• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 26, 1989
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 101
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Jun 19, 2013
    60
    It's good, clean and funny. But in their zest to cram in as many pratfalls and bean balls as they can, the producers concentrate on the mishap and almost never on the aftermath. Everything is edited down to tiny bites.
  2. Reviewed by: Marvin Kitman
    Jun 19, 2013
    60
    I'm ashamed to admit it in front of my more serious colleagues, but I think the show can be very funny. Of course, like everything else on TV, some of it hits, a lot of it misses. But in the midst of the pain, cruelty, ridicule and abuse, not to mention boredom, somebody falls into a manhole and I find myself bursting out laughing. [29 Mar 1990]
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jun 19, 2013
    42
    The only thing more uneven than the quality of the videos is host Bob Saget's comic commentary.
  4. Reviewed by: John J. O'Connor
    Jun 19, 2013
    40
    The times may be ripe for featherbrained entertainment, for aggressive escapism. ... I suspect that ... 'America's Funniest Home Videos' may eventually tumble as fast as it soared. The predictable diet of cute kids and animals, weddings and sports, is already somewhat numbing. [1 Mar 1990]
  5. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Downright megabominable, a half hour of mostly violent, amateur-produced slapstick whose biggest victims are inevitably its smallest participants. Children.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    It frankly doesn't matter what age the viewer is, AFV always provides the priceless family laughs that mostly can't be scripted, and even ifIt frankly doesn't matter what age the viewer is, AFV always provides the priceless family laughs that mostly can't be scripted, and even if it tends to be, it provides a nice hefty laugh at the viewers expense at the best quality slapstick can provide. Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    OMG!!!!!!!! I love this show. It has the funnest videos ever and there all real. I think it's an amazing show., I have lost of funny thingsOMG!!!!!!!! I love this show. It has the funnest videos ever and there all real. I think it's an amazing show., I have lost of funny things that happen in my life i should be on there. But really great show. Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    I love this show, it's is so funny, it is one of the greastest shows of all times. It is hilarious, this show needs to be on more often, II love this show, it's is so funny, it is one of the greastest shows of all times. It is hilarious, this show needs to be on more often, I mean i laugh until i cry whenever i watch this show Full Review »