), in order to fufill their dreams! It's amazing. Anyway, I find the judges entertaining and their honest remarks to these contestants makes for a fantastic hour of television. Who knows..... mabye I'll get an idea of an invention by watching the show and by this time next year I'll be the I like the show! I can't believe what some of those people have given up (lost), in order to fufill their dreams! It's amazing. Anyway, I find the judges entertaining and their honest remarks to these contestants makes for a fantastic hour of television. Who knows..... mabye I'll get an idea of an invention by watching the show and by this time next year I'll be the next millionaire (yea right!). I'm definately a fan of the show and will continue watching. Expand
  9. brendaf
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    the next under-rated show to come out on top!
  10. MattC
    Jun 9, 2007
    3
    I have a hard time trying to watch this show. I understand that these judges are entrepreneurs but they seem to laugh at every unworthy invention. Many of the early inventions that come through are brilliant in my opinion but they still laugh at them because they don't fully understand them. In my eyes, it only makes them look like jerks and it drags the show around tremendously. I have a hard time trying to watch this show. I understand that these judges are entrepreneurs but they seem to laugh at every unworthy invention. Many of the early inventions that come through are brilliant in my opinion but they still laugh at them because they don't fully understand them. In my eyes, it only makes them look like jerks and it drags the show around tremendously. This is the reason I dislike this show and It's likely that I'll never watch a full season. I would also like to say that George Foreman is the most brilliant judge out of the 4 of them because he understands most of the inventions. While the others laugh at the less worthy inventions for whatever reason George Foreman does not. He walks children out to their parents and he seems like a caring individual. I understand that they can only let so many inventors into the competition but it seems silly to laugh and grief the ones they don't accept. Expand
  11. robd
    Jul 25, 2007
    6
    wrap dispenser..mom had one just like it in the 70's tea...need I say anything...bike hanger...buy a hook for a couple of bucks...bra looks like a good sell even if not picked.racer may be a flop.... I'm voting for the angle even with fake tree looks like a great idea too me!!!!
  12. Larry
    Aug 25, 2007
    8
    I honestly do not see why it is so underrated, i mean isn't watching people introduce cruddy inventions funny?
  13. teresac
    Mar 18, 2006
    0
    It was awful! I took it off my DVR record list immediately!!! Not worth the air time!
  14. NathanS
    Mar 25, 2006
    8
    I don't know what these other people were watching, but so far I love the show. I've seen the first 2 episodes (all that is out at the time) and often find myself (almost) in tears from the heart some of these inventors have. I love the show and the creative ideas some of these inventions are, and also the hilariously dumb ones. Just give the show a chance if you're in I don't know what these other people were watching, but so far I love the show. I've seen the first 2 episodes (all that is out at the time) and often find myself (almost) in tears from the heart some of these inventors have. I love the show and the creative ideas some of these inventions are, and also the hilariously dumb ones. Just give the show a chance if you're in limbo whether to tivo it or not. Expand
  15. PatM
    Mar 31, 2006
    2
    I really think this show had such great potential. I love seeing new creative inventions. Unfortunately, this show is more about sappy stories from people with BAD inventions!! The last episode a woman had a paper bed and they put her through? I'm totally serious about that one. The truly awesome inventions I have seen thus far were basically given a 2 second spot, maybe so that they I really think this show had such great potential. I love seeing new creative inventions. Unfortunately, this show is more about sappy stories from people with BAD inventions!! The last episode a woman had a paper bed and they put her through? I'm totally serious about that one. The truly awesome inventions I have seen thus far were basically given a 2 second spot, maybe so that they would look fresh in round 2 of this bore fest. It's sad these people have had tough lives but you can't bring in a piece of garbage and call it an invention! There is no use for a paper bed...its already been freaking invented by hospitals. and by paper companies...GAWD this show so infuriates me! It could have been really freaking cool. For shame. Expand
  16. maryk
    Apr 13, 2006
    0
    this is a insult to real american inventors and i think more adults would buy more tooth flooser's than bike's for two give the guy an other go and who needs a bathroom door clip is there that many broken doors again i saw give the tooth flose an other try my dad was a true inventor.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. How un-innovative is this series about innovation? Let me count the ways.
  2. 40
    The results suggest that everyone involved looked at American Idol too closely. And this time around, everyone is startlingly off-key.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    20
    At almost every level, "American Inventor" is over-produced.